We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“visiting my son”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Shores Holiday Apartments
Ranked #12 of 34 Hotels in Mackay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 September 2013

We had a lovely time nice unit would be good for families with little ones as pool was just outside the back sliding door. Very clean great location beach access just through the garden . Grounds were lovely.
Would stay again Angela and Richard

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Angela H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kerryn B, Owner at The Shores Holiday Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2013

Hi Angela,

Thanks for the nice review. Much appreciated. Hope we get to see you again another time.

Regards Kerryn & Peter.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (97)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

71 - 77 of 97 reviews

Reviewed 15 September 2013

We needed a two bedroom accommodation for the recent birth of our first grandchild.From the first point of contact with The Shores,the information and booking experience was made very easy and we were not disappointed on arrival.Ideal location close to the beach with lovely grounds,and very helpful staff and will definitely book again when revisiting Mackay

Room Tip: We had a house on the west side which was very quiet,but believe most of the houses are similar
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank shooeybr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kerryn B, Owner at The Shores Holiday Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2013

Thank you for your kind remarks. We are always striving to improve The Shores Holiday Apartments, having just replaced lounge suite in a couple of Townhouse units as part of our ongoing commitment to improving facilities for all our guests. Regards Kerryn & Peter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2013

Had a wonderful restful time,very clean and tidy with wonderful staff great tennis courts,the pool area looked good just a little early in the season to get the feet wet would be nice on a hot day under the shade,Blacks Beach was great for walks,not over crowded.We did cook a B.B.Q. one night perhaps should have started early,but there was plenty of lighting to use so all was good.Thank You all for the freindly feel of the place.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 45bev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kerryn B, Manager at The Shores Holiday Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2013

Really glad you had a great stay.
And yes our beach is beautiful and quiet one of the best kept secrets of the area.
Looking forward to you coming back soon for another visit and perhaps a dip in our pool
Peter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2013

The Shores is located on a great part of the Beach and great for a morning walk or even some fishing! Rooms need to become a little more contempory but very clean just the same. Good outdoor facilities with Pool, Tennis and Bar-B-Q.

Room Tip: Try and get one of the rooms facing the garden and Beach, particularly if you have kids!
See more room tips
Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank gniel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kerryn B, Manager at The Shores Holiday Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2013

Thanks for the positive comments, and your feedback re Contemporary feel of units. We have taken this on board with a view to addressing your concerns. Regards Kerryn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2013

Spent 5 days in early July 2013 at The Shores. I had a 2 bedroom apartment which was very roomy, clean and in very good condition. The apartment had laundry facilities, a large kitchen and a large lounge/dining area. It was at the rear of the complex near to the lawn and tennis court. Very quiet and easy stroll to the lovely beach. Only a short drive from Mackay CBD.
Staff were very helpful and friendly. I would recommend this property and would stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Maureen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kerryn B, Owner at The Shores Holiday Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2013

Thanks Maureen for recommending The Shores Holiday Apartments. We trust you had a safe and hassle free trip back to New Zealand. Kerryn & Peter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2013

We have stayed here twice now and would highly recommend it to anyone looking for value for money, clean & peaceful accommodation. Had all the facilities you could want.
Our unit was self contained, we could cook for ourselves if we wished.
Lovely area for walks.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joolz090164
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kerryn B, Owner at The Shores Holiday Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2013

Thanks for the great review. Looking forward to seeing you for your third visit. Kerryn & Peter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2013

We had a 2br town house , was very neat and clean , very roomy and would not hesitate to stay their again, we really enjoyed the beach, early mornings walks , great swimming pools, good bbq area the Tennis courts where good and kept the kids very busy , the staff was very helpful and very friendly :)

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gerard D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kerryn B, Owner at The Shores Holiday Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2013

Thanks for your kind words about your stay at The Shores Holiday Apartments. We hope we get to see you again another time. Peter & Kerryn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mackay hotels
5.8 mi away
Oaks Rivermarque
Oaks Rivermarque
#9 of 34 in Mackay
266 reviews
4.4 mi away
Clarion Hotel Mackay Marina
5.7 mi away
Riviera Mackay
Riviera Mackay
#6 of 34 in Mackay
127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Oaks Carlyle
Oaks Carlyle
#15 of 34 in Mackay
139 reviews
6 mi away
Mackay Grande Suites
Mackay Grande Suites
#25 of 34 in Mackay
205 reviews
8.4 mi away
Ibis Mackay
Ibis Mackay
#2 of 34 in Mackay
249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Shores Holiday Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Shores Holiday Apartments

Address: 9 Pacific Drive | Blacks Beach, Mackay, Queensland 4740, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Mackay
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 34 Hotels in Mackay
Price Range: £79 - £117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Shores Holiday Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Shores Holiday Apartments are spacious fully self contained units, one and two bedroom apartments in a quiet, peaceful, location offering absolute beachfront accommodation. The large outdoor recreation area is an ideal setting for relaxing around the pools, playing tennis, jogging, fishing, barbecuing, or leisurely walks along beautiful Blacks Beach. The Shores is just a couple of minutes walk to shops, restaurants, and the local Hotel. All units are fully air conditioned, have free wifi, Foxtel TV, two televisions, in unit laundries and lots more. A perfect get away for singles, couples and families. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Shores Holiday Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing