We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not clean”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Shores Holiday Apartments
Ranked #15 of 34 Hotels in Mackay
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Not clean”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 December 2013

Upon arrival we had to report to reception to remove a rubber specimen from bathroom! Food on floors, had to question whether anything had been cleaned. Have very young children, did not get offered change of room or discount!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Becsnblake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kerryn B, Manager at The Shores Holiday Apartments, responded to this review, 23 March 2015
Thanks for the awesome review. Lovely to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    44
    33
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
40
19
1
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Tweed Heads, Australia
Level Contributor
101 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2013

Just spent a couple of nights in a two bedroom townhouse. Initial motivation was a special advertised by another broker but was very pleased with what my $$$ actually purchased. The townhouse is by no means new and could be considered dated but all the appliances work, the beds are comfortable and it's big, I mean really BIG !. A ten minute drive north of the Mackay CBD it has numerous dining options nearby (walking distance) and you pass a Coles and a Woolies in the last couple of minutes of the trip there.....money very well spent....

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KandK2486
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kerryn B, Manager at The Shores Holiday Apartments, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
Thanks for the feedback about your stay at The Shores Holiday Apartments. We think the location is great too. Yes, The Shores Holiday Apartments has been around for many years. About 25. We have an ongoing maintenance program in place to ensure the exterior of the property stays in good condition, and we strongly advise the individual unit owners to keep abreast with current trends in the industry. To this end the majority of owners have replaced their bathrooms in the last 7 years and more are scheduled for early 2014.
Our "special rates" apply to our older style Townhouse units.
We hope you get a chance to stay with us again and have the opportunity to check out our better units.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mackay, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2013 via mobile

Stayed two nights in a two bedroom townhouse. Loved the location and the facilities. The townhouse was huge. Big sized rooms with TV in the main. Kitchen had everything we needed to be self contained for the weekend. Pools and beach at front door. Really reasonably priced also. Would love to go back for a week or two!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnneDell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kerryn B, Manager at The Shores Holiday Apartments, responded to this review, 3 November 2013
Thanks for your wonderful review. We hope to see you at The Shores again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SARATOGA NSW AUSTRALIA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2013

We had a lovely time nice unit would be good for families with little ones as pool was just outside the back sliding door. Very clean great location beach access just through the garden . Grounds were lovely.
Would stay again Angela and Richard

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Angela H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kerryn B, Owner at The Shores Holiday Apartments, responded to this review, 16 September 2013
Hi Angela,

Thanks for the nice review. Much appreciated. Hope we get to see you again another time.

Regards Kerryn & Peter.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2013

We needed a two bedroom accommodation for the recent birth of our first grandchild.From the first point of contact with The Shores,the information and booking experience was made very easy and we were not disappointed on arrival.Ideal location close to the beach with lovely grounds,and very helpful staff and will definitely book again when revisiting Mackay

Room Tip: We had a house on the west side which was very quiet,but believe most of the houses are similar
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank shooeybr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kerryn B, Owner at The Shores Holiday Apartments, responded to this review, 16 September 2013
Thank you for your kind remarks. We are always striving to improve The Shores Holiday Apartments, having just replaced lounge suite in a couple of Townhouse units as part of our ongoing commitment to improving facilities for all our guests. Regards Kerryn & Peter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
waianakarua nz
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2013

Had a wonderful restful time,very clean and tidy with wonderful staff great tennis courts,the pool area looked good just a little early in the season to get the feet wet would be nice on a hot day under the shade,Blacks Beach was great for walks,not over crowded.We did cook a B.B.Q. one night perhaps should have started early,but there was plenty of lighting to use so all was good.Thank You all for the freindly feel of the place.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank 45bev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kerryn B, Manager at The Shores Holiday Apartments, responded to this review, 16 September 2013
Really glad you had a great stay.
And yes our beach is beautiful and quiet one of the best kept secrets of the area.
Looking forward to you coming back soon for another visit and perhaps a dip in our pool
Peter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seville, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2013

The Shores is located on a great part of the Beach and great for a morning walk or even some fishing! Rooms need to become a little more contempory but very clean just the same. Good outdoor facilities with Pool, Tennis and Bar-B-Q.

Room Tip: Try and get one of the rooms facing the garden and Beach, particularly if you have kids!
See more room tips
Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank gniel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kerryn B, Manager at The Shores Holiday Apartments, responded to this review, 16 September 2013
Thanks for the positive comments, and your feedback re Contemporary feel of units. We have taken this on board with a view to addressing your concerns. Regards Kerryn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mackay hotels
4.4 mi away
Clarion Hotel Mackay Marina
5.7 mi away
Oaks Rivermarque
Oaks Rivermarque
#7 of 34 in Mackay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
5.7 mi away
Riviera Mackay
Riviera Mackay
#2 of 34 in Mackay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Mackay Grande Suites
Mackay Grande Suites
#19 of 34 in Mackay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 188 reviews
8.3 mi away
Ibis Mackay
Ibis Mackay
#4 of 34 in Mackay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
6.2 mi away
Oaks Carlyle
Oaks Carlyle
#10 of 34 in Mackay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Shores Holiday Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Shores Holiday Apartments

Property: The Shores Holiday Apartments
Address: 9 Pacific Drive | Blacks Beach, Mackay, Queensland 4740, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Mackay
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 34 Hotels in Mackay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Shores Holiday Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Shores Holiday Apartments are spacious two bedroom fully self contained units, in a quiet, peaceful, location offering absolute beachfront accommodation. The large outdoor recreation area is an ideal setting for relaxing around the pools, playing tennis, jogging, fishing, barbecuing, or leisurely walks along beautiful Blacks Beach. The Shores is just a couple of minutes walk to shops, restaurants, and the local Hotel. All units have free wifi, Foxtel TV, two televisions, in unit laundries and lots more. A perfect get away for singles, couples and families. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Shores Holiday Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing