We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Quest Mackay
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
US$113
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Ibis Mackay(Mackay)(Great Value!)
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$100
US$98
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$121
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$121
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Shamrock Gardens Motel(Mackay)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (277)
Filter reviews
277 results
Traveller rating
144
102
21
6
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
144
102
21
6
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgreat locationcentral locationbusiness tripwithin walking distanceconference roommiddle of towngreat place to staycooking facilitiescanelands shopping centreroom was cleanstudio apartmentshort walkstay there againclose to shopsexcellent accommodationstaff were friendlywashing machine
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
234 - 239 of 277 reviews
Reviewed 17 October 2013

Were upgraded from a 1 br-suite to a 2 br-suite. Very spacious, clean and comfortable. The hotel was fully booked and still you did not hear any noise at all. I really appreciate this over anything else. Plenty of restaurants nearby for breakfast, as the hotel is right in the CBD. At night, of course, every door in the city is tightly shut at 5.30 and by 7 pm only the knowing few will find a place to eat (except HJ or McD) - I wonder why Australia still has to work this way...

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Werner010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2013

I stay in a lot of Quest properties in Victoria and basically they are pretty much the same. Good value for money. This property in Mackay is the exception. The one bedroom suites are much smaller than the average and being in Mackay, far more expensive. As one reviewer stated there is a lack of workspace in the kitchen and nowhere to put toiletries in the batheroom. I was allocated the geriatric suite as this was the last one available the weekend I was in Mackay. There is no bath and the shower has only a curtain, so the floor gets pretty wet after a shower. On the Saturday night there was Muay Thai event on in Mackay and that was the reason most hotels were full that weekend. Unfortunately, this attracts some people who do not know how to behave, especially when intioxicated and I was awoken at 4am by some drunken louts who were shouting & making a commotion. Apparently around 5 am they were finally evicted by security, Unfortunately, once I am awake I cannot go back to sleep so that was it for me for the night. I was not a happy chappy to say the least.
The rate for the 4 nights I was there was $200 per night and on checking out I informed the manager that I was not happy about what had occurred. I had paid for a nights sleep that I did not get. She was very apologetic and said it had never happened before and they would make sure those people would never be allowed onto the property again. If this were to happen in London, New York or some other large city overseas the manager would offer some sort of compensation either a discount on the night or a meal or something. Nothing was forthcoming but they did add a further $12 onto the bill for the use of my American Express card. This is something that is unique to Australia. It is not enough that they charge top dollar for a nights stay ( this is Mackay, not Tokyo ) but also feel the need to charge extra for the use of a credit card. Money grabbing at it's worst

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank bazza1011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2013

This is now the second time I've stayed at this hotel. This time I used their function room. Couple of suggestions when using it:
- it is good for a group up to max 50 theatre style.
- food is available, but they do charge a 10% surcharge as it comes in from the restaurant next door. I was impressed as to how much there was, so that's a great thing. People didn't go hungry.
- you must BYO all drinks. I wasn't told this until a couple of days before my function, so had no chance to change venue. They did supply ice & large silver ice buckets to out the drinks in however.
- they don't normally have waiters, & charge $35 per hour to get one of the hotel staff to help out. Whilst our girl was lovely, I don't think she'd ever used a beer opener before. To her credit, she got the hang of it quickly.

These things can be worked around, but with little prior notice it added extra pressure that I didn't need.

The rooms themselves are spacious, clean & with great facilities. Having a small kitchenette is fabulous.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christinebrissygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2013

Our Family attended a wedding in Mackay so were only staying overnight. As the wedding was mid afternoon we requested early check in if available. on arrival at 11.00 they told us our room was ready which was great. The 2 bedroom apartment was clean and tidy and had plenty of room with a lounge and dining suite and kitchen. Must compliment staff at desk, checked in by Nicholas who was very helpful and found all other staff very pleasant to deal with. Overall very happy and would stay there again

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cathy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2013

Hotel is very central. Restaurants and Cane land within walking distance. Our room was spacious with lounge Kitchen and balcony. Bathroom was quite big but not enough space to place toiletries.For those people that like to watch TV after a long and exciting day out to wind down not too many Cable Channels Free parking is offered for guest Reception staff friendly and helpful. Good experience for our stay

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jackiesholiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews