We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Happy with our Stay”
Review of Mackay Motor Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mackay Motor Inn
Ranked #22 of 34 Hotels in Mackay
Reviewed 18 July 2013

Mackay Motor Inn is the first of many motels on the main road into Mackay. Most have the same 'aged' look about them (from the outside). Check in was simple, quick & the lady was really friendly. The room was a surprise. Everything was very clean & new'ish' looking. Our queen size bed was very comfortable & the kids had a single bed plus a decent trundle bed to sleep on. There was still plenty of room to move about. Nice size fridge plus microwave & toaster. Excellent shower with loads of hot water. Aircon was great. There wasn't much room noise at all (although we were lucky enough to be at the back, away from the road). Didn't check out the pool but the reception lady told us there was a bbq there & we were welcome to use it (we didn't though). We were travelling with another family & also found some rellies staying at the motel & everyone was happy with their stay. We've stayed in a few different motels in Mackay & all have been okay but we got a great price for this motel & will be happy to stay again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Blueysmrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (60)
There are newer reviews for Mackay Motor Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

50 - 56 of 60 reviews

Reviewed 4 June 2013

Room was small but spotlessly clean, the windows now double glazed and blocked out all noise from the adjoining freeway. would stay here again. Reception staff very surly. Checkin was quite fast. Room had all the facilities required including microwave, toaster etc. Accommodation in Mackay tends to be expensive and books out fast, this is a good option.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank trudi t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2013

I couldn't be happier with our stay at this motel. The owners and staff were so friendly and helpful and made us feel welcome. Due to unforeseen circumstances we had to extend our stay by 2 nights which was no problem. Some of our family also stayed here and had nothing but good things to say. The room was spotlessly clean, the bed very comfortable, excellent breakfasts and the price extremely reasonable. We will be recommending it to our friends and family if they happen to be travelling to Mackay.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cheryl A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2013

This motel has everything we need for a reasonale tariff. Rooms are clean and well serviced. Provision of a microwave and toaster in addition to the fridge and jug means selfcatering is an option. For us, family circumstances necessitated a return visit after only a week and the proprietors were extremely friendly and helpful. Proximity to the botanic gardens is a real plus for a lovely walk and great cafe.

Room Tip: The front rooms have double glazing now so road noise is not a problem. Renovation of rooms is ongoi...
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gallde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2012

After looking at trip advisor my husband and I really were not keen to stay here however as anyone who comes to Mackay without a prior reservation will realise getting a room is very hard. Due to it being a mining town everything gets booked up in advance and at ridiculous prices. So after driving round town we needed here as a last resort. Walking into reception I almost left and wanted to sleep in the car as coupled with the dodgy reviews there was an awful smell. In hindsight it may have been the owners cat or some bad cleaning fluid. I dreaded going into our room however I opened it and was thrilled. Not only did it smell nice and clean it was spotlessly clean. It looked recently refurbished in the main bedroom/living area, had a flat screen tv and was everything we needed for a short stay. The bed was very comfy and other guests quiet. We had just moved to the town for work and ended up staying another two nights on top which we certainly wouldn't have done of this place hadn't been just fine. The shower was a bit small and yes some rooms are facing the main toad so could be noisy with traffic however there are no loud bars or drunks like in other places in the CBD plus we live in big cities usually so aren't fussed by noise. The owners were friendly and at $95 is probably one of the more reasonably priced places in town. Just keep your prices down don't put them up! I would urge people not to judge this place on previous reviews which may have been pre renovations as we almost did.

Room Tip: If you are sensitive to noise get one not facing the main road.
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mzteeree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2012

Another motel that looks a little dated from the outside and is on the inside too. Looked like there had been water through the place as the bottom of the wardrobe door indicated such. Try to avoid a room along the highway as trucks travel relentlessly through the night and the traffic lights just up the road cause a lot of braking and stopping. You can try to sleep by counting trucks its just like counting sheep but it doesnt work. My room was not cleaned for over 6 days although the bed was almost made and fresh towels supplied . Garbage just collected in the bin and the bedside table had a thick film of dust. There must also be a shortage of soap in Mackay as it was not replaced. No restaurant here just room service. It was a short walk to the Shamrock pub which has basic pub food and roasts at reasonable prices. The shower also leaked through the sealant across the bathroom floor. The only good things were the air con was quiet and the TV had a decent picture.
All in all there has to be better motels in Mackay then this one.

Room Tip: If you do stay here make sure you ask for a room at the back away from the highway.
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lynn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2012

I stayed in an Executive Suite at Mackay Motor Inn for one night. I paid $120 for the room which was good value for money especially in Mackay. The room has recently been renovated and was clean and well presented. It had a table, 2 chairs, desk, microwave, flat screen tv, inverter split system air conditioner which worked really well in February humidity, a small fridge and the other usual things you find in a motel room. The bathroom was a reasonable size and everything looked new.

My only negative comment would be is that there is no crockery or cutlery to use the microwave. There was just 2 cups, 2 glasses, 2 wine glasses and 2 spoons. It would not hurt to put a few pieces of cheap cutlery and a couple of plates for use by guests.

I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MEW_0101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mackay hotels
0.8 mi away
Miners Lodge Motor Inn
Miners Lodge Motor Inn
#19 of 34 in Mackay
85 reviews
0.8 mi away
Alara Motor Inn
Alara Motor Inn
#23 of 34 in Mackay
47 reviews
1.7 mi away
Paradise Lodge Motel
Paradise Lodge Motel
#10 of 34 in Mackay
37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
White Lace Motor Inn
White Lace Motor Inn
#14 of 34 in Mackay
126 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mackay Rose Motel
Mackay Rose Motel
#9 of 34 in Mackay
138 reviews
2.0 mi away
Mid City Motor Inn
Mid City Motor Inn
#11 of 34 in Mackay
97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mackay Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mackay Motor Inn

Address: 208 - 212 Nebo Rd, Mackay, Queensland 4740, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Mackay
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 34 Hotels in Mackay
Price Range: £47 - £69 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mackay Motor Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The friendly staff at Mackay Motor Inn invite you to come and experience our clean comfortable accommodation. From the moment you check in you'll appreciate the warm and friendly welcome you receive.All 22 units are non smoking, ground level and have under cover car parking and provide a choice of either motel style or self contained.Conveniently located on the main entrance to Mackay from the South at 208 Nebo Road, the Mackay Motor Inn is within walking distance to the beautiful Mackay Regional Botanical Gardens with 4 km of attractive walks, a short distance from the Mackay Airport, Railway Station and Base Hospital and only minutes to the CBD.Facilities at the Motel include a large inground salt water pool area providing an oasis to relax and unwind at the end of a long drive or busy work day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Mackay Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing