We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Average apartments for 5* price”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Lanai Riverside Apartments
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Average apartments for 5* price”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2014

The Lanai apartments were of acceptable quality. The room was clean and receptionist helpful.

Very annoyed that you are advised by signs within the apartment that you need to clean your rubbish and room before leaving! Stunning given the $300 p.n price tag. Normally, it costs more, but we booked on the day approx 2 hours before arriving. I'd certainly expect a lot more given the price. I've never come across an apartment where you're required to clean your room before leaving. Isn't that why I'm paying $300 p.n?

The gym is very small and about the size of a small bedroom. It had some dated equipment in it which were broken. The sauna was small, but very effective. The pool was run down, but reasonably clean.

Overall, the place was ok, but not spectacular. Quite pricey for what you actually get.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vinny_from_Oz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emma P, General Manager at Lanai Riverside Apartments, responded to this review, 7 March 2014
Thank you for providing us with some feedback on your stay at Lanai, we have used your feedback along with others to review our current policies. All of our team at Lanai have been involved in the decision making process and we have revised the signage in apartments.
The gym equipment is in the process of being updated, we have purchased a new treadmill and weights stand, with more equipment in the pipeline for replacement.
Again thank you for your feedback, we hope to see you again in the future at Lanai.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    29
    18
    14
    5
    2
See reviews for
22
14
Solo
0
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Middlemount, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2014

We indulged ourselves by staying in one of the Penthouse Apartments - 1106, for 3 nights, as a much deserved family break. We found the apartment to be srupulously clean & very well appointed. The rooftop private area & spa were just amazing with fantastic views & privacy. The balcony off the downstairs living area & master bedroom was one of our favourite areas. Outdoor furniture was very clean & comfortable to sit in. Had lots of room & was well presented. The kitchen had ample room for us to prepare & cook meals. The master bedroom was to die for. Loved it! Was a little disappointed the small 3rd bedroom/study didn't have an a/c duct. It was quite stuffy & hot thru the awful heat wave, but we managed with the pedastal fan that was provided. Another couple of suggestions - a tv please!! in the Master bedroom would of been welcomed. Some fold up luggage racks in the Master Bedroom's walk in wardrobe so we could stand our luggage on it & unpack it, rather than trying to reach our luggage on the floor…..not all of us are young & flexible ;) And please, instead of having 1 shopping trolley for guests to use to bring their luggage & groceries etc, up to their rooms, please invest in some proper luggage trolleys. Having a large family with quite a bit of luggage, doing 5-6 trips up & back in the elevators carting it all was frustrating. It could of all been done in 1 trip with a proper luggage trolley.
The staff we encountered via the telephone for our booking & on the front desk were just lovely. Very welcoming, polite & knew what they were doing, even when they had people waiting to check in/out, the lovely ladies never got flustered….we found them professional & pleasant.
We used Mackay Metro Restaurant ph - 49512544 (beside Lanai Apartments) for room service one evening & the next morning. Well…what can we say? It was utterly DELICIOUS! OMG! the food was just divine. Huge meals that were cooked to perfection! The breakfasts the next morning were the same - just absolutely mouthwateringly delicious & massive! Another lovely surprise was how reasonable we thought the costs were for the meals. We were delighted. The Mackay Metro staff on the phone were very polite, courteous & professional. When they said our meals would be up at our room in 25minutes, they were! Very punctual. The staff that delivered the meals were also very friendly, happy & pleasant :) We can't recommend Mackay Metro highly enough! Do yourselves a favour & pop in for a meal or have it delivered to your room if you are staying at Lanai…..you won't be disappointed!
This is the 2nd time, we as a family, have stayed in the Penthouse at Lanai Riverside Apartments. Both times have been wonderful, very enjoyable stays. The location is perfect. So close to all of the major shops. I could walk to Woolies to pick up a few things & back to our room in 15 minutes. We brought our bikes to ride as well. The bike/walking tracks along the river are very popular & pleasant. We were sad to checkout & come back to reality. Lanai Riverside Apartments will definitely be a place that we will stay when we want to spoil ourselves & escape from the everyday woes of the world! Thank you for making our stay so very lovely. See you next time - Dee Bee & Family.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 270Dee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emma P, General Manager at Lanai Riverside Apartments, responded to this review, 7 March 2014
Thank you for your great review of both Lanai and Metro restaurant, we have used your feedback in our regular meetings to further improve our standards. There are a couple of points that we have noted and since made changes; we have purchased a new luggage trolley, portable clothing racks and portable air conditioning units.
We have passed on your comments to Metro, the staff were absolutely delighted to read it, so a big thank you from them.
Constructive feedback is very valuable and taken very seriously by all Lanai team members, so thank you and we look forward to seeing you on your next holiday!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baralaba
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2014

We have just spent an overnight stay at Lanai on our way to Airlie Beach. The 3 bedroom we were in has a number of faults. Half flush on toilet in enquire did not work, balconies were filthy, lights on lounge room not working (perhaps a simple bulb replacement) and walls terribly dirty and marked. The most disappointing was the air conditioning, which signs claim has been thermostat controlled to 23 degrees, which is way to cold, why can't individuals control to a temperature of their liking? Also, the washing machine did not work, was disappointing that management did not offer the services of another! At $345 for the night, very poor service! The positives, the location, the pool and awesome breakfast delivery available from nearby metro :)

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MelissaLong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emma P, General Manager at Lanai Riverside Apartments, responded to this review, 7 March 2014
We would like to thank you for your feedback, we are disappointed that your stay was not at the standard it should have been. We have just started an extensive refreshment and refurbishment program, which includes painting of walls and balconies. Any maintenance issues should be resolved prior to your check-in so for this I sincerely apologize.
We are putting new measures in place to prevent any issues such as the ones you experienced happening again.
We hope that one day you may return to Lanai so we can show you the improvements that have been made
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yeppoon, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2013 via mobile

We stayed two nights in a 3 bedroom apartment. One Queen & Two Doubles made this comfortable for our family of 5. Full modern kitchen facilities, huge balcony with river & city view from 9th floor. Blinds were not block out so main bedroom was bright very early but we are morning people so not really an issue. All furniture and fixtures were modern and tasteful. The apartment was spotlessly clean. Pool was big & long, great for laps. Short stroll to waterpark, massive shopping centre & nice restaurants were all positives. Will definitely stay at this apartment hotel again... Excellent value!

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank MLM132
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emma P, General Manager at Lanai Riverside Apartments, responded to this review, 30 December 2013
Wow - thank you so much for your fantastic review! As all of our units are individually owned you can be guaranteed that each has their own personal touches to create a home away from home experience with the quality finish one should expect. And yes, our pool has been a very popular choice over this summer break and given our location (right alongside the Bluewater Lagoon) our guests have been spoilt for choice, particularly the children. Naturally our team have been working hard to ensure our complex is presented to a very high standard of cleanliness and presentation, so I will ensure your comments are passed on to all. Again, our sincere appreciation from the Lanai team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cairns
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2013

Stayed in 3 bedroom apartment.Only 1 television,which is difficult when you have children.Television points in other bedrooms,but Lanai could not,or would not try and supply second television.Their excuse was,all apartments individually owned.The blinds,if you could call them that,were shocking,with the sun streaming in at dawn,waking everyone up,especially the younger ones.No re-fill of basics,during our week stay,which I find unbelievable,for a "5 star" apartment.The tiles in the outdoor sitting area were filthy,with everyone getting 'black' feet,if walked on without footwear.The lounges around the pool,are made of timber,with no padding whatsoever.So uncomfortable,actually hurt your back.The only reason,I am not rating as "terrible",is because the pool was lovely and clean,but that was the only plus.
I know sound like a complainer,but I would never stay there again,or recommend to anyone.

Room Tip: Would not advise....
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Liane J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emma P, General Manager at Lanai Riverside Apartments, responded to this review, 21 December 2013
Hi Liane

Firstly I would like to thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback on your stay at Lanai Riverside Apartments. I am disappointed that your stay was not as enjoyable as what we strive to provide. I would like to address the points you have raised and provide some feedback for you:
- Televisions - yes all apartments do only have 1 TV in the lounge (we only have 2 apartments in the complex with a second TV). As we mange the apartments only we do not have TV's that can be moved from one apartment to another, I apologise if this was unsatisfactory for you and should you wish to return to Lanai please advise at the time of booking and we would allocate one of the units with 2 TV's.
- Re-fill of toiletries - we do advise prior to arrival an information email advising of the consumables provided in your apartment, as the units are fully self-contained we provide a starter pack for you only, we are always more than happy to provide a few extra's however we do not replenish as standard
-Sun loungers - due to the extreme conditions in Queensland the Body Corporate purchased furniture that was durable and of a very high quality - we are always more than happy to provide pool towels

I will pass on your feedback to our head of maintenance as he is responsible for the pool and does an extremely great job. I will also pass all of your feedback onto our owners, this can then assist them in furnishing their apartments to suit guest requirements.

Again thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback and I do hope that you may return to Lanai Riverside Apartments

Kind regards
Emma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2013 via mobile

On the positive side of things, the staff were friendly and accommodating, the physical size of the apartment was good and the equipment in the kitchen was of high standard. The views were also impressive.

I think the disappointment was in the value for money. It was expensive for what it was. What really annoyed us was the "instructions" to vacate. Must throw rubbish away, must put dishwasher on, must.... Anyway if you're paying a large sum of money, this isn't acceptable. The other issue was not being able to smoke anywhere on site.

The rules stated this was due to government regulations and body corporate rules. I used to live in an apartment block that was also a hotel, one run by Accor. It was never a problem there or in any other hotel I've stayed at in Queensland. Sure not inside, most smokers don't smoke inside anyway.. I'm sure it's just the body corporate rules. Every place I've stayed at in QLD has been fine with smoking on the balcony with the doors shut. My most recent stay in a hotel in QLD that allowed this, was the night before in Townsville.

To make it a truly good place to stay, they need to find a place or even provide a place outside the hotel (car park?) where smokers can smoke. This would take the edge off the no smoking on site. The other thing they need to do is accept that if you're paying lots of money, you should not have to empty your own bins, not have to put the dishwasher on, and if they insist on this, then don't put notices inside the apartment saying extra cleaning fees will apply if you don't do what we say.. It was just a bit too much when paying that kind of price.

The other thing that annoyed us was the fact that the pool shown on their website, was not part of the complex. It was the pool run by the council next door. You had free admission, but it looks like it's part of the resort when it's not. They need to make that clear on their website.

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
Thank jakin4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emma P, General Manager at Lanai Riverside Apartments, responded to this review, 8 December 2013
Hi

I would like to thank you for your recent review of Lanai Riverside Apartments. I am very pleased to hear that all of our staff were friendly and accommodating, we strive to provide excellent customer service from the first phone call to you departing Lanai.

I appreciate your feedback in relation to our notice to guests, we have this notice up simply to advise guests to remove their excess rubbish from the apartment and to ensure all dishes are in the dishwasher prior to departure, this is standard practice within an apartment complex.

With regards to the no-smoking policy, the whole building is a designated smoke free complex, we do advise this prior to arrival, it is on our website and our confirmation email that is sent out. We cannot allow smoking on balconies as this would affect the comfort of other guests and residents. I appreciate your comments regarding a designated area for smokers and will pursue this further.

I appreciate your feedback in relation to our website content, yes the lagoon featured on our website is not part of our complex, but we have images to show what both Lanai and the Mackay as a destination have to offer, i am sorry for the confusion and will review the website content.

Again thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback, we rely on all feedback to maintain and improve Lanai Riverside Apartments.

Kind Regards
Emma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Qld
Level Contributor
84 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2013 via mobile

We stayed just one night at Lanai Apartments and have a great stay. The apartment was on the 9th floor with a nice view of river out to the ocean in the distance. Very large 3 Bedroom Apartment with 2 bathrooms modern kitchen lounge room etc also had a nice balcony for drinks and nibbles before we went to a concert in Mackay. If anything the double bed in the 2nd bedroom would be better as a queen size but don't let that deter you. Great location next to the river, close to shops and the swimming lagoon, we will be back next time we visit Mackay

Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
Thank jjaaus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emma P, General Manager at Lanai Riverside Apartments, responded to this review, 6 November 2013
Hi,
I would like to thank you for taking the time to review us after your stay and am delighted to know that you had a great time whilst staying with us. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Kind Regards
Emma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mackay hotels
0.1 mi away
Oaks Rivermarque
Oaks Rivermarque
#7 of 34 in Mackay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
0.0 mi away
Riviera Mackay
Riviera Mackay
#2 of 34 in Mackay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
0.7 mi away
Oaks Carlyle
Oaks Carlyle
#11 of 34 in Mackay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Mackay Grande Suites
Mackay Grande Suites
#18 of 34 in Mackay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 188 reviews
2.7 mi away
Ibis Mackay
Ibis Mackay
#3 of 34 in Mackay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
3.2 mi away
Clarion Hotel Mackay Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lanai Riverside Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lanai Riverside Apartments

Property: Lanai Riverside Apartments
Address: 20 River St, Mackay, Queensland 4740, Australia (Formerly Lanai Luxury Apartments)
Region: Australia > Queensland > Mackay
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 24 Speciality Lodging in Mackay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Lanai Riverside Apartments 4.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax, unwind and explore! Discover for yourself Mackay's best kept secret. Located alongside the Bluewater Lagoon and Canelands Shopping Centre, with picturesque views over the Pioneer River and ocean, Lanai has a selection of large self contained one, two and three bedroom apartments to suit all budgets. Features include resort style heated swimming pool, equipped gymnasium, meeting room, room service from nearby Metro and Phoenix restaurants, and free Wi-Fi. Ask about our range of packages from romantic getaways, family escapes and adrenaline-action packed holidays, we're here to organise your unforgettable stay with us. Lanai guarantee your stay with personalised attention to detail, welcoming friendly service and ensuring your stay gives you every reason to return. You're always welcome at Lanai! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lanai Riverside Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing