We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mackay Rose Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Mackay Rose Motel
Ranked #8 of 34 Hotels in Mackay
Certificate of Excellence
Collinsville, Australia
Level Contributor
74 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Average”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2014

There were a couple of clunky service issues when I checked in, the lady behind the counter couldn't quite figure out how to get my meal order onto the computer. There was a new weekend (limited) menu, so maybe the issue was the new items hadn't been added, not sure. In the end I asked her if I could just go to my room and get her to bring the receipt down with the meal (which I eventually got, but it was forgotten when my meal came down). The room service meal did take a while to arrive (close to 45 minutes for a steak sandwich), it was ok, but the steak sandwich was on a ciabatta/turkish style bread and I would have preferred normal bread. The steak sandwich had a side of chips and had an egg on it, and was nice and tasty.

The room was nice enough, although there was an almost overpowering amount of room freshener used to disguise an underlying odour. Otherwise it was clean and neat. I wasn't a huge fan of the weird uneven tiles though (probably described in a catalogue as rustic) but that's just being nit-picky. I would stay there again, but probably not on a weekend as I found the weekend menu a bit uninviting. The lady behind the counter was kind enough to offer to make me a salad or something, but I would really just rather have more choice.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SydneyTrish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    61
    39
    12
    6
    5
See reviews for
36
42
11
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Gainesville, Florida
Level Contributor
78 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2014

We stayed here, dropping in without a reservation. The price, $135AUD seemed high for the area considering that the motel, while clean, was run down. Staff was helpful although not overly so. Average is about the very best rating we can give it. If I was Mackay on another rainy afternoon I would look elsewhere.

Room Tip: If you get a room toward the back you may have difficulty finding a place to park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dale S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toowoomba, Australia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2013 via mobile

Stayed recently and was pretty disappointed as this motel isn't up to the usual Choice hotel chain standard. The four star rating on the front door no longer is a true representation of this motel's quality. Rooms were basic and the air con rattled all night. On positive the restaurant menu was surprising good.

Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Tannaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackwater, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2013 via mobile

As a "walk in" at 4.45pm on a Friday - the rate of $110 was very appealing. Friendly and helpful Manager. The room was very clean, with all "needs" catered for. Pool area and surrounds neat and tidy.
Whilst it is not "modern" as such, we would definately stay there again, and recommend it to anyone.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Shedog1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Sussex
Level Contributor
293 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2013

This was a typical motel on the Bruce Highway. The room was OK but dingy looking with one double and two single beds. The receptionist was helpful and there was a lounge area in reception where you could sit and read or watch TV. There was also a fridge in reception where you could buy drinks. We ate at the hotel in the evening and had a really nice meal but the waitress/manageress was having a meal with a family/ friends group at the same time as serving us so we felt an inconvenience. I had to ask a few times for water and when we asked for coffee, we were told the machine was broken but were not offered an instant coffee alternative. We did receive unlimited free wifi at this hotel which was generous compared with other hotels.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CarolWestSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2013

Stayed for 2 nights in August for work visit to Mackay. Arrived mid afternoon, checked in no problems. A little dated, but very clean and tidy. Room i had was spacious enough, with 3 beds. Clean bathroom. Foxtel chanels and digital TV. Breakfast at the in house restaurant was good, cooked to order, along with help your self continentals. Decent pub and bottle shop directly opposite. Pool was lovely and well kept. Good location. Decent value in an expensive mining town.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matt F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2013

I stayed here on a Saturday night......the restaurant was not open but is during the week....found that the in the bathroom you will need to relace the bath matt after one shower as it was soaked........but aprt from thatnot bad t all

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Steven B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mackay hotels
0.4 mi away
White Lace Motor Inn
White Lace Motor Inn
#15 of 34 in Mackay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
1.7 mi away
Riviera Mackay
Riviera Mackay
#2 of 34 in Mackay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
1.8 mi away
Ibis Mackay
Ibis Mackay
#3 of 34 in Mackay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Oaks Carlyle
Oaks Carlyle
#10 of 34 in Mackay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
2.5 mi away
Potters Oceanside Motel
0.1 mi away
Shamrock Gardens Motel
Shamrock Gardens Motel
#4 of 34 in Mackay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mackay Rose Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mackay Rose Motel

Property: Mackay Rose Motel
Address: 164 Nebo Rd, Mackay, Queensland 4740, Australia (Formerly Comfort Inn The Rose)
Region: Australia > Queensland > Mackay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 34 Hotels in Mackay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Mackay Rose Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For the Best Deals go to mackay rose motel New owners special - $88 a double including hot breakfast !!! The Mackay Rose Motel is family operated and has recently been refurbished. All rooms have air-conditioning, free Wi-Fi recently upgraded, 10 Foxtel channels including Fox sport, Sky racing and movie channels. Meals and breakfast available 7 days a week as we do home cooked style meals starting at $15.00 in our bistro. Packed lunches also available as well as conference room facilities. Relax and enjoy the outdoor resort style swimming pool and bbq area. The motel is conveniently located close to all facilities including Mackay airport, hotels, shops and fast food outlets. Mackay city centre is only 3kms away. We look forward to looking after you and providing you a home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK) and Odigeo so you can book your Mackay Rose Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing