We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient to Buscasia”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Windmill Motel & Reception Centre
Ranked #12 of 34 Hotels in Mackay
Reviewed 9 October 2013

Our stay of 2 nights was comfortable with nothing to complain about. On a positive side the rooms were clean and bed comfortable with covered car port. Staff were friendly and the facility well kept. Hotel's location was main reason for booking being on northside of Mackay and close to Bucasia where we visited relatives. Will most likely return visit.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CairnsAussie52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (120)
There are newer reviews for Windmill Motel & Reception Centre
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

70 - 76 of 120 reviews

Reviewed 3 October 2013

I have been travelling around australia and this is my first time on tripadvisor to mark out my next stop. We stayed at the Windmill and could not fault anything with the motel. All the staff were very freindly and would help out with any questions we had about our trip to mackay. Reception staff were very informative about the area and would bend over backwards to help. The food in the restuarant was very good plus the service. Rooms were very comfortable and clean.

Room Tip: For good food and freindly staff
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kathleeng42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2013

This review is not about the Accommodation or Facilities at the Windmill, but the appalling Customer Service that you might receive should things not go to plan!
Last Weekend I booked a room at the Windmill for friends of ours who are in their 80's and were driving back to NSW from Cairns. However when they arrived in Mackay they were unable to find the Hotel and the wife phoned the Reception Desk to get instructions but was greeted with what they reported to be a very off hand and impatient receptionist. When they had followed the directions but were still unable to locate the property the Husband phoned again and again the Receptionist was very off hand with him (rudely asking at one point if he was facing North or South; something impossible to ascertain in the middle of a city without a compass!). After a while of searching fruitlessly and with a very sick wife, the couple decided to check into a friendlier Motel for the night and phoned me to relay their ordeal.
Since I have often stayed at the Windmill when I am in Mackay on Business, I decided to call the Windmill and spoke to the General Manager and owner and immediately realised where the culture of rudeness in the Establishment was coming from! He was absolutely unconcerned about the strife the elderly couple had faced in dealing with his receptionist, and at one point in our conversation, he “inferred” that I must be lying about staying there at all!
Anyhow needless to say, although our Company has stayed at the Windmill on at least 15 occasions, they will most certainly not be getting any further Business from us.
If you want to experience our usually friendly Northern Hospitality, I would certainly be finding another Motel to stay in Mackay.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Service
5  Thank MagsCairns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2013

This place has many good and bad things - it depends on why you're staying here.

The rooms are clean and spacious enough but still a basic motel. They hav standard motel rooms, family rooms and apartments -all of similar quality.

The location is on the out-skirts of town on the main highway - so this would not be the best place to stay if you are going to Mackay on a holiday BUT if you are attending a function at the centre then this is an excellent option.

We didn't eat at the restuarant but we did attend a function - the food was nice, biasc but yummy.

There is a pool and tennis court - both a little on the 'un-loved' side - again I don't think this is the ideal place for a long holiday.

There was off street and under-cover parking but not enough of every room and the car parks are little tight so not good if you have an older or larger car.

We stayed as part of a large family group for a wedding, for two nights. On the first night there was another function in the function room - we could hear a low din of noise but nothing that worried us but as a group of ~ 15 adults in a family room got a noise complaint at 10pm and told that the other guests were complaining and if we didn't stop we would be asked to leave.

The second night we had the wedding - the ceremony in the wonderful garden (only problem was the noise of the trucks on the highway made it difficult to hear) and the then the reception. At approximatley 9pm a guest of the motel but not of the wedding was at the motel reception complaining that they couldn't sleep due to the noise.................

I think this is a place that serves a purpose but may not be to everyones liking - BUT you have to accept that if you're staying and a function centre then there will be some noise..........

Room Tip: The all of the apartments and half of the motel rooms are upstairs with no lifts - if you cannot wal...
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marika V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2013

My husband and I stayed for one night only – it was a last minute booking so we were just too happy to have a family apartment available. The apartment was very spacious with an open plan living area – dining room, lounge and kitchen with a microwave and dishwasher. All very clean and tidy. The laundry came as a nice surprise – very handy when you travel. We also had 2 bathrooms and 2 bedrooms - one of them an en-suite with a corner spa-bath! Our bed was a firm one – just the way we like it. We enjoyed a good night’s rest as our bedroom was positioned away from the street and very quiet.
We booked our table for dinner as we checked in. The food was divine - beautifully displayed and very tasteful. The service friendly and prompt.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travelsnorthtosouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2013

We stopped off here on our way to Cairns so we just needed a bed for the night. We had a family room which had a Queen & two singles plus a sofa bed. The room was large, there was also plenty of room for our portacot. The room was clean & smelt of cleaning products when we opened the door. A big plus for us was that they had a guest laundry so we were able to wash. Another plus was that we got to back the car up right to the door so we didn't have too far to carry all our gear. Only negatives were that there was only one small window in the large room & our feet were getting dirty from either the tiles or carpet. One thing that would make the room better would be the addition of a microwave.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kylie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2013

We have stayed at the Windmill on a few occasions, and have found it to be well located, clean, tidy and with friendly and efficient staff. This time however, we were disappointed. We rented the Queen Apartment, paying full price ($275) for one night. The dishwasher was 'out of order', with a sign attached to it saying 'do not use', the microwave did not work, the A/C in the main bedroom dripped water whenever it was turned on, and the remote for the TV in the bedroom did not work. When I reported these issues to staff in the morning, they indicated they were not aware of the issues, and would look into them, but offered no discount off the price. We will likely try another motel in Mackay next time we are passing through.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TonitaTaylor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mackay hotels
3.8 mi away
Ibis Mackay
Ibis Mackay
#2 of 34 in Mackay
215 reviews
2.1 mi away
Mackay Grande Suites
Mackay Grande Suites
#24 of 34 in Mackay
204 reviews
1.9 mi away
Oaks Rivermarque
Oaks Rivermarque
#8 of 34 in Mackay
218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
White Lace Motor Inn
White Lace Motor Inn
#14 of 34 in Mackay
126 reviews
4.4 mi away
Clarion Hotel Mackay Marina
1.9 mi away
Riviera Mackay
Riviera Mackay
#3 of 34 in Mackay
115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Windmill Motel & Reception Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windmill Motel & Reception Centre

Address: 5 Highway Plaza | Bruce Highway, Mackay, Queensland 4740, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Mackay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Mackay
Price Range: £61 - £82 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Windmill Motel & Reception Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Windmill Motel and Reception Centre is located 1.7 km (1 mi) from Mount Pleasant Shopping Centre and 3.7 km (2.3 mi) from Jubilee Park. Highlights at this motel include a restaurant, an outdoor swimming pool, and free self parking. All 63 rooms feature free WiFi, Foxtel and Tea & Coffee making facilities. The Windmill Motel is in a perfect location for those who enjoy keeping fit with many running tracks located around the Gooseponds at the back of the property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Windmill Motel & Reception Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Mackay
Mackay Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing