We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best place so fard” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Travellers Rest Caravan and Camping Park

Travellers Rest Caravan and Camping Park
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mackay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Travellers Rest Caravan and Camping Park
Ranked #15 of 25 Speciality Lodging in Mackay
Burnie
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Best place so fard”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

We have travelled in our caravan from North West Tasmania, this has been our favourite caravan site, and so relaxing. We planned on staying 2 nights but ended up extending to 5 and would have happily stayed longer but had other arrangements.

We hope to return soon.

Lise

Room Tip: Camp sites all good
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lizzieclayton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13
    6
    0
    3
    10
See reviews for
10
15
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    1 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mackay, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

I had read previous reviews about management but made the unfortunate error to still stay here. The location is beautiful but ruined but very unprofessional people.
We were firstly "welcomed" by a surly woman who barked orders at her guests. The second night both managers turned up at our campsite highly intoxicated, yelling and falsely accusing our group of lighting a fire on the beach while we were doing nothing more rebellious than playing a game of cards. The male one then proceeded to challenge the guys to fight him. They finally left after having a screaming match between themselves. It completely ruined our night and the relaxed atmosphere that camping should have.
I will definitely not be returning here and would suggest no one else does until it is run by professionals.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
21 Thank becm91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Mackay hotels

Mackay, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

This is such a nice location, UNFORTUNATELY the management team is extremely RUDE and DISRESPECTFUL. Had a Small quiet dog that was asleep and never left our side or barked, manager barged into our camp in front of all our family's threatening to take it to the pound if its not on a leash, then followed up by telling my partner and I to PISS OFF cause we were past visitor hrs, Surly could be slightly lenient due to it being Easter Sunday. Then the husband came out and carried on as well so we just pack up and left that night. Extremely disrespectful management and poorly run park. Very ashame due to its location...PLEASE AVOID...

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
13 Thank 479Brendan90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2014

We stayed at the caravan park in December 2013. It was beautiful. The management is great. There have been some negative reviews from people but there are alway two sides to every story. Being in a residential part of midge point even though it is a huge park management has to be strict on noise as to care for the people that live in midge point. Management is not rude but they will not take misbehaving. And they are the type of beautiful people What you see is what you get. More people need to be like this. At the end if the day it was the best holiday my husband and 3 young kids have had ever. Love it and will keep going back.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank Stqas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
397 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 396 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2014

We stayed in late December, I wasn't going to bother with a review. I was going to give the place the benefit of the doubt and assume that we arrived on a bad day.

We experienced a very poor introduction to the park. A member of staff, or the owner clearly saw us arrive and then just ignored us. When my wife walked over to see her she was rude and off putting. We had a sharp instruction to not drive on the concrete slabs ( the next day we had an equally brusque instruction to avoid driving on the grass). The atmosphere was far from relaxing.

All prospective visitors should listen to us and to other reviewers and avoid this place like the plague. We didn't experience any midges at Midge Point but one wasp was certainly very much in evidence.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
11 Thank tim252
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2014

Arrived late after from a long day and called ahead to let them know we were coming however no one there on arrival but a sign to say 'find a spot, we will catch up with you'. When they did arrive we were spoken to so rudely - so much we wanted to leave immediately. After trying to pay for our hour stay they would not let us leave by blocking our van and making me and my 2 children feel very frightened and intimidated, particularly as it is quite remote and there was no one else in the park. Pretty spot but NOT WORTH IT!! Should have listened to the other reviews!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Jody K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mackay
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2013 via mobile

We arrived on our stay for the second time, we had been here 2 years ago...
After checking in with a c,ouple of other people about 15 people in total in which had all been paid for... During our stay we had frequently brought ice and bait from reception, doing the right thing and supporting the park.... However every time we were confronted by rude management and often felt intimidated by them to the point we would avoid having to go there just so we didn't have to feel uncomfortable! The rules were supplied on check in however seemed a little unfair as we felt what's not okay for one is okay for another... It's such a gorgeous park with great potentinal but with the current management it is only going to bring it down... We(all 15 of us) will not be back unless management changes.... Your loss not ours!

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
6 Thank Kaydee R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mackay hotels
7.1 mi away
Mackay Blacks Beach Holiday Park
4.1 mi away
BIG4 Mackay Marine Tourist Park
2.4 mi away
The Park Mackay
The Park Mackay
#10 of 25 in Mackay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Potters Oceanside Motel
7.1 mi away
Comfort Resort Blue Pacific
Comfort Resort Blue Pacific
#1 of 1 in Blacks Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
2.2 mi away
Motel Northview
Motel Northview
#1 of 2 in North Mackay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travellers Rest Caravan and Camping Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travellers Rest Caravan and Camping Park

Property: Travellers Rest Caravan and Camping Park
Address: 29 Jackson St | Midge Point, Mackay, Queensland 4799, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Mackay
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 25 Speciality Lodging in Mackay
Number of rooms: 5

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing