We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not bad for a Mackay van park, but not great for a Big4” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of BIG4 Mackay Marine Tourist Park

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
BIG4 Mackay Marine Tourist Park
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Not bad for a Mackay van park, but not great for a Big4”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2014 via mobile

Had a few days in Mackay as part of a family roadtrip in early Aug.

Its located on the main road to the port, so some heavy truck traffic does pass the park.

We stayed in a cabin, these are all located near the main road, so you will get some road noise.

The cabin we were in was clean, but not very new, some signs of wear and tear. Parents get their own room, kids bunk in the main room/kitchen.

We self catered in the room one night and the kitchen did its job well. There is a separate BBQ/outdoor kitchen that looked clean and well kept. The laundry facilities were also good

The park looks to get a fair bit of mining/industrial guests, it appears as historically they have not been focused on the family traveller .. But it looks like things are changing.

The kids loved the jumping pillow and the mini-golf course. The park was renovating its pool and building a kids 'water park' with water slide.

Some landscaping and land clearing occurring, hopefully some larger and newer cabins are on the way...

We did check out the other park in town, the cabins were smaller and didn't work as well for our kids.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BIG4MackayMarine, Guest Relations Manager at BIG4 Mackay Marine Tourist Park, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Thanks so much for your review! We have been investing in some major renovations for our families this year so we're glad that you are enjoying them. We're very excited about our new water park which should be operational in time for the warmer weather, and look forward to welcoming you back to see the new improvements soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    53
    38
    31
    10
    13
See reviews for
61
55
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bendigo
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014 via mobile

Mackay marine tourist park

We stayed for 3 nights, the park is going through extensive renovations, i have no doubt it will be very good once finished. 
The camp kitchen is near new ( the cleaners need to clean it outside high use hours) and has everything you need, could do with a gas burner if i was to be picky. 
The site was nice and grassy. A water park is being opened in the park very soon and will be great for kids. The mini golf is fairly new and is great for all ages. 
 

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Wally F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BIG4MackayMarine, Manager at BIG4 Mackay Marine Tourist Park, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Thanks for your review, Wally F! We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay - we are pleased that you can see our park taking shape, we are very excited about all of our recent renovations. We hope to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

Would not stay here again. Only gave one star as the ensuite site we stayed in was clean and relatively new. The park is based on a main road and we had trucks driving all night down to the Port using air brakes. We arrived at 6pm. Staff had rung us while travelling between Cairns & Mackay stating they closed at 6pm and would leave a key for us under a chair. There was no one in the office when we arrived and it was closed although they did do as they said and left the key to the ensuite under a chair. As previous reviewers have stated the mozzies are bad and we had to spray the window of the ensuite with insect repellent which had permanent mesh in it and was not able to be closed. Sadly this was the worst night of a month long trip to Cape York.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank S Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BIG4MackayMarine, Manager at BIG4 Mackay Marine Tourist Park, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Thank you for your review, S Q. We are sorry that on this occasion your expectations were not met. We have had issues with mozzies this year - this has been completely unforseen, and we are aware that it has been a little uncomfortable for our guests.
We are sorry that your stay was disturbed by some road noise. This is, unfortunately, not something we are able to control.
We do hope to see you again. Happy travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Mackay hotels

Australind, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

It was a terrible stay. We had booked for a four night stay and could only stay for one. I couldn't wait to get out. We had an ensuite cabin. Very dated and very mouldy with a terrible smell. The fridge/freezer was hardly working. Thinking this was a refurbished cabin!
You have to be kidding :(

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lbsm40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BIG4MackayMarine, Manager at BIG4 Mackay Marine Tourist Park, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
lbsm40, thank you for your review. We are very sorry that your recent stay did not meet with expectations. We are always looking for ways to improve our park and service, and will definitely take your comments into consideration.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jimboomba
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

Great staff, made it easy to book quickly over the phone and offered us a great rate. All the paperwork and keys ready for a late checkin made it no fuss. Being pet friendly usually means substandard accommodation, but not at this park the cabins were sparkling clean and although the use of cleaning fluids were evident by the overpowering first smells at least they were clean. Unfortunately our neighbours for the night weren't very quiet early morning however we were very happy with our quick overnight stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank quickwedding
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BIG4MackayMarine, Manager at BIG4 Mackay Marine Tourist Park, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Thank you for your review, quickwedding! We do take the cleanliness of our park and facilities very seriously, and are pleased that we met your expectation.
We hope to welcome you back for a longer stay next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mornington, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

Great staff, friendly, helpful, Good shower/toilet block, very, very clean. Large caravan site near the amazing natural lagoon, lots of wild bird and ducks. Need to burn a mozzie coil at night. Entry to park a little bit tricky but follow your sat nav, it will take you past the park, round the round-a-bout and back to park with a far better entrance. Very soon this will be the No 1 park in Mackay, lots of $$ being spent.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BIG4MackayMarine, Manager at BIG4 Mackay Marine Tourist Park, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Thank you for your revew, Chris H, and for highlighting how to get here to the Trip Advisor community. We are very proud of the extensive work we are undertaking at the park, and we are glad that you share our vision.
We hope to welcome you back when we are all done!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

We only stayed one night travelling back down south and glad we only had the one night. We arrived in the evening to be attacked by the mozzies. We stayed in an ensuite cabin and it was very basic and looked disgusting. It felt like sleeping in a fridge as I don't think there was any insulation at all, freezing cold. Had one 5min shower and ran out of hot water so the rest of the family couldn't shower. Was happy to leave early in the morning.

Room Tip: If you are to stay don't stay in ensuite cabin as right next the the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 24Jude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mackay hotels
2.7 mi away
Seabreeze Hotel
Seabreeze Hotel
#25 of 34 in Mackay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
2.4 mi away
Riviera Mackay
Riviera Mackay
#2 of 34 in Mackay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
1.1 mi away
Clarion Hotel Mackay Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Ibis Mackay
Ibis Mackay
#3 of 34 in Mackay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
4.3 mi away
Mackay Blacks Beach Holiday Park
2.5 mi away
Potters Oceanside Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BIG4 Mackay Marine Tourist Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BIG4 Mackay Marine Tourist Park

Property: BIG4 Mackay Marine Tourist Park
Address: 379 Harbour Road, Mackay, Queensland 4740, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Mackay
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 25 Speciality Lodging in Mackay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — BIG4 Mackay Marine Tourist Park 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BIG4 Mackay Marine Tourist Park is just 2 kilometres from the beautiful Mackay Marina precinct with its lush parklands and selection of restaurants. Sit back and relax in our newly renovated park, or explore the great attractions the Mackay area has to offer - wonderful wildlife, beautiful beaches, breathtaking scenery, and exciting experiences both in and out of the water. We have done a lot of work on the park since taking over in 2010 adding new cabins and renovating older ones, adding a children's water park, jumping pillow and camp kitchen as well as a new office and rejuvenating the gardens and surrounds. We are now also proudly pet friendly so bring all your friends to visit us at BIG4 Mackay Marine Tourist Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your BIG4 Mackay Marine Tourist Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing