We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, good for families!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Illawong Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Illawong Beach Resort
Ranked #31 of 34 Hotels in Mackay
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great location, good for families!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2013

Stayed here for 5 nights at the end of June. Found the units to be clean, roomy, and beautiful views. Airport noise didn't bother us at all-hey you could hear them land and take off but it's over in a few seconds-it just added to the excitement. Loved the fact I woke to uninterrupted beach views instead of noisey Nebo Road. Very helpful and friendly management! Will be back:)

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank tankost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4
    7
    1
    5
    5
See reviews for
12
2
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ipswich, Australia
Level Contributor
136 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2013

Stayed at Illawong Beach Resort for 5 nights with my daughter and granddaughter.....friendly helpful staff which is always a good start .....the villa was clean and adequate for our stay....close to airport....though a bit noisy, did not bother us as we live near the Amberley Airforce Base and are used to planes flying overhead.....the noise stopped at night anyway....nice and handy to the beach as well...nothing fancy but much better than staying in a motel in the middle of town.....we were there for a hockey carnival and it was only a few minutes down the road to the hockey centre....very convenient....

Room Tip: Ask for a villa facing the ocean......
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank bestcp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
40 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2013

After reading some of the previous reviews I was quite prepared for the worst, but instead I was pleasantly surprised. Stayed with my children and grandchildren for the weekend. Our cabin faced the beach and was reasonably spacious. The only thing I would do next time is buy some more groceries and supplies as the restaurant is closed on the weekend and the nearest store is 10 mins down the road. The kitchen was well set up with a full sized fridge and plenty of cupboard space. Nice if you want to get away from the bustle of Nebo Road where most of the motels are.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ljh62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Capella, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2013

The place was past its used by date. A bit run down and needed a really good clean. We were attached by bed bugs and left extremely itchy. Do not be fooled by the name resort, it definently isn't one anymore. It was sufficient but are definently penny pinching.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Pepsi987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Mackay hotels

Emerald, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2012

I should have read the reviews before going though, as the airport was extremely close and the noise was horrible. With a 7 month old baby and 2 otehr small kids it wasn't a pleasant experience at all. The beach was lovely but the low tides were a pain with the water going out at least a couple of kilometre making for an extremely long walk just to have a swim. The villas is very out of date and needs lots of attention. Our villa had an unpleasant smell in it, we tried everything to get rid of the bad smell but nothing helped. We had to sleep with the sliding door open and that took away most of the bad smell thanks to the loverly rain. The villa wasn't very clean, very dissapointed especially when we entered the bathroom and there were 2heaps of sands due to ants. I mean before someone book in please make sure everything is ready to go. We were there 2 hours before checking in just to leave the trailer there so that we could go shopping but the lady at the reception desk informed me that they just cleaned the villa and we're all good to book in.
It rained most of the time we were there though making it extremely hard to unpack the car. The car is not allowed to get park outside your villa it must stay in the carpark that was nearly 30metres away from the villa and we had to walk a few times to get the car unpack. We went with a trailor because my family from overseas were here and not even the trailor was allowed to get park outside the villa, it had to stay in the car park.The pool area is quit nice but nothing else to do for children especially in cooler days like now. It's too cold to swim. One other thing that I can mention is that the photos on their website is from an other angle but what I saw was something different.
This resort is not family orientated at all but catered more for contractors.

From all my experiences with accommodation in Oz this was the worst of them all!!! I will never ever refer anyone to this resort or stay there again.

Room Tip: Choose or ask for a room close to carpark.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Doortjie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moranbah, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2011

Ok if you can get passed the not having the mod cons and undated furniture the actual location is pretty awesome i would return to this resort just for the fact that the villas are located right on the beach had a lovely view of the sea the rooms were very spacious the price was really good have stayed in other hotels/apartments in mackay and would choose this out of all good for families.......Didn't have any probs with the noise would have been really good if the restaurant was open was a bit of a let down as the shops are about 10 mins by car.The only gripe i have is that the staff need to tend to the reception area as we arrived no staff then finally signed in tried ringing recption no aswer went to the main office and door was locked.....

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 1600088Terry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2011

A nice location is spoilt by the unprofessionalism of the Managers of this resort.
Their unscrupulous behaviour and lies have left a very sour taste in our mouth.
We secured our booking with an Amex card and were never informed that additional charges would be incurred for the use of this card. When attempting to checkout at approx. 7.30am, the male Manager advised that he was unable to process the account, he did not know how, and he would arrange for the girls to process the account when they arrived later from the booking details. Again no mention of additional charges. We have challenged the additional charges to which they will not relent. The male Manager has also now accused us of leaving without paying. How these people continue to operate a business giving false information and making false accusations is totally beyond comprehension.

Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
Helpful?
6 Thank VeryUnhappyBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mackay hotels
1.1 mi away
Ocean International Hotel
0.8 mi away
Ibis Mackay
Ibis Mackay
#3 of 34 in Mackay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
2.4 mi away
White Lace Motor Inn
White Lace Motor Inn
#15 of 34 in Mackay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Clarion Hotel Mackay Marina
2.6 mi away
Country Plaza Motor Inn
Country Plaza Motor Inn
#17 of 34 in Mackay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
2.5 mi away
Mackay Motor Inn
Mackay Motor Inn
#22 of 34 in Mackay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Illawong Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Illawong Beach Resort

Property: Illawong Beach Resort
Address: 73 Illawong Drive, Mackay, Queensland 4740, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Mackay
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 34 Hotels in Mackay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Illawong Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Illawong Beach Resort is located on the beachfront of Mackay, QLD. The resort is minutes from the airport and a short drive to the Mackay CBD. The resort boast villa style accommodation within the tropical surrounds of the complex. There is an outdoor swimming pool and spa surrounded by palm trees to enjoy on those warm afternoons. Onsite management is available 24 hours a day. The Illawong Beach Resort has 37 fully self contained two bedroom villas overlooking the waterfront, or by the pool. Each villa can accommodate up to 4 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Illawong Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Illawong Beach Hotel Mackay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing