We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Island getaway with great hosts”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Keswick Island Guesthouse
Ranked #10 of 18 Mackay B&B and Inns
Reviewed 29 September 2011

We were looking for a quiet place to rest and recuperate from a busy year and were very happy we chose Keswick Island Guest House where we stayed for 6 nights. The hosts, Brian and Lyn went out of their way to make us feel welcome and were very hospitable and accommodating. Brian is a great storyteller and entertainer and made our evenings lots of fun. Lyn is a fabulous cook and we enjoyed delicious fresh meals every day. Lyn also catered to my need for gluten free meals, baking fresh gluten free bread and wicked chocolate desserts! Our room was very clean and well furnished. The verandah was a great place to relax with a book or a glass of wine and watch the whales. We went for lots of walks and swam and snorkelled at all the beaches. The fringing coral reef provides a limited but good variety of snorkelling. We felt totally relaxed and re-charged after our stay here!

Room Tip: Paperbark Room was very spacious with great view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Seasoned2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (43)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

26 - 32 of 43 reviews

Reviewed 6 May 2011

I was extremely fortunate to spend my 40th birthday (long weekend) at Keswick Island. From the moment we stepped off the helicopter the stress just seemed to melt away. We were met at the airstrip by Brian and Lyn and their enormous smiles which never seem to faulter.

I cannot rave enough about Lyn's food and the hospitality of the Guesthouse. We were made to feel totally at home and relaxed. Our room was large, the bed was incredibly comfortable and the room and rest of the house was spotless. Nothing was ever a trouble and I even recieved a special card and breakfast on my birthday. Caution however, the guest house has magical wine glasses that never seem to empty! We both had a bit of a headache the next morning. But a lovely breakfast and dip in the ocean at Basil Bay had us feeling brilliant!

If you are looking for a relaxed get away where you can have as little or as much excitiement as you want at your own pace, love great food and wine and enjoy the absolutely beauty of unspoilt beaches, gorgeous coral then you can't go past Keswick. Say hi to Lyn and Brian for me!

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nossy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2011

We stayed in the questhouse on Keswick Island - which is a fantastic place to be- for three nights ! Brian and Lynn, the owners, do their upmost to make your stay as comfortable as possible. Lynn is cooking like a professionel one star Michelin star chef. We enjoyed our stay in paradise very much and in case of return in Australie - it's rather far from Holland- we absolutely go back to Keswick Island Guesthouse. Yvonne and Herman- Holland

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Arent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2011

Stayed here for 4 nights and had a wonderful time with warm and lovely hosts Brian and Lyn. All we had to do was sit back and relax, enjoy the beautiful view, eat the divine meals (Lyn is the best cook!) and take a heavenly dip in the sea every once in a while. The rooms are quite big, clean and with a good bathroom. We simply loved it here and will definitely try to come back again!

Mingu Mingu rules!

  • Stayed: January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rosanne-Rotterdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2010

We stayed 5 nights. I need gluten free food and Lyn not only provided great food but was able to do so completely without gluten while we were there. The meals were always interesting and often incorporated new tastes to offer further temptation along with the excellent presentation and food quality. Seeing to the comfort and interests of their guests is top priority for Brian & Lyn. The guesthouse is in a magnificent position and the island has deserted pristine beaches which can be easily accessed either by track or kayak. There was no extra charge for the kayak or snorkeling equipment and Brian & Lyn were always happy to make us tea/coffee whenever we felt like it. Also the residents we met were friendly & helpful. Thank you Jerro for the lift and extra colour you added to our stay. It was great to meet you Marion and Dougal. And a special thank you to Brian & Lyn.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chas47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2010

Brian and Lyn are born hosts. Nothing seems to be too much trouble. You get welcomed onto the island with big grins and waves as the tiny plane lands (part of the fun!), get a ride up the hill in a golf buggy and a glass of bubbles to say hello. Likely it will be a meal time, so you get fed something completely delicious (we had divine fresh garlic prawns, fresh bread and salad for lunch) and then get a quick island tour. After that, it's time to check out the beaches, read a book or laze on the deck. It's the drinks hour at 6-6.30pm, check out the news and nibble the nibbles. After that, star gazing, chat and music (take your instrument if you are in any way musical, Brian has a fab voice but could do with some guitar lessons!). Dinner is something to behold - delicious fresh, gourmet foods with flourish. Dessert is just spectacular and there is often a lot of it (THREE helpings one night for my beloved). We spent our five days snorkeling, kayaking, sunbathing, walking, reading/lazing and fishing. It was utterly relaxing. One night the locals (of the 14 on the island!) came for some drinks and chat - it was great to meet everyone and hear their stories. Following this, the beloved went out spear fishing with the local action man, bringing home a 3kg coral trout for lunch. Yum. The birds and the bees are worth a thought - the wildlife is extensive and kooky. From a double entendre point of view, the beds are extremely comfortable! Be aware, if you are after a party scene/shopping haven, this is NOT the place to come. There are no shops or nightclubs - the only licensed place on the island is at the Guest House. It suited us (as a 'babymooning' couple with some exams on the horizon) down to the ground, but might not be everyone's cup of delicious breakfast tea. When you leave, contribute a recipe to the Keswick recipe book and wave goodbye to pure relaxation. It would be a great place to go with a group of friends for a special occasion.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mglanville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2010

Keswick is a worthy peice of paradise and so close to Mackay. Brian and Lyn were great hosts. The food was delicious, The hospitality was fantastic. The accommodation excellent. The days to spend as we wished

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mackay hotels
0.2 mi away
The Shores Holiday Apartments
0.5 mi away
Comfort Resort Blue Pacific
Comfort Resort Blue Pacific
#1 of 1 in Blacks Beach
41 reviews
6.3 mi away
Potters Oceanside Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Oaks Rivermarque
Oaks Rivermarque
#8 of 34 in Mackay
237 reviews
8.2 mi away
Ibis Mackay
Ibis Mackay
#2 of 34 in Mackay
223 reviews
11.2 mi away
MyCow Accommodation Mackay
MyCow Accommodation Mackay
#1 of 2 in North Mackay
16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Keswick Island Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Keswick Island Guesthouse

Address: 26 Coral Passage Drive | Keswick Island, Mackay, Queensland 4740, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Mackay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Mackay
Price Range: £414 - £444 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Keswick Island Guesthouse 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Keswick Island Guesthouse is on Keswick Island, the most southerly in the Whitsundays. We offer 4 king rooms with en suite & access to our deck with views over the Coral Sea. Relax with a book or snorkel our coral reef. Go bushwalking, or swim in the crystal waters of Basil Bay. A holiday with us is a gourmet experience with all meals included. Keswick Island is secluded, yet only a 15 minute flight from Mackay. Free WiFi is now available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Keswick Island Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing