We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well located and consistently good.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Central Point Motel
Ranked #11 of 13 Hotels in Mount Isa
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Well located and consistently good.”
Reviewed 31 July 2013

We stayed at this motel on 26 November last year and it was just as good second time around. Last time it was 43 degrees and this time 21 degrees. The air-conditioning obviously copes well with all extremes. The inclusive breakfast service provided to your room the previous evening is very good, and allows one to eat at whatever time is desired. The information center is just over the road with all manner of shopping only a 5 minute walk away. Even if you come to Mount Isa by train or plane most of the main things in the city can be visited by a short walk from here. This trip we were traveling from Brisbane to Darwin and this motel compares most favorably with all the others we stayed in. Will certainly stay here again if in the vicinity.

Room Tip: Request a ground floor room if climbing stairs and manhandling luggage is to be a problem.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank neville g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9
    31
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
8
16
5
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
65 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2013

This was my first trip to Mount Isa and I was there for three weeks with work. The motel is in a good location, not far from anywhere, and a close walk to McDonalds, shops and clubs. The room was very basic and clean, although housekeeping was a bit hit and miss. There must be two cleaners who work there, one is very thorough and does a complete service, the other does only the bare minimum, on a few days there was no service at all. The toilet leaked in my room, and after reporting it it was seen to a few days later, but not fixed. Marian street is quite busy with trucks and road trains at all hours of the day and night, but to be fair so are many others streets. I have not stayed anywhere else in Mount Isa, but talking to other people it is not the worst place and at the end of my stay, I would have to say it was OK.

Room Tip: Ask for a ground floor unit, dragging bags upstairs is a real pain.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TwoMen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cairns, qld
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2013 via mobile

I was going to wait until the end of my stay to do this review but there is no need to as I have stayed one night and now complete this review with confidence.

The motel is situated right in the heart of town with Coles and Kmart a stones throw away. For those who want fast food KFC and macca's is also within a five minute walk.

The rooms are perfect for staying for work. It seems that the managers have thought of everything, including the little things (like even a spray bottle to help with ironing). There is everything you need in the room for a comfortable stay as well as Foxtel Channels to keep entertained.

The room was serviced to high standard with honesty as, unbeknownst to me I had dropped money on the floor and I returned from work to find the coin on my desk with the room made up.

Book with confidence

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank shanus13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairns
Level Contributor
120 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2013

Last visit Nov12. This visit Mar13. Exactly the same :) I can see this property becoming my regular bed when in Mt Isa. This time went exploring and found excellent walk up the hill to the lookout right behind the motel. Definitely stay again.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EssenceOfGoodTaste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairns
Level Contributor
120 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2012

Good clean comfortable room with everything you need when making a short trip to Mount Isa. Good sized room, with fully equipped kitchenette. Very good bed, lovely hot water. Effective air-conditioning. Right in central Mount Isa. If you want a break from self catering there is a good pub across the road they have a meal deal with too. It was a real pleasure after the disappointing accommodation on the road between Charters Towers and Mount Isa.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EssenceOfGoodTaste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
melbourne
Level Contributor
59 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2012

i stayed at this motel last week and i found the rooms very clean and quite large - even though the rooms are a bit dated the owner maintains them very well. i only saw one staff member during my stay which i think was either the owner or the manager and i found him very pleasant to deal with.the only negative i have which is not the fault of the motel is there is a fair ammount of road noise as it is located on the main road. overall its a good place to base yourself and it is walking distance to the shops and the Buffs club

Room Tip: i think all rooms would be equal
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank imanaussie2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darwin, Australia
Level Contributor
102 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2012

I had a one night stop over in Mount Isa following a job interview in the area. The motel was very central and close the everything.

The room was very clean, the owner was very friendly and helpful.

The room had everything you could need for a short stay, microwave, fridge, iron etc. I would have happily have stayed here longer and would have no hesitation in staying if I happen to be in Mount Isa again.

The price was very reasonable given the local market.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hz88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mount Isa hotels
0.3 mi away
Ibis Styles Mt Isa Verona
Ibis Styles Mt Isa Verona
#4 of 13 in Mount Isa
150 reviews
0.4 mi away
RedEarth Hotel
RedEarth Hotel
#6 of 13 in Mount Isa
68 reviews
0.8 mi away
Cityside Accommodation
Cityside Accommodation
#12 of 13 in Mount Isa
14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Burke & Wills
Burke & Wills
#7 of 13 in Mount Isa
59 reviews
0.5 mi away
Copper City Motel
Copper City Motel
#1 of 13 in Mount Isa
74 reviews
0.6 mi away
Spinifex Motel & Serviced Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Central Point Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Central Point Motel

Property: Central Point Motel
Address: 6 Marian St, Mount Isa, Queensland 4825, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Mount Isa
Amenities:
Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 13 Hotels in Mount Isa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Central Point Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Central Point Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing