We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do not eat the food.”

Discovery Parks -  Mount Isa
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Discovery Parks - Mount Isa
Cairns Region, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Do not eat the food.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2013

Its basic and they offer option of eating in their dining room. Save your money and stay well, eat at a takeaway or cook. Service is basic and forget complaining to Manager he will tell you your the fist ever complaint. Do not stay at Discovery holiday park in Mt Isa is the best advice i can give.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank straightline1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    22
    9
    0
    6
See reviews for
8
28
2
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2013 via mobile

We should have looked at more parks n not taking the 1st park on my GPS, the best thing in the park was the POOL, I damaged my van trying to put a 26 foot van in a 20 foot site. The staff were friendly enough , we did have great neighbors which was fantastic..

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 777DUKE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DiscoveryHolidayPark, Manager at Discovery Parks - Mount Isa, responded to this review, 23 September 2013
Hi 777DUKE, thanks for your post. We appreciate your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aalborg, Denmark
Level Contributor
130 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2013 via mobile

We called to book here a few hours before we arrived and the staff were lovely and fantastic to deal with. Everything is very clean and tidy.
Pool was nice and refreshing. We did our washing and had it stolen off the clothes line in the night. Don't hang any brand name items out.

Except for bad luck with the clothes it was. Good place to stay :)

Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Amelia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DiscoveryHolidayPark, Manager at Discovery Parks - Mount Isa, responded to this review, 12 September 2013
Hi Amelia S, thanks for your review. Glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us but very sorry to hear about your unfortunate incident. We'll be sure to look into what can be done to stop this. Feel free to drop us a note at customerfeedback@discoveryparks.com.au if you want to discuss it further.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013 via mobile

Booked in for one night... Ended up staying a second..
We found staff to be extremely friendly & helpful. They didn't have any grassy powered sites for our tent so we were upgraded to an ensuite site!
Yes it's dusty & not the most picturesque park but you get over it...
Ensuites were spotless, good showers & a nice little pool area. Camped close to permanent residents & didn't have any issues. We found everyone to be very friendly. Will be back in a few weeks when passing through!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank CMorrow29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DiscoveryHolidayPark, Manager at Discovery Parks - Mount Isa, responded to this review, 12 September 2013
Hi CMorrow29, thanks for your review! Looking forward to welcoming you to the park again in a few weeks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
78 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2013

This park was busy, and close to full for each of the four nights we stayed there. The caravan sites were of an adequate size that we weren't all crowded in on top of each other, although as always a little more space would always be appreciated. We had no issues with the permanents, as they have their own secluded corner of the park. The amenities were clean and close to where we parked our van. Another set were located at the other end of the park, as was the camp kitchen and sullage dump point. I found the staff to be helpful, assisting us with a few particular enquiries we had. Also on site were a number of cabins for those without their own accommodation and a pool. I would quite happily stay here again when in Mt Isa.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RamblingTales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DiscoveryHolidayPark, Manager at Discovery Parks - Mount Isa, responded to this review, 30 June 2013
Hi, Thanks for your feedback. We're glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
90 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2013

Although the park is located on the main road into town from Winton you don't hear any heavy transport noise. The park is only a couple of minutes from town, has good sized sites and reasonable amenities. The staff are friendly and helpful

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clareville251
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DiscoveryHolidayPark, Manager at Discovery Parks - Mount Isa, responded to this review, 27 June 2013
Hi, Thanks for your post, we're glad you enjoyed your stay and appreciate your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
79 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2013 via mobile

Easy to comment on this place, just don't come here! Out of over 80 caravan parks since we've been touring Australia it is by far THE WORST! Permant residents are more than noisey. Talking very loudly, laughing and shouting until 2:30am. Reviving cars and driving in at midnight with music blaring. It was utterly dreadful and the management should be ashamed of themselves for allowing it to continue. Mount Isa is an awful place anyway and my advice is drive straight through, pick up groceries if you have to but do not under any circumstances stay here. At $35 we were robbed!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Jay1902
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DiscoveryHolidayPark, Manager at Discovery Parks - Mount Isa, responded to this review, 12 June 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a post. We value all feedback received from our guests and you can be assured that we will be following up on your comments with our team. Please feel free to contact us direct on customerfeedback@discoveryparks.com.au should you wish to discuss your comments further.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mount Isa hotels
1.3 mi away
Ibis Styles Mt Isa Verona
Ibis Styles Mt Isa Verona
#4 of 13 in Mount Isa
3.5 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
1.2 mi away
Burke & Wills
Burke & Wills
#6 of 13 in Mount Isa
3.5 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
1.8 mi away
Discovery Parks - Argylla
Discovery Parks - Argylla
#1 of 9 in Mount Isa
3.5 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Moondarra Caravan Park Mount Isa
1.2 mi away
Central Point Motel
Central Point Motel
#10 of 13 in Mount Isa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
1.8 mi away
Leichhardt Accommodation
Leichhardt Accommodation
#3 of 13 in Mount Isa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Discovery Parks - Mount Isa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Discovery Parks - Mount Isa

Property: Discovery Parks - Mount Isa
Address: 185-189 Little West Street, Mount Isa, Queensland 4825, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Mount Isa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Speciality Lodging in Mount Isa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Discovery Parks - Mount Isa 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This may be the Outback, but you'll still have a river view. Set by the banks of the beautiful Leichhardt River, our holiday park Discovery Parks - Mount Isa is an excellent base to explore. If you've never experienced rodeo, you've come to the right place - Mount Isa is renowned as the Rodeo Capital of Australia and their annual event is fast and furious fun. For a well-rounded taste of this rugged mining country, head to Outback at Isa, don a headlamp and descend into a purpose-built mine, then visit the fascinating Riversleigh Fossil Centre. Kids will love Queensland's largest all abilities playground, Mount Isa Family Fun Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Discovery Parks - Mount Isa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing