We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“1 Night Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Discovery Parks - Mount Isa
Reviewed 12 May 2014

We booked an ensuite powered caravan site, we were greeted by a friendly lady at reception who provided a map of the park and the best entrance to our site. We had stayed here about 3 years ago before it became a Discovery park. Our site was ok with concrete slabs for the van and awnings, site was short for our van(18ft) with draw bar sticking out onto the drive way, other vans had same issue and plastic bins seemed to be the fix/marker. The ensuite was clean and had good water pressure and hot. Not much shade and little grass, there is an area of grass for camping.
Having 2 Discovery parks in Mt Isa is confusing when looking up information on the internet.
All parks in Mt Isa appear to have many permanent residents / sites.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bruce P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DiscoveryHolidayPark, Manager at Discovery Parks - Mount Isa, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2014

Hi Bruce, thanks for your review and sharing your tips. Cheers.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (72)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

63 - 69 of 72 reviews

Reviewed 12 May 2014

Hello, I recently witnessed staff abusing a elderly couple who had packed there van and were ready to leave, for siting in the camp kitchen having a cup of tea before there trip, only 10min after check out time. The staff members swore and demanded they left immediately. Please don't support this business there Costumer service skills are horrific.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank magenta1_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DiscoveryHolidayPark, Manager at Discovery Parks - Mount Isa, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2014

Hi magenta1_12, I am sorry to hear about this. Please contact us direct on customerfeedback@discoveryparks.com.au so we can properly address the issue.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2013

Stayed in a cabin out front, it was comfortable but could have been cleaner. The fridge had what look like old milk spilled in the bottom drawer and rubbish was left under the beds. Staff friendly and very accomodating as we were pulling a boat, so found room to park it. Reasonably priced cabins, there was a deal on. Nice gardens and pool. Might stay again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PenC2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DiscoveryHolidayPark, Manager at Discovery Parks - Mount Isa, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2014

Hi PenC2013, thanks for your review and valuable feedback. We hope to see you again on future travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2013

Its basic and they offer option of eating in their dining room. Save your money and stay well, eat at a takeaway or cook. Service is basic and forget complaining to Manager he will tell you your the fist ever complaint. Do not stay at Discovery holiday park in Mt Isa is the best advice i can give.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank straightline1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2013 via mobile

We should have looked at more parks n not taking the 1st park on my GPS, the best thing in the park was the POOL, I damaged my van trying to put a 26 foot van in a 20 foot site. The staff were friendly enough , we did have great neighbors which was fantastic..

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 777DUKE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DiscoveryHolidayPark, Manager at Discovery Parks - Mount Isa, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2013

Hi 777DUKE, thanks for your post. We appreciate your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2013

We called to book here a few hours before we arrived and the staff were lovely and fantastic to deal with. Everything is very clean and tidy.
Pool was nice and refreshing. We did our washing and had it stolen off the clothes line in the night. Don't hang any brand name items out.

Except for bad luck with the clothes it was. Good place to stay :)

Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Amelia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DiscoveryHolidayPark, Manager at Discovery Parks - Mount Isa, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2013

Hi Amelia S, thanks for your review. Glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us but very sorry to hear about your unfortunate incident. We'll be sure to look into what can be done to stop this. Feel free to drop us a note at customerfeedback@discoveryparks.com.au if you want to discuss it further.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013 via mobile

Booked in for one night... Ended up staying a second..
We found staff to be extremely friendly & helpful. They didn't have any grassy powered sites for our tent so we were upgraded to an ensuite site!
Yes it's dusty & not the most picturesque park but you get over it...
Ensuites were spotless, good showers & a nice little pool area. Camped close to permanent residents & didn't have any issues. We found everyone to be very friendly. Will be back in a few weeks when passing through!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank CMorrow29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DiscoveryHolidayPark, Manager at Discovery Parks - Mount Isa, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2013

Hi CMorrow29, thanks for your review! Looking forward to welcoming you to the park again in a few weeks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mount Isa hotels
1.8 mi away
Discovery Parks - Argylla
Discovery Parks - Argylla
#1 of 9 in Mount Isa
113 reviews
1.7 mi away
Moondarra Caravan Park Mount Isa
1.4 mi away
Copper City Motel
Copper City Motel
#1 of 13 in Mount Isa
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Copper Gate Motel
Copper Gate Motel
#1 of 7 in Mount Isa
41 reviews
1.2 mi away
Central Point Motel
Central Point Motel
#12 of 13 in Mount Isa
53 reviews
1.8 mi away
Fourth Ave Motor Inn
Fourth Ave Motor Inn
#3 of 13 in Mount Isa
35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Discovery Parks - Mount Isa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Discovery Parks - Mount Isa

Address: 185-189 Little West Street, Mount Isa, Queensland 4825, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Mount Isa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Speciality Lodging in Mount Isa
Price Range: £55 - £60 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Discovery Parks - Mount Isa 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This may be the Outback, but you'll still have a river view. Set by the banks of the beautiful Leichhardt River, our holiday park Discovery Parks - Mount Isa is an excellent base to explore. If you've never experienced rodeo, you've come to the right place - Mount Isa is renowned as the Rodeo Capital of Australia and their annual event is fast and furious fun. For a well-rounded taste of this rugged mining country, head to Outback at Isa, don a headlamp and descend into a purpose-built mine, then visit the fascinating Riversleigh Fossil Centre. Kids will love Queensland's largest all abilities playground, Mount Isa Family Fun Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Discovery Parks - Mount Isa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing