We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Business Junket!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Discovery Parks - Mount Isa

Discovery Parks -  Mount Isa
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Discovery Parks - Mount Isa
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Business Junket!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2014 via mobile

My husband had to go to Mount Isa for work so we decided to tow our van out and spend the week at a van park because we love being in our van! I checked out the parks on Trip Advisor and decided to go with this one because of it's location and ensuite sites only $35 per night. We were scheduled to arrive when the office was closed so I called ahead and the lady was very nice and arranged for the key to be left in the ensuite. How ever we actually arrived before she closed, we asked if we could move closer to the camp kitchen and she said yes no problem. Ensuite was very clean no power point which was a bit annoying. The park was neat and tidy, very quiet both day and night. Good location close to town $10 cab ride to and from most resturants. Groundsman seemed friendly but not intrusive. Camp kitchen has everything you need. Would recommend and stay here again.

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Luckylee22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DiscoveryHolidayPark, Manager at Discovery Parks - Mount Isa, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Thanks for your review! We look forward to welcoming you back on future travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    22
    8
    0
    6
See reviews for
8
28
1
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Darwin, Australia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

Staff were friendly enough, stayed here overnight in the camping area. Camp kitchen was good,the toilets and showers were clean, understand it is dry in this part of the country however in a camping area where you put a tent up, to have Bindi-eyes (Soliva pterosperma) in this area is unforgivable. Did not stay here on return journey because of that reason, disappointing.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank E47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DiscoveryHolidayPark, Manager at Discovery Parks - Mount Isa, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Hi, thanks for taking the time to review your stay - we appreciate your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geelong
Level Contributor
128 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014

We booked an ensuite powered caravan site, we were greeted by a friendly lady at reception who provided a map of the park and the best entrance to our site. We had stayed here about 3 years ago before it became a Discovery park. Our site was ok with concrete slabs for the van and awnings, site was short for our van(18ft) with draw bar sticking out onto the drive way, other vans had same issue and plastic bins seemed to be the fix/marker. The ensuite was clean and had good water pressure and hot. Not much shade and little grass, there is an area of grass for camping.
Having 2 Discovery parks in Mt Isa is confusing when looking up information on the internet.
All parks in Mt Isa appear to have many permanent residents / sites.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bruce P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DiscoveryHolidayPark, Manager at Discovery Parks - Mount Isa, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Hi Bruce, thanks for your review and sharing your tips. Cheers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014

Hello, I recently witnessed staff abusing a elderly couple who had packed there van and were ready to leave, for siting in the camp kitchen having a cup of tea before there trip, only 10min after check out time. The staff members swore and demanded they left immediately. Please don't support this business there Costumer service skills are horrific.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank magenta1_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DiscoveryHolidayPark, Manager at Discovery Parks - Mount Isa, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Hi magenta1_12, I am sorry to hear about this. Please contact us direct on customerfeedback@discoveryparks.com.au so we can properly address the issue.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darwin, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2013

Stayed in a cabin out front, it was comfortable but could have been cleaner. The fridge had what look like old milk spilled in the bottom drawer and rubbish was left under the beds. Staff friendly and very accomodating as we were pulling a boat, so found room to park it. Reasonably priced cabins, there was a deal on. Nice gardens and pool. Might stay again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PenC2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DiscoveryHolidayPark, Manager at Discovery Parks - Mount Isa, responded to this review, 5 January 2014
Hi PenC2013, thanks for your review and valuable feedback. We hope to see you again on future travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairns Region, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2013

Its basic and they offer option of eating in their dining room. Save your money and stay well, eat at a takeaway or cook. Service is basic and forget complaining to Manager he will tell you your the fist ever complaint. Do not stay at Discovery holiday park in Mt Isa is the best advice i can give.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank straightline1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2013 via mobile

We should have looked at more parks n not taking the 1st park on my GPS, the best thing in the park was the POOL, I damaged my van trying to put a 26 foot van in a 20 foot site. The staff were friendly enough , we did have great neighbors which was fantastic..

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 777DUKE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DiscoveryHolidayPark, Manager at Discovery Parks - Mount Isa, responded to this review, 23 September 2013
Hi 777DUKE, thanks for your post. We appreciate your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mount Isa hotels
1.3 mi away
Ibis Styles Mt Isa Verona
Ibis Styles Mt Isa Verona
#4 of 13 in Mount Isa
3.5 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
1.3 mi away
RedEarth Hotel
RedEarth Hotel
#5 of 13 in Mount Isa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
1.2 mi away
Burke & Wills
Burke & Wills
#6 of 13 in Mount Isa
3.5 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Moondarra Caravan Park Mount Isa
1.8 mi away
Discovery Parks - Argylla
Discovery Parks - Argylla
#1 of 9 in Mount Isa
3.5 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
1.9 mi away
Leichhardt Accommodation
Leichhardt Accommodation
#3 of 13 in Mount Isa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Discovery Parks - Mount Isa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Discovery Parks - Mount Isa

Property: Discovery Parks - Mount Isa
Address: 185-189 Little West Street, Mount Isa, Queensland 4825, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Mount Isa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Speciality Lodging in Mount Isa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Discovery Parks - Mount Isa 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This may be the Outback, but you'll still have a river view. Set by the banks of the beautiful Leichhardt River, our holiday park Discovery Parks - Mount Isa is an excellent base to explore. If you've never experienced Rodeo, you've come to the right place - Mount Isa is renowned as the Rodeo Capital of Australia and their annual event is fast and furious fun. For a well-rounded taste of this rugged mining country, head to Outback at Isa, don a headlamp and descend into a purpose-built mine, then visit the fascinating Riversleigh Fossil Centre. Kids will love Queensland's largest all abilities playground, Mount Isa Family Fun Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Discovery Parks - Mount Isa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing