We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You will find a reason to come back”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Toowoomba
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Beccles on Margaret B&B
Ranked #2 of 18 Toowoomba B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
“You will find a reason to come back”
Reviewed 19 August 2014

I stay at Beccles regularly when travelling for work purposes. Jeanette is always so welcoming, it's like being greeted by an old friend. The rooms are exceptional, with great attention to detail, the breakfasts are restaurant quality and as soon as you walk through the front door, greeted by Maddie and Kingsley, you will find a reason to book your return trip, staying at Beccles.

Room Tip: Any and all of the rooms are beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janette A, Owner at Beccles on Margaret B&B, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Thank you for your kind words Lisa, it is always a pleasure to welcome you back to Beccles.
Looking forward to Elle and your mother coming for their visit with you.
Best wishes
Janette
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    125
    4
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
25
66
6
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 August 2014

A group of us stayed for a weekend and could not have asked for more. Exceptionally clean and comfortable beds/rooms, welcoming reception by Jeanette and phenomenal 5 star breakfasts - this is a must.

Room Tip: All rooms were excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 777Favourite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janette A, Owner at Beccles on Margaret B&B, responded to this review, 17 August 2014
It was a pleasure to have you all stay, you kept the place buzzing. I hope I see you all next year for the volleyball championships.
Regards Janette
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunshine Coast, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 August 2014

We stayed there with the whole family and we could not fault the experience.
Our hosts were very accommodating and the little extras were very well done.
I highly recommend this experience.
Ken & Nina

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ken B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janette A, Owner at Beccles on Margaret B&B, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Thank you Nina & Ken, it was lovely to have you all stay including your Mum & Dad. I am sure you are proud of your beautiful daughters. What a pleasure to have around. I hope I see you all on your next visit to Toowoomba.
Regards Janette
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Batemans Bay, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

We are on the road for business frequently and always like to find something with a touch of home rather than larger establishments. Beccles and Janette ticked all the boxes for us. We also loved Maggie and Kingsley's company. The breakfasts are very large and Janette prepares everything with a smile. Nothing was ever a problem. Thank you for your hospitality. Congratulations on what you have created. Also noted you are now number 1 on trip advisor. A well deserved position. Regards Alison, Alan and James.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alison M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janette A, Owner at Beccles on Margaret B&B, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Thank you for the great review Alison, it was a pleasure to have you all stay. I hope the trip from Batemans Bay was worth it - its a long way to come. I hope one day to visit your 'Batemans Bay Boutique Accommodation', it looks beautiful on the website. It must be great to live so close to the water. Hope I see you up this way again for the next expo.
Regards Janette
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane Australia
Level Contributor
86 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014

The is a luxurious B&B close to the centre of Toowoomba. The breakfasts are really good and the beds comfortable. Our room had a large ensuite with large claw bath as well as a large sower and double basins. The living area had plenty of books and DVDs incase you are there a while. Shame we didn't have time to stay longer and make use of all the facilities.

Room Tip: I think all rooms would be very satisfactory.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ferrri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janette A, Owner at Beccles on Margaret B&B, responded to this review, 3 August 2014
Thank you for your kind review. It is always a pleasure to have nice people staying. I hope you will be visiting Beccles again in the near future.
Janette
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

All I can say is, you haven't lived until you have stayed at Beccles. Everybody should stay at Beccles at least once in a lifetime. Janette is the best hostess in the world, will prepare you the tastiest breakfast you have ever had and serve it up with silver and crystal while you enjoy it in a stunningly and tastefully decorated dining room in the comfort of her exquisite and spotless home. She has created an ambience of warmth and luxury and engages in interesting conversations without ever being over intrusive. She anticipates your every need and there was an absolute genuiness and grace in the entire Beccles experience.

I have stayed at places that charged more than twice as much and delivered less than half as much. You have a magic formula Janette. Thank you for an extraordinary stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emily255068
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janette A, Owner at Beccles on Margaret B&B, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Emily, you were an absolute pleasure to have stay. I hope I have the pleasure of your company on further business trips.
Regards
Janette
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

My husband & I stayed at Beccles for 1 night at the end of June for a bit of R&R and to visit Toowoomba as I hadn't been before. I chose this B&B due to the wonderful reviews it has recieved and we weren't disapointed! You can't beat the warm welcome by Janet and her two very well behaved dogs to the beautifully appointed large Queen Room with adjoining balcony. The attention to detail of furnishings, cleanliness and the small touches of chocolates/coffee/wine in our room is a tribute to Janet's fine style. We had a delicious private breakfast in the morning on our balcony and couldn't fault the service/food/decor. Absolutely perfect, thanks so much!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BrisbaneDan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janette A, Owner at Beccles on Margaret B&B, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Thank you so much for your kind review, it gives me pleasure to look after delightful people like yourselves. Hope to see you again at Beccles.
Regards Janette
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Toowoomba hotels
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Grammar View
Comfort Inn Grammar View
#9 of 43 in Toowoomba
4.0 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
1.2 mi away
Burke and Wills Hotel
Burke and Wills Hotel
#7 of 43 in Toowoomba
4.0 of 5 bubbles 273 reviews
1.6 mi away
Vacy Hall Toowoomba's Grand Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Quest Toowoomba
Quest Toowoomba
#1 of 20 in Toowoomba
4.5 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
1.6 mi away
Potters Boutique Hotel Toowoomba
1.8 mi away
Highlander Motor Inn
Highlander Motor Inn
#1 of 43 in Toowoomba
4.5 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beccles on Margaret B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beccles on Margaret B&B

Property: Beccles on Margaret B&B
Address: 25 Margaret St | (Cnr. Connell Street), Toowoomba, Queensland 4350, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Toowoomba
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Toowoomba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"From the host...""Luxury Accommodation at Altitude"Beccles on Margaret B&B is a fully and lovingly restored 1938 "Custom" Queensland Bungalow, located in Heritage Conservation Precinct at east end of Margaret Street, or Eat Street as it is affectionately referred to by us "locals" because of the many restaurants located in the street. Three minute walk to Private Schools and St Vincents Hospital. A leisurely 15 minute walk down Margaret Street will find you in the CBD; you may wish to take a short break along the way to enjoy a coffee in one of the heritage restaurants and /or browse through one of the many antique shops in our beautiful Garden City. Voted "Best in Golden West" by Sunday Mail - Escape, feature writer, Alison Cotes "52 Weekends Away". Rated 4.5 Stars by AAA Tourism. Peaceful, leafy setting near top of Great Dividing Range (700 metres ASL). The perfect romantic getaway or stopover for the business traveller. Off-street covered parking, sensational breakfast included in tariff, private guest entrance. Your home away from home. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing