We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“OK”
Review of Downs Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Downs Motel
Ranked #14 of 43 Hotels in Toowoomba
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
279 reviews
105 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 190 helpful votes
“OK”
Reviewed 28 April 2013

Only stayed 1 night on our way to Maryborough, room adequate but not for long stays. $103 too dear for what we got, no special points. Nice lady at check-in & check-in was easy. Pub & restaurants in easy walking distance.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank buffie46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    32
    33
    13
    0
    0
See reviews for
15
28
5
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2013

Great little motel, have stayed here a few times. if you are looking for somewhere to stay thats clean and tidy and wont cost a fortune and still has great service, this is the place, plus its very close to everything. the people who run the place are friendly, courteous and just plain nice.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nothappy j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairns
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2012

I stayed three nights at the Downs Motel. I found it be a convenient location and Petula, the manager, was very friendly and helpful. The rooms were clean, neat and very quiet and the breakfasts good value and tasty. No negatives at all and I would certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janet D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2012

On your arrival you are greeted by 2 of the most friendliest hosts you will ever come across. They even invited us to join them for a drink at the end of the day. Nothing was too much trouble, they were quite accommodating for us. The rooms were fantastic and cleaned on a daily basis. Within walking distance of food outlets, pub, and a short stroll from the Toowoomba City Golf Club. Definite winner if you're looking for a place to stay whilst in Toowoomba. Located on Ruthven St, easy access in & out of the motel.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Adele S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2012

Arranging an after-midnight arrival at a small motel isn't always this easy. And don't we seasoned travellers appreciate it when it is!

Petula's warm & gracious attitude is what makes The Downs the little gem it is.

This is a small, modestly priced family run motel tucked away in a shopping centre & easy to miss in a sea of other motels along Ruthven Street - and it punches waaay above it's weight.

The rooms are of a basic layout and immaculately clean. Little touches like fresh milk and a generous space for computer, cases etc., make up for the slight inconvenience of not having a vanity or bench in the bathroom. As does the very good shower. You'll know what I mean if you've been subjected to those "water saving" showers dispensing 2litres of water an hour through 3 shower-rose holes !

My two night stay began at the end of a very long day, which included a flight from Sydney & a drive from Brisbane in torrential rain, for a family funeral the next day. Breakfast arrived on time and was both delicious and enough for two people. I ate the lot though, reading the paper Petula had thought I might like and had raced back through the rain to bring for me.

It felt like staying with a friend, or one of the family. Over the next two days, Petula gave numerous local directions, short cuts and road advice for my onward journey. I'm sure if I'd asked for an umbrella, she'd have given me hers. Don't get me wrong - this isn't one of those dreadful places where the hosts are intrusive or overly cossetting.

Just a little motel run very professionally by a couple of people who like what they're doing and do it well with a generosity of spirit that ensures "first timers" like me will join the regular patrons at "The Downs".

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bokhara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunshine Coast
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2011

We stayed here for one night and it was great value for money. We checked in at 8.30pm and the lovely hostess was ready and waiting for us. She was so helpful, telling us about local restaurants and shops. The breakfast was yummy and the furniture was modern and clean. Digital tv in room and heater/air con. Not fancy, but basic value for money budget accommodation with excellent service. Thanks Petula :)

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PC_SunshineCoast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hobart
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2011

I'd never stayed in a Shopping Centre before I stayed here, had to take a second look driving in but yep, it's in the middle of the shopping centre. A nice little place, the hosts greeted us as we walked into the reception introduced herself and offered both myself and my girlfriend a complimentary cold drink from the fridge and we had a chat to her for a while about our travels.

The room was neat, clean, tidy and quiet with everything we needed, there's plates, bowels and cutlery available from reception if needed.

Although parking is limited ( 20 rooms and 17 spaces ) it was suggested we park our trailer in the undercover parking away from prying eyes and park the car out in the carpark for the shopping centre. It is safe out there the host parks her car there every night and it's right under her bedroom window.

Would Recommend this place to anyone who needs a bed in Toowoomba.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HobartBoothy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Toowoomba hotels
0.6 mi away
Burke and Wills Hotel
Burke and Wills Hotel
#7 of 43 in Toowoomba
4.0 of 5 bubbles 273 reviews
0.6 mi away
Highlander Motor Inn
Highlander Motor Inn
#1 of 43 in Toowoomba
4.5 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ruthven Street Motor Inn
Ruthven Street Motor Inn
#4 of 43 in Toowoomba
4.5 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
City Motor Inn Toowoomba
City Motor Inn Toowoomba
#17 of 43 in Toowoomba
4.0 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
0.1 mi away
Leichhardt Motor Inn
Leichhardt Motor Inn
#16 of 43 in Toowoomba
4.0 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
0.7 mi away
City Golf Club Motel
City Golf Club Motel
#2 of 43 in Toowoomba
4.5 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Downs Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Downs Motel

Property: Downs Motel
Address: 669 Ruthven St, Toowoomba, Queensland 4350, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Toowoomba
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 43 Hotels in Toowoomba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Downs Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Downs Motel offers a level of comfort and style for guests in search of quality accommodation and friendly attentive service. Featuring 23 modern and traditional style motel rooms offering single, double and triple bedding options, the Downs Motel is proud to be affiliated with the Healthy Hotels programme so you are sure to experience a clean, comfortable and peaceful stay with us. All rooms feature 32" Digital flat screen TV with a range of Foxtel channels including 3 sport and 3 movie channels, All rooms have ensuite bathroom, fridge, microwave, toaster, kettle, tea/coffee, reverse cycle air-conditioning & have FREE wi-fi internet access. Downs Motel is conveniently located in the CBD and is one block to the City centre. 250m walk to Restaurants, cafes and shopping centres. Walk to the City Golf Club, and Toowoomba Base Hospital or only a short drive to the main sporting grounds and fields, University of Southern Queensland, the Empire Theatre, Function Centre and much more. For your added convenience, there is ample off street parking & guest laundry available. Why not take advantage of our in-room dining service for breakfast and dinner and choose from our delicious range of hearty home cooked meals. Lunch packages are also available on request. Office hours are 7:30am – 7:30pm however a 24 hour check in service is available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Downs Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing