We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sleeping Life Raft”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Leichhardt Motor Inn
Ranked #16 of 43 Hotels in Toowoomba
Certificate of Excellence
Canmore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Sleeping Life Raft”
Reviewed 15 May 2013

Under normal circumstances you would never sleep in a life raft, however, if you find yourself on a sinking ship this might be your only option. It's much the same with the Leichhardt Motor Inn, if everything in town is fully booked and you are visiting on business the Leichhardt might be your only raft. Much like a raft the Leichhardt is old, poorly kept and is greatly showing it's age.The rooms are infested with cockroaches, and are considerably uncomfortable. I would expect, and be happy with this level of comfort if I were in Moomba, or in a run down drilling camp in PNG.

It's time someone took out a major loan and invested in modern upgrades. This motel represents the low end of the budget pecking order.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tony M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    33
    34
    9
    2
    4
See reviews for
13
27
6
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2013

I would thoroughly recommend this small motel on the outskirts of central Toowoomba. The rooms are not huge but very clean and have everything you need for a short stay. There is a microwave, hair dryer, fridge and electric jug, and the beds are very comfortable. I was pleasantly surprised at how insulated the rooms were from noise - didn't hear any of the traffic or any noise from adjacent rooms. The owners are very helpful and breakfast was freshly cooked, piping hot and very nice.

The location was picked as it was within walking distance of a restaurant at which a party we were going to was being held.

I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leanne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ormeau, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
251 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2013

This is a wonderful hotel in Toowooba, very clean and comfy. Nothing was too much trouble. We didnt hear any noise from traffic or other guests. Plenty of parking. Recommend if you need a hotel in the Toowoomba area.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vicki_kilroy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level 6 Contributor
228 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2013

A large group of us stayed here over Easter. The motel was clean, the rooms were neat, bbq and pool area lovely. The management were wonderful, they were friendly and helpful (they even cooked dinner for about 60 of us one night!). Slight problems with the cleaning (rubbish bins weren't emptied, towels not changed), but this was quickly rectified. I would highly recommend this motel - a central location, pleasant owners and staff, and nice rooms.

Room Tip: Rooms on the south side are all at ground level and very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jack B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surfers Paradise, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 March 2013

In town for a family wedding. Checked in early so we could get ready, management and staff friendly it was no





In town for a family wedding. Friendly management let us check in early so we could get ready.
They were also very helpful providing us with a map and directions to get to our wedding location.
It's a nice quiet place think it must be all double brick so we got a great nights sleep on return from the reception. Bed looked brand new and had a pillow top excellent! Great value for money.

Room Tip: We had a room on the pool side
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chad E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toowoomba, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 March 2013

Stayed overnight as i was looking for a quiet place to study. Was clean, tidy and modern with very minimal noise. staff were friendly and helpful. has a very nice pool area with a brand new barbeque which i used to cook. checking in was quick and hassle free. Management were fine with letting me checkout late so i could sleep in as i was up studying until late.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ryan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2013

Disgustingly filthy rooms, very rude and unfriendly management...horrible room service,not serviced or cleaned properly, old beds smelly rooms, no question the worst experience and worst hotel in town. Avoid at all cost...people like this should not be in this line of work if they don't actually like running a hotel or have no people skills. Definitely Needs new management

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Freqtraveler7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Toowoomba hotels
1.3 mi away
MAS Country Platinum International
1.6 mi away
Best Western Tuscany On Tor Motor Inn
1.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Grammar View
Comfort Inn Grammar View
#8 of 43 in Toowoomba
176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Highlander Motor Inn
Highlander Motor Inn
#1 of 43 in Toowoomba
220 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ruthven Street Motor Inn
Ruthven Street Motor Inn
#4 of 43 in Toowoomba
100 reviews
0.7 mi away
City Motor Inn Toowoomba
City Motor Inn Toowoomba
#17 of 43 in Toowoomba
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Leichhardt Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leichhardt Motor Inn

Property: Leichhardt Motor Inn
Address: 682 Ruthven St, Toowoomba, Queensland 4350, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Toowoomba
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 43 Hotels in Toowoomba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Leichhardt Motor Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Leichhardt Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing