We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“inconsistent service”

The Shamrock Hotel Motel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Shamrock Hotel Motel
Ranked #40 of 43 Hotels in Toowoomba
Roma, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“inconsistent service”
Reviewed 21 February 2014

Stayed here last night, for the second time this month, the room was ok for the money paid, but was disappointed with the restaurant, had a great meal and experience last week, but this time not only was the meal below average, but it seems the so called 5 star chef was back. the only 5 star thing about him was his attitude towards his poor team and the customers. His language was atrocious as was his attitude towards the diners.
Overall, I recommend the motel, but while he is the chef, I would recommend take out.

Harassed and annoyed Customer

Room Tip: ask for a room away from the main hotel, to limit noise exposure
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jenny G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2
    7
    6
    4
    8
See reviews for
6
12
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Toowoomba, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2014

A little less expensive than most. Central to town, Don't do it! End of the day a few bucks extra will get you one heck of a better place to sleep. Carpets are filthy. Changed rooms 3 times. Second key not available for twin room. If the Shamrock insists via website that I complete 282 charectors so be it. This motel sucks!

Room Tip: My tip is - don't book to stay at this venue.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank robyn s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Toowoomba hotels

Queensland
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2013

We stayed here during the Carnival of Flowers, a gorgeous time to be in Toowoomba. The location of this hotel is perfect, a 15 minute walk to Queens Park, the main venue area of the Carnival, and 30 second walk to where the parade was held. But being attached to the hotel meant it was SO noisy - terribly bad karaoke still going at 2.30am was not good. The layout of the rooms meant our bed was practically up against the wall of next doors bathroom, and we heard much more than we needed to. The staff were great, efficient and friendly, the rooms, while old, were clean, bed was comfortable - it was just the noise level that let the hotel down terribly. Take earplugs!!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Poopsiethecow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surfers Paradise, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 September 2013

This Hotel has the best staff ever. It has new management and they have really cleaned it up.
The cleaners are so friendly and nothing is a problem. The whole vibe of the place is friendly and safe. Food was fantastic and even though a lot of the bar staff are new they made sure everyone was looked after. Great place we will be back.

Room Tip: the rooms are being renovated but are at the back of the hotel so nice quiet location behind the pub
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 604Ruth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2013

Really great place for a for a wonderfully cooked meal - the atmosphere was great - the lighting was great - there is a play area inside for children - the staff were very friendly and very helpful to strangers to the area.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ILUBali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2013

There is a actively running brothel in the motel complex. The rooms are disgusting,. bare wires hidden behind the beds, they removed the wires to run the green mold incrusted spa they say they have but dont tell you they have a 5 year restriction on the use of spas.
A table of 6 of us waited over a hour for 6 basic meals, two of the meals were salads.
A total of 4 meals were returned unedible. Two of them the salads. A refund was given for meals. Prostitutes were bringing home to the units up to six clients a night, after midnight.
Apart from the POLICE i would,nt recommend the shamrock hotel 604 Ruthven st. toowoomba to anyone.

Room Tip: bring a condom
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank dave p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toowoomba, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2011

Friends came from Townsville and Brisbane and stayed one night! No complaints! We had dinner there which was very good Pub food! so much so my partner and I went back a second time and were not disappointed!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lilibet10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Toowoomba hotels
0.2 mi away
Burke and Wills Hotel
Burke and Wills Hotel
#7 of 43 in Toowoomba
274 reviews
0.7 mi away
Country Gardens Motor Inn
Country Gardens Motor Inn
#10 of 43 in Toowoomba
48 reviews
0.4 mi away
Downs Motel
Downs Motel
#14 of 43 in Toowoomba
82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Leichhardt Motor Inn
Leichhardt Motor Inn
#16 of 43 in Toowoomba
82 reviews
0.8 mi away
City Motor Inn Toowoomba
City Motor Inn Toowoomba
#17 of 43 in Toowoomba
173 reviews
0.2 mi away
Toowoomba Central Plaza Apartment Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Shamrock Hotel Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Shamrock Hotel Motel

Property: The Shamrock Hotel Motel
Address: 604 Ruthven St, Toowoomba, Queensland 4350, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Toowoomba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 43 Hotels in Toowoomba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Shamrock Hotel Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline and Cancelon so you can book your The Shamrock Hotel Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing