We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friends overnighter”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Highlander Motor Inn
Ranked #1 of 43 Hotels in Toowoomba
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 2 February 2014

This weekend four of us travelled to Toowoomba for the swap meet and I used
Trivago to find a room. We were all very very happy with our room at the highlander, which was a family unit with two single beds In one room, and a separate master room with a queen size. the unit was super clean and very well set out, everything we needed was available. the beds were really comfortable and the rooms quiet and dark for sleeping. Staff were welcoming and friendly. Good situation on one of the main roads. would recommend to a family or group of friends travelling through and we will stay again.

Room Tip: Our unit was ground floor but many are on the second floor. if you have difficulty with steps ask f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Adrienne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
highlanderminn, Manager at Highlander Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2014

Thank you "Friends overnighter" for the lovely review, we appreciate your feedback and sharing your experience with other trip advisor users. Staff and management strive to make sure every stay at the Highlander excels guests expectations, especially our cleaning team. Hope you found some bargains at the Swap meet too. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Highlander if ever you are in Toowoomba again. Once again thank you for taking time out of your busy day to review us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (227)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

172 - 178 of 227 reviews

Reviewed 21 January 2014

Had a great stay here in a modern, well maintained and comfortable room. The location is easy walking to the main centre of Toowoomba and is a central point for most attractions. The staff here were friendly and provided a apleasant atmosphere all round.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
highlanderminn, Manager at Highlander Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2014

Thank you so much Tim C for taking the time to comment on Trip Advisor regarding your recent visit with us. We are happy to share we recently received 99 points out of a possible 100 for cleanliness from our recent AAA Tourism inspection, and our staff are always striving to excel in all areas everyday. Thank you again, and hope to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2014

I've been traveling to Toowoomba for work for nearly 6 years, and have never even looked at any other places to stay. Why would I when the Highlander has everything I need, and alway good service. Location is good and ease of entering/exiting.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KennethBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
highlanderminn, Manager at Highlander Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2014

Wow 6 years! Thank you so much for taking the time to tell other travelers that our property delivers consistently great service to our guests. We really appreciate your repeat business and look forward to welcoming you again in 2014.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2014

well placed for the city. well maintained. very clean linen and tea and coffee supplied. towels for the pool supplied. will stay there again. booking was made easy over the phone with confirmation e mails. staff in reception were pleasant and helpful.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mazgiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
highlanderminn, Manager at Highlander Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2014

We really appreciate the great review that you have written about the Highlander "mazgiles." It's always reassuring when the high standards we aspire to are mirrored in our guests experiences.

Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2013

I continue to enjoy the Highlander Motor Inn at Toowoomba. Most of my trips have been for business related reasons and the location close to town and the Toowoomba Base Hospital works well for me as I am in the health sector. The staff are always friendly, the rooms are simple and clean, and the location is great. Free wifi lets me Skype home and get through a pile of work at the Highlander. I enjoy morning walks into town, around the many local gardens and parks, and their are plenty of eating options. Once upon a time the Motor Inn had a restaurant called the Highland Fling but now the space is used for another non-hospitality industry. Meals are available but i tend to eat out for breakfast and dinner.
For simplicity, and economy, the Highlander Motor Inn is my number one choice in Toowoomba.

Room Tip: All rooms are good. Ensure the WiFI reaches your room if this is needed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Stanthorpe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
highlanderminn, Manager at Highlander Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2014

Hi "Stanthorpe" We appreciate you sharing with other travellers your reasons for choosing the Highlander Motor Inn when visiting Toowoomba. Yes our location with the direct access gate into the hospital grounds is a real bonus for both hospital staff as well as patients and their families wanting to stay close by and our FREE WiFi does make it easy to stay in touch when away from home. Thanks again for taking the time to write such a positive review! We look forward to welcoming you on your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2013

We came from Darwin and stayed at highlander on 18 th DecThe room was a great size lovely setup. Nice and clean as well. I would tell people to stay there... The managers was very helpful as well. The motel have lovely soft beds. The room as a spa bath in them, great to relax in after traveling on big trips...

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kerry L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
highlanderminn, Owner at Highlander Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 20 December 2013

Hi Kerry L,
Thank you for taking the time to review our motel. As always we appreciate that our customers notice the extra effort that our housekeeping staff put in. They are chuffed to see these reviews!
Regards
Brad Ferguson
Lessee

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2013

Very comfortable accommodation. Great layout of rooms, very clean and tidy. Felt very welcomed before we got there, starting with the over-the-phone booking and confirmation emails (one shortly after I had booked and one a few days before arrival). Reception was very helpful if we had any queries about anything, lovely people. The pool area is simple but nice, all you need. The Motor Inn is situated on a main highway and thought at first the traffic would be really noisy but it wasn't an issue for us. A short walk to a few shops ( fish and chips, subway, salt cave therapy, noodles, Awesome burger bar(Grill'd)). In the opposite direction a bit further of a distance (prob bout a k) is a shopping centre with your Woolies, Coles, Big W and specialty stores. Not really any restaurants in short walking distance but still a great central location. The CBD is not far. We caught a few cabs around the place and two of the days walked back to the Highlander (from Margaret St), one of the days via Laurel Bank Park. For more of an idea on how central we went to Picnic Point (Eastern side of TWMBA) and also to the showgrounds (Western side) and they each cost us roughly $16 by taxi.
Very much enjoyed our visit to Toowoomba, and our stay at the Highlander Motor Inn.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Jasmine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
highlanderminn, Owner at Highlander Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2013

Thank you, Jasmine W, for your great comments. We really appreciate that you took the time to record your experiences at the Highlander. Yes, the Relief Managers did a fantastic job with very little training on our part. It's good to know that the motel was in safe hands in our absence. We will pass on your comments to them, if they haven't already seen them

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Toowoomba hotels
0.7 mi away
MAS Country Platinum International
1.0 mi away
Best Western Tuscany On Tor Motor Inn
1.8 mi away
Comfort Inn Glenfield
Comfort Inn Glenfield
#26 of 43 in Toowoomba
73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Ambassador on Ruthven Motor Inn
1.1 mi away
City Golf Club Motel
City Golf Club Motel
#3 of 43 in Toowoomba
232 reviews
2.1 mi away
Altitude Motel Apartments
Altitude Motel Apartments
#2 of 43 in Toowoomba
78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Highlander Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Highlander Motor Inn

Address: 226-228 James St, Toowoomba, Queensland 4350, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Toowoomba
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 43 Hotels in Toowoomba
Price Range: £78 - £104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Highlander Motor Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located Motels and Apartments in Queensland's Garden City of Toowoomba. The complex offers Standard, Family and Executive Motel rooms (some with spa baths)as well as 1, 2 and 3 bedroom fully self-contained Apartments. Located a short drive to the City Centre, the University of Southern Queensland and with direct access to the Toowoomba Base Hospital. The Highlander Motor Inn is ideal for corporates, families, couples and groups. Plenty of off-street parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms and HotelQuickly so you can book your Highlander Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing