We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“friendly family run motel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Great Divide Motor Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Great Divide Motor Inn
Ranked #11 of 43 Hotels in Toowoomba
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
75 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“friendly family run motel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 December 2011

One night at the start of 2011 in a king spa room. My girlfriend went to a wedding and I'd come up to give lifts and hide away and do some fairly urgent work on my computer.

Check in/out: Lovely and warm - everything one would hope for from a family run motel. Really friendly guy.

Room: Large room, comfortable bed. Good size work space (which I needed), and the free wireless was so appreciated. Bathroom had a spa bath.

Room service: Ordered in-room dinner, was actually really great and well priced. As I'd kind of bunkered myself in for the night to do some work, it was appreciated. Unfortunately something was lost in check in dialogue and we had to pay for one of the "continental" breakfasts, which was a little disappointing. The dinner did make up for that though.

Location: Top of the range. If you're after the centre of town it may not suit as it'd be a decent walk, but having had to drive down Ruthven St on a Saturday night picking people up from the wedding (outside Toowoomba), for me that's no bad thing.

Cons: None. Obviously not a 5* Grand Hotel or resort, but that was never expected.

In summary: A top notch motel/motor inn, thoroughly recommended if you ever need to be in Toowoomba.

Room Tip: room away from the main street - we were lucky to have that, I'd imagine it would be noisy on th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank traveloctopus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    62
    47
    8
    5
    5
See reviews for
51
28
7
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
66 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2011

My partner and I stayed here when we were in town for a wedding.
Pros:
The room itself was beautifully furnished including a spa bath in the bathroom. There was a large queen bed plus a single, a huge TV which included the free full use of the owner's dvd collection which was large and varied. The bed was super comfy and the owners could not have been more helpful. Also it included free WiFi which was awesome for accessing any and all information. Easy to find and close to Picnic Point.
Cons:
A half an hour walk into central Toowoomba.
On a main highway so loads of big trucks were going past all the time - it did disturb our sleep the first night but we were ok after that but if you are a light sleeper you would probably find it frustrating.

Other than that for $99 AUS a night I would highly recommend - it was comfortable and well furnished.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gingamusings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2011

I stay here often on business because the family running the place are friendly, the service is excellant and their room service is excellant and food is great both in size and quality

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tallman288
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
100 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2011

We were attending a family gathering for 3 days and need something over a long weekend with a kitchen and 2 bedrooms.
The place was fairly easy to find on the main highway, i was a little concern being so close to the highway but our apartment was around the back and there was no traffic noise.
It is in a good location and makes it easy to navigate around Toowoomba as the main roads run near by.
The apartment/unit was nicely presented and had recently been refurbished.
The kitchen was a good size and well equipped.
The bathroom was large and serviceable but there was no bath this could be an issue for a family with small children, but this was not an issue for us.
the bedrooms were a good size and the linens clean.
The was a comfortable lounges in the sitting area with TV and DVD player but the remote was missing.
It was very cold in the area when we stayed but luckily the apartment had excellent heating via reverse cycle AC's in each room this was much appreciated.
My only complaint would be the bed was a little too firm for my comfort.
I would happily stay here again and recommend this place to anyone staying in the area.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nomes1881
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2011

This motel is located on the Warrego Highway at the top of the range (an area with a number of other motels). Driving there I was delighted at how easy it was to find because it is on the highway.

However, the downside of the location is the traffic noise, lots of heavy trucks and cars. Even with earplugs I could hear it when trying to get to sleep. Not all rooms face the highway, but alas mine did. Friends whose room was at the back of the property had no problems with noise by comparison. So if traffic noice bothers you, this place is a bit of a lucky dip.

In terms of the room itself, everything else was positive. The bed was comfortable, everything seemed clean and well-serviced, everything worked like it should.

One thing that surprised me was that there wasn't a in-room mini-bar, an expectation created because I had been asked to provide my credit card at check-in (a normal procedure) as being for incidentals like "the mini-bar". Maybe only some rooms have mini-bars? Or maybe the receptionist was new? So remember to go the bottle shop and not rely on the mysterious mini-bar.

Summary: very acceptable, so long as you can't hear the traffic.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kr_afol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QLD
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2010

Whilst the location is quite a bit of out of the main city centre, there is not much in the city centre to peruse at night! Close to Picnic point and sitting ontop of the range, There is a nice restaurant close by ( Wies), mini bar, new tv, nice beds, new furnishings and clean and quiet - HIGHLY recommended for the price paid ( $89 per night)

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlz81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Toowoomba hotels
0.5 mi away
Comfort Inn Grammar View
Comfort Inn Grammar View
#8 of 43 in Toowoomba
4.0 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
2.7 mi away
Quality Hotel Platinum International
1.4 mi away
Burke and Wills Hotel
Burke and Wills Hotel
#6 of 43 in Toowoomba
4.0 of 5 bubbles 265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Tuscany on Tor Motor Inn
2.0 mi away
Highlander Motor Inn
Highlander Motor Inn
#1 of 43 in Toowoomba
4.5 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
1.9 mi away
Ruthven Street Motor Inn
Ruthven Street Motor Inn
#5 of 43 in Toowoomba
4.5 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Great Divide Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Great Divide Motor Inn

Property: Great Divide Motor Inn
Address: 5-7 Herres St, Toowoomba, Queensland 4350, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Toowoomba
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 43 Hotels in Toowoomba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Great Divide Motor Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Great Divide Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing