We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxurious rooms, but don't eat here”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Country Comfort Toowoomba
Ranked #13 of 43 Hotels in Toowoomba
Perth, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Luxurious rooms, but don't eat here”
Reviewed 14 February 2014

I stayed in this hotel in February 2014 on a work trip. It was a Wednesday night and the hotel was nearly fully booked.

This is motel style accommodation - with two rows of individual rooms (see photos). We stayed in King suites which were fantastic. The room had a large living area, the mattress was super comfortable, and the doona soft and warm. The bathroom was a bit small.
All facilities were there - ironing board, tea and coffee, fridge, internet, table.
The place was super quiet. I didn't hear anyone leave in the morning and the rooms are far enough from the highway that you don't hear the traffic.

The only reason that I am not giving this hotel a 'very good' is the lack in quality beyond the rooms. They have a pool but it is too small to swim in (more a sitting in pool). They have a restaurant but you cannot have breakfast there. Breakfast is provided as room service only. The options for breakfast are highly limited (toast, muesli, baked breakfast). We went out for breakfast to get some fresh fruit, nice coffee and pancakes instead.
We had a very average experience dinning in the hotel restaurant. Even though the hotel was fully booked, they only had 2 kitchen staff working. As a result, our orders took 1.5 hours (!!!) to arrive. We waited for ages for our starters - which never arrived. When they finally brought the dishes out, they arrived about 10min from each-other so that one person would have finished eating before the next person's main arrived. I was most displeased when they tried to charge me $24 for a (very poorly made) salad. One person with food allergies had to order a salad because they could not have anything else on the menu. Instead of making a nice fantasy main salad (which we usually get), the salad was no more than lettuce leaves and a few slices of cucumber. To their defence: the front desk reimbursed me the $24 when I complained about the salad at check-out the next day.

I would stay again because of the nice rooms - but won't be eating here again.

Oh, also be aware that this hotel is not in Toowoomba! The motel is in Highfields, about 20-30min drive from Toowoomba.

Room Tip: All rooms are good. If you are a very light sleeper ask for a room at the back (further from the hig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MEKragt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Owen R, Manager at Country Comfort Toowoomba, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
We did appreciate hearing your feedback MEKragt. Your comments were most certainly passed onto our kitchen staff and have been taken into consideration. We're also glad to hear that you were pleased with your accommodation. A couple of clarifications do need to be noted however - Firstly our location is 12km from Toowoomba, which doesn't equate to a 30 minute drive.
Secondly we believe that our breakfast menu has good variety - 6 hot dishes to choose from although maybe we could look at adding on some more options in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    59
    42
    4
    1
    2
See reviews for
23
41
3
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2014

We recently had the pleasure of staying at Country Comfort Highfields whilst visiting to attend a birthday party. Cannot speak highly enough, the rooms are modern, extremely spacious and really well thought out in the design and layout. Attention to detail is obvious. We didn't dine here but the menu looked comprehensive and well priced. Probably only downside is the lack of mobile phone reception which is due to location/provider not the premises.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kerry-anne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Graham H, Manager at Country Comfort Toowoomba, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
Thanks for taking the time to review our motel Kerry-anne. We appreciate receiving feedback from our guests whether it be positive or negative. Glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and we hope that you take the opportunity to dine at 'Lily's Restaurant' when you next visit Country Comfort Highfields, Toowoomba.
Regards,
Owen Rangott
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 February 2014

Love this place!
Have stayed here on and off once a month for 4 years, have tried other places occasionally but just keep coming back!!
Beautiful, clean, modern rooms, I stay in the queen deluxe or occasionally the king. Love the shower!
Friendly, professional and efficient staff..always even though it's changed hands/management a couple of times in past years.
Always feel safe- most important for single female business traveller, good room security.
Great restaurant with healthy feed options and good food, can have In room breakfast next morning too.
The tiny drive outside the city is totally worth it- other Toowoomba city motel are way too noisy for a light sleeper because most of them are on the highway and trucks travel all night.
Internet available, no vodaphone mobile reception, sometimes limited Telstra reception as well.
Will continue to stay here for as long as I travel to Toowoomba for work. So completely happy.

Room Tip: Any..haven't had any room disappoint.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tik44ni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Goulburn, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 30 January 2014

stayed here for 4 nights just after christmas , great location, clean , tidy, beds comfortable and rooms modern and smell fresh.Pool was an added bonus to cool off in the pm .a must stay for anyone venturing that way. Value for money as well

Room Tip: we have room 11 great size for 2 people
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carlee1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

Stayed here again for three nights over Christmas. Had a family suite this time. Big bathroom, plenty of space. Friendly staff. Very clean and modern. Very quiet no highway noise. Close to our family and shops. Would stay here again. Highly recommend this motel.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandra P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2013

Was surprised to find the motel 12 km out of Toowoomba but pleasantly surprised by friendly welcome and excellent service. The 12 km is not really a hassle when you have a nice new clean room with a comfortable bed. Ample parking and close to highfield shops.
Well away from the highway so no noisy traffic. Good experience overall

Room Tip: Only 10 minutes up the New England highway - so no issue
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank reichers59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013

We stayed one night and would recommend this place to everyone. It was clean, quiet, comfortable and had some very nice touches. The young man at the desk was friendly and professional and he recommended a place to eat as well.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynette9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Toowoomba hotels
7.1 mi away
MAS Country Platinum International
6.8 mi away
Comfort Inn Grammar View
Comfort Inn Grammar View
#9 of 43 in Toowoomba
180 reviews
7.1 mi away
Highlander Motor Inn
Highlander Motor Inn
#1 of 43 in Toowoomba
221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Altitude Motel Apartments
Altitude Motel Apartments
#3 of 43 in Toowoomba
74 reviews
5.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Ambassador on Ruthven Motor Inn
6.1 mi away
Pureland Guest House
Pureland Guest House
#34 of 43 in Toowoomba
30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Comfort Toowoomba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Comfort Toowoomba

Property: Country Comfort Toowoomba
Address: 10552 New England Hwy | Highfields, Toowoomba, Queensland 4352, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Toowoomba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 43 Hotels in Toowoomba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Country Comfort Toowoomba 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Country Comfort Toowoomba is a 4 Star, AAA Rated New Property conveniently located 10 to 12 minutes drive north of Toowoomba CBD, perfect for visitors and corporate guests looking for a Relaxing Stay with a peaceful nights sleep due to no Road Noise, in an easily accessible location. Country Comfort Toowoomba is only a short walk from local Highfields Boutique Businesses, Cafe's and Specialty Stores. Country Comfort Toowoomba-Highfields Motel is a New Motel offering 24 Suites, including 2 Bedroom Family Suites. We have suites that are wheelchair friendly, Deluxe Spa Suites and we also offer a deluxe honeymoon package as an extra. Eileys Restaurant is currently offering nightly meals to rooms & cater for conferences & private functions. Breakfast and Dinner Room Service available 7 days a week. Outdoor Heated Swimming Pool and Spa, Children's Playground, Alfresco Pool Area, Guest Laundry, Mini Bar Available at Reception. All Suites offer a stylish Desk for your convenience, all with FREE Broadband Internet Access. Flat Screen TVs with DVDs & Free Austar Cable Television. All Rooms have Tea & Coffee Making Facilities with Complimentary Biscuits. All have Quality Bathroom Products. Cot & Highchair Hire is available Free of Charge, Microwaves & Toasters Available Free of Charge. Local Tourism Information and Maps available at Front Reception. So for Value for Money & Modern Luxury you can't look further than the Country Comfort Toowoomba Motel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Country Comfort Toowoomba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing