We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great find”
Review of Applegum Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Applegum Inn
Ranked #24 of 43 Hotels in Toowoomba
New Zealand
Level Contributor
98 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“A great find”
Reviewed 6 February 2014

We had two nights in a deluxe queen room and couldn't have been more pleased. The kitchen was very well equipped and we loved the big walk in shower.
Bedroom was spacious, bed comfortable & with a small tv in the bedroom & a big flatscreen tv in the lounge, any spare time was well catered for.
Staff were extremely friendly and helpful and the motel was within walking distance of the beautiful Queens Park, and the city centre.
For us, best of all was they accepted Bartercard & didn't put the price up when we used it
Great stuff.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank annenewzealand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    20
    7
    1
    0
See reviews for
10
14
5
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Katherine, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014 via mobile

Tiny room, but great for the price! We still managed to squish a portacot in there.

Comfortable bed, decent bathroom/shower & lovely service at reception!

Only issue is that we happened to stay there during a heat wave & the air conditioner was terrible! It lacked any sort of power & would not oscillate around the room.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dukesy86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level Contributor
108 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2013

We stayed one night with a group of friends and enjoyed our stay. The rooms were clean and comfortable and had everything that was needed to make an excellent overnight stay. We were able to sit in the outdoor area for our happy hours which was very pleasant. There was no traffic noise and the beds although softer than we are used to gave us a good night sleep. We all enjoyed a continental breakfast in the spacious dining room before heading off. The price for this motel was very reasonable.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2013

Our family size two rooms was very spacious. It had been completely renovated and painted. The bedroom and bathroom with walk in shower was excellent. The separate kitchen had a microwave and fridge as well as kettle, toaster, etc. Very clean and quiet motel. No traffic noise at night. Close to the Botanic Gardens and city centre. The owners were very pleasant and accommodating. The restaurant was theoretically closed on a sunday evening but we were given an excellent meal by the owners. Huge serving of vegetables with beautifully cooked salmon and the toowoomba special - bangers and mash. The following evening we had room service dinner - again beautifully presented, large quantity and no surcharge.
I would highly recommend the Applegum Inn.

Room Tip: There are only two family rooms in the complex. The Motel is all one level - bonus no stairs to cli...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Silver_Budgie_oz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2013

This was a great haven on a rainy summer night. Arriving after 8:00 PM the restaurant offered excellent food without having to leave the hotel. The staff was friendly and extremely helpful in providing everything we needed to have a comfortable evening.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thomas Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed 16 October 2012

We stayed at the Applegum Inn one night. Quite location, close to the CBD and the Botanic Garden. The room was basic and clean. The lady at the reception was very kind: I was running a marathon the following day and she told us we could leave the room late in the morning, so I had a shower after my run.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucialtrove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Toowoomba hotels
0.0 mi away
Comfort Inn Grammar View
Comfort Inn Grammar View
#8 of 43 in Toowoomba
175 reviews
1.0 mi away
Burke and Wills Hotel
Burke and Wills Hotel
#7 of 43 in Toowoomba
274 reviews
0.1 mi away
Blue Violet Motor Inn
Blue Violet Motor Inn
#39 of 43 in Toowoomba
24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Park Motor Inn
Park Motor Inn
#8 of 18 in Toowoomba
70 reviews
0.3 mi away
Motel Glenworth
Motel Glenworth
#25 of 43 in Toowoomba
28 reviews
1.3 mi away
Leichhardt Motor Inn
Leichhardt Motor Inn
#16 of 43 in Toowoomba
81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Applegum Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Applegum Inn

Property: Applegum Inn
Address: 41 Margaret St, Toowoomba, Queensland 4350, Australia (Formerly BEST WESTERN Applegum Inn)
Region: Australia > Queensland > Toowoomba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 43 Hotels in Toowoomba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Applegum Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Applegum Inn features all ground floor motel rooms with undercover parking at the door. We are located in a beautiful leafy street in East Toowoomba only 5 blocks from the CBD and 3 blocks from Queens Park. All rooms offer reverse cycle air conditioning, tea & coffee making facilities, minibar, free wifi, Foxtel TV channels, desks and breakfast served to the rooms daily. Our on-site restaurant offers dinner Monday to Thursday and we offer dinner to the rooms Monday to Friday. We have Family Rooms, Twin Rooms and Double Rooms and offer quiet accommodation with country style hospitality well away from highway noise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Applegum Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Toowoomba
Toowoomba Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing