We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great ribs!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Burke and Wills Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Burke and Wills Hotel
Ranked #7 of 43 Hotels in Toowoomba
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great ribs!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2013

Had a fantastic meal of tasty ribs. Quick and friendly service. Well priced meal. Went there at recommendation of a local dance teacher and was not disappointed. Will definitely come back on our next visit to Toowoomba.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank lindabaz1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

265 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    61
    127
    54
    17
    6
See reviews for
30
95
23
102
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Redcliffe, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2013

I stayed at the Hotel recently, I found the staff very pleasant, and help-full, the room was reasonable but I thought that the large table and mirror in the room could have had another chair at it so two people could sit. The tea and Coffee making faculties only had enough sugar for one cup for myself, lucky my wife doesn't take sugar, and one little container of milk, it would cost a lot to have a little more sugar and milk in each room, I ordered room service that night for myself and my wife and my meal was terribly, it looked as though it had been sitting in a hot box or something similar for many hours as it was so hard and very brown to burnt on the outside but cold inside and the gravy was so salty that I could not eat it, and I don't mind a little salt, just so disappointing

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Trevor W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2013

We stayed at the Burke and Wills for the second time in a fortnight on a recent weekend. Location is certainly central as other reviewers have noted. Reception staff were friendly, room clean enough and a room service meal promptly delivered when we indicated we were in a hurry. There our positive experiences ended.
Room was very small, bathroom tiny. Air conditioner noisy. Lift is asthmatic and corridor decor a fake regency possibly last visited in the 1970s when the hotel was in its heyday. Be careful where you park your car for in the morning it will likely to be covered in bird droppings and vegetation. There is a complimentary car cleaning service but one man cannot possibly deal with all the cleaning required.
The tiresome reference in the title of this review stems from the very poor response received when we questioned our bill. Having travelled widely we were surprised (to say the least) that room service prices stated in the bedroom menu are not in actual fact the room service prices charged!! There seems to be a delivery fee for room service not stated at the time of ordering or on printed menu. When we later phoned to question charges and register disappointment that the tray was still in the corridor more than 12 hours later the receptionist hung up on us!! So much for helpful staff! Surely customer service is high on the rules of hospitality?
We hope not to return to Toowoomba in the near future and certainly won't be revisiting this hotel - central location or not.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Trippingtroopers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helensvale, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2013

I went to Toowoomba with my wife to meet up with some people about a possible business opportunity.

Having never been to Toowoomba, I found the Burke and Wills really centrally located, with nice rooms - it's worth looking at the superior/executive rooms.

For the purpose we went, this was an ideal place to stay

Room Tip: Ring and ask for room prices - and see if you can get a some sort of upgrade without having to pay t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AussieDamien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bundaberg, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

The Burke and Wills Hotel has the best location...Close to shopping eg Grand Central, down town shopping.

The staff are very accommodating, they always make you feel as though you are their only guests.

We ate at bistro the menu was limited but the food was delicious! Of a morning we had a full breakfast in the Conservatory, here the menu was extensive! The delicious as always.

All in all, I would highly recommend the Bourke and Wills as the place to stay in Toowoomba.

Arienne

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MiniMe68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
393 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 299 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2013

We had a group of about 20 of us and had dinner here, the menu is quite good and everyone found something to eat, there were no complaints about the food and the service was great, it was a Tuesday night so very quiet and they allowed us to do what we wanted. Thanks

Overall a great place for a feed.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wizard60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2013

I stayed at the Burke & Wills for 1 night in May after my partner surprised me with the Indulgence package. We were spoilt with a large spa suite and balcony. Our welcome was very warm and friendly, we received free wi-fi cards and a free drink each on arrival. We ordered our platter with reception for 7pm and proceeded to our room. Upon arrival at our room we found a comprehensive "indulgence" package with lotions and potions, bath robes, slippers and even a pumice! Our room was large with a king bed, balcony, TV, large bathroom with a spa bath. 7pm on the dot our platter and wine arrived. We enjoyed lunch at Burke's Bistro the next day as we had a 12pm check out included with the Indulgence package. Food was plentiful with large portions. We had a great stay at the Burke and Wills Hotel and look forward to coming back! :)

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GrandGraphic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Toowoomba hotels
1.3 mi away
Quality Hotel Platinum International
1.0 mi away
Comfort Inn Grammar View
Comfort Inn Grammar View
#9 of 43 in Toowoomba
4.0 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
0.7 mi away
Highlander Motor Inn
Highlander Motor Inn
#1 of 43 in Toowoomba
4.5 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
City Golf Club Motel
City Golf Club Motel
#2 of 43 in Toowoomba
4.5 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
1.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Ambassador on Ruthven Motor Inn
2.3 mi away
Altitude Motel Apartments
Altitude Motel Apartments
#3 of 43 in Toowoomba
5.0 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Burke and Wills Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Burke and Wills Hotel

Property: Burke and Wills Hotel
Address: Burke & Wills Hotel 554 Ruthven St, Toowoomba, Queensland 4350, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Toowoomba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Toowoomba
#9 Romantic Hotel in Toowoomba
#11 Business Hotel in Toowoomba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Burke and Wills Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 85
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Burke and Wills Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Toowoomba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing