We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (310)
Filter reviews
310 results
Traveller rating
86
138
59
21
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
86
138
59
21
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews indulgence package rooms are small spa room old world charm the air conditioning room service toowoomba cbd comfy bed friendly service biscuits main room mills foyer lynda mirror
Filter
Updating list...
36 - 41 of 310 reviews
Reviewed 7 June 2017 via mobile

We recently stayed one night in a spa room. We were in town for only one night for a wedding the location was ideal for both the cathedral and the after party, only a five minute walk to either.

We had lunch before hand at the bar but I wouldn't suggest it if you have time to go elsewhere. Meals were average, not bar prices and the staff were very distracted by their own conversation and giggles.

Although dated, the room was lovely and we had a great night's sleep in a very comfortable bed. Very high standard for a hotel! The balcony was good for a view but not wide enough to sit out and enjoy. The bathroom looked to be recently updated and was my personal stand out. The entire room was clean and well presented.

The reception staff were friendly and I was surprised to find someone still there when we arrived back in the early hours of the morning.

I'm looking forward to staying again after the renovations. Thank you B&W!

Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Tara W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hgroup, Public Relations Manager at Burke & Wills Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2017

Dear Tara W, thank you for your lovely four star review. We are pleased to hear your stay for the wedding was accommodating. The rooms are becoming tired looking which is why we are closing today for a refurbishment. We are glad the location was convenient for you but disappointed to hear about your dining experience. We have passed your comments onto the staff and we look forward to seeing you again after we re-open in 2018. Kind Regards, Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2017 via mobile

The hotel is not flashy but has an ambience of days gone by. Rooms are small and the sink is too small in the bathroom. Traveling on business that's all I really need. Food at the restaurant and bar (pub) is always good (and generous).

Stayed: May 2017, travelled on business
1  Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hgroup, Public Relations Manager at Burke & Wills Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2017

Dear Michael C, thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We are pleased to hear the food was suitable and you had the chance to dine at Burke's Bar & Bistro. Unfortunately we are closing today for refurbishment but we look forward to seeing you again after we re-open in 2018. Kind Regards, Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2017

We have regularly used the hotel since 2010 with the staff being pleasant and helpful. Our room was clean and the Queen bed in our room on the 5th floor was comfortable. The hotel is starting to look a bit tired and certainly due for an update with paint peeling on the ceiling of the bathroom. Reception staff indicated the hotel refurbishment was to commence about June 2017. Even with some minor issues, the hotel remains ideal to walking to the new updated shopping complex, CBD, restaurants and neaby cinema. Yes though its looking a bit worn, its still a fairly reasonable room price, well it was when we stayed. Bring the refurbishment on!!!!

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank gamain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hgroup, Public Relations Manager at Burke & Wills Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2017

Dear Gamain, thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We are so pleased to hear you enjoyed so many aspects of your stay. Yes you are correct the hotel does need a face lift and we are closing today for refurbishment. We are due to re-open in 2018 so we hope to see you back then. Kind Regards, Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2017

Location excellent, walking distance from everything you need. Staff are outstanding and I have been here a good couple of times on business and they remember me now by name. Food options are excellent with separate dining area open until late. Breakfast - my favourite is awesome - try the chef's eggs - yum. Décor a little tired but beds comfy and good showers with plenty of hot water!!

Room Tip: Take their advice seriously and don't park under the tree - the birds are lovely but not on your paint work.
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank vanessakissane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hgroup, Public Relations Manager at Burke & Wills Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2017

Dear vanessakissane, thank you for taking the time to leave a review. It is great to hear from our returning customers. We really are blessed with location and are pleased to hear it was a convenience for you. So glad you had a chance to stay for breakfast and enjoyed the chef's eggs. We will be sure to pass your kind words onto the entire team. Unfortunately we are closing today for refurbishment but we look forward to seeing you again after we re-open in 2018. Kind Regards, Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2017 via mobile

As first timers visiting Toowoomba we needed the help of Trip Advisor to choose our accommodation for 1 night and we were glad we stayed here. The rooms were basic but comfortable and in keeping with the older classic style. The staff made our stay extra special by offering good old fashioned customer service and were genuinely happy to assist. Lynda was so friendly and welcoming, it's refreshing to meet someone who genuinely loves their job and customer service. Thanks for helping us turn lemons into lemonade Lynda.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Sally B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hgroup, Public Relations Manager at Burke & Wills Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2017

Dear Sally B,
Thank you for taking the time to leave a wonderful four star review. We are so pleased to hear you enjoyed so many aspects of your stay. The staff are our greatest asset and we are glad they made your stay so accommodating. We are very proud of Lynda and all her hard work. We will be sure to pass our kind words onto the entire team. Thank you again and we look forward to your next stay.
Kind Regards, Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews