We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Value for money”
Review of Weis Seafood Smorgasbord - CLOSED

Weis Seafood Smorgasbord
Price range: US$7 - US$51
Cuisines: Seafood, Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Romantic, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Buffet, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Value for money”
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Seafood is expensive these days so were not expecting a lot in a week day $49 lunch.We had prawns,fresh Pacific bistro oysters,baked barramundi and spanner crabs.The hot Tandoori chicken was tasty.The fresh salads and cooked vegetables were good.There was a good selection of breads.Our plates were cleared quickly from our table.

The wines were excellent. There was a good selection of petit desserts and other buffet desserts.An assortment of Australian Cheese was available. The fresh fruit was good.Marshmallows,fruit and lollies could be dipped in a decadent chocolate fountain.The menu can change daily and we didn't try everything on the menu.This was our first visit and we enjoyed the lunch.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank searcher33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shana R, Public Relations Manager at Weis Seafood Smorgasbord, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Good afternoon and thank you for taking the time to review your visit to Weis Restaurant.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your visit and look forward to seeing you next time you are in Toowoomba.

Kind regards
Weis Restaurant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

171 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    26
    43
    28
    31
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Still Impressed by This Grand Old Establishment”
Reviewed 15 June 2014

We have been dining at Weis's every 3 years or so for at least the last 25 years. We are from interstate and visit relatives in Toowoomba who we also always shout along as well.

Whilst there was a change in standards when the ownership swapped some years ago, the venue still offers excellent value for money. Before the change in ownership it seemed to be a higher quality establishment at higher prices. Now the prices have eased (Wednesday dinner excellent value at under $50/head), but the quality is not quite as 'up there' as it was.

But it is still a great night and comes second only to our favourite - Melba's at the Langham in Melbourne which is just on twice the price. We have yet to find a better seafood buffet in a regional town

We love
The seafood chowder, probably one of the best around
The variety of cold seafood.
The range of fresh salads
Well priced wine by the bottle or glass
The small bar area where you can enjoy a drink should you arrive early for a booking and table not available (can be a problem on Saturday nights).
The venue we think is quaint and beautiful. It could not be Weis's anywhere else
Wait staff were good. None obtrusive and sort of left us alone. We know the place well enough to look after ourselves now.

Not so loved
Quality of prawns not quite up to scratch.
Oysters not quickly replenished leaving a sad looking bowl of oyster juice and some shells either empty or 'occupied'
Range of desserts a little 'underwhelming' for a venue of this standard.

Will we be back - you bet ya. Will always make a detour here when up north. Maybe we are just couple of tragic romantics who can't shake it off, but this has become a kind of institution for us. And if we can make it a Wednesday night all the better as we can use the savings from the buffet for more expensive wine

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Peter W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shana R, Public Relations Manager at Weis Seafood Smorgasbord, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Good afternoon and thank you for your very kind review.

We are delighted that you return to Weis and enjoy your visits each time.

Thank you for letting us know what you love and also what you find a little disappointing. We are always working to improve the quality of the Weis experience, and appreciate your feedback. Please be assured we take your comments seriously and are addressing the issues you have raised.

Again, thank you for your continued patronage of Weis. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit!

Kind regards
Weis Restaurant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
44 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Expectations not met”
Reviewed 12 June 2014

My wife and I drove to Weis's, from Brisbane, with the expectation of a brilliant Seafood smorgasbord
Sorry to say our expectations were not met
On arrival we were greeted courteously, but not warmly, by the person who it turned out was the only one giving service and at $40 per head for lunch this 'service' could have been better especially as our plates were never cleared during our meal and we had to ask to find out about water, finger bowls etc.
The food was NOT up to standard. We arrived at 1.10 pm and were told that service finished at 2.00 pm. The 'Hots', as they called them, had seen better days and were not well presented and in two instances were almost dried out. We did not choose these.
However my desire was the seafood which comprised a hot barramundi dish, prawns, oysters and spanner crab - these were only just OK. Presentation was less than average and there was no maintenance of the dishes during service. As I collected my last dish at just before 2.00 pm I had to compete with staff who were choosing their lunch.
I am diabetic so sweets did not interest me but my wife found the presentation good and enjoyed her choices
At about 2 pm the window behind us was fully opened by the 'waitress' and cold blasts of air interrupted our dining. I had to ask for it to be closed and received the comment that it was needed to 'freshen up the restaurant'
Overall a poor experience judged on value for money, service and staff attitude
We were asked "How was the meal" and though I gave the same critique as given above would doubt that it would go any further
I now have no desire to return - this was our 5th time of visiting the restaurant.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank keith g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shana R, Public Relations Manager at Weis Seafood Smorgasbord, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Good afternoon and thank you for taking the time to review your recent visit to Weis.

It is certainly our aim to meet the expectations of our guests, and we apologise that on this occasion you felt that this did not happen.

We have passed on your comments regarding the food and service to both our kitchen staff and our front of house staff. Please be assured that we take your comments seriously and are taking steps to address the issues you raised.

We do hope that we have another opportunity to show you the true Weis experience. Please contact the restaurant to arrange a special offer for your next visit.

Yours sincerely
Weis Restaurant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deception Bay, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Seafood overload”
Reviewed 8 June 2014 via mobile

I haven't been to Weis for ages, but it was well worth the wait.
The food was exquisite. Very clean, massive variety of choice, amazing seafood both fresh and cooked. Salads were delicious and fresh. And the desserts were very nice as well.
The service was fantastic, with the staff well trained and polite.
Would strongly recommend going out for a beautiful smorgasbord dinner. Can't believe some of the poor reviews. Cannot fault anything.
Can't wait till my next visit.

Helpful?
Thank 69Hamish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shana R, Public Relations Manager at Weis Seafood Smorgasbord, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Good morning and thank you for your great review of your visit to Weis.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your visit. It is our aim that everyone has a fantastic time here, and it certainly looks like we achieved this for you!

We look forward to seeing you again very soon.

Kind regards

Weis Restaurant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bli Bli, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Restaurant”
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Went to this restaurant with a large family to celebrate a special occasion. The large choices of food to eat was amazing. We all enjoyed the buffet with so many yummy choices. And the sweets were really enjoyed by all. The atmosphere was very relaxing and the staff were all so kind and happy.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Brett M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shana R, Public Relations Manager at Weis Seafood Smorgasbord, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Good morning.

Thank you for taking the time to review your experience at Weis over the weekend.

We are thrilled to hear that you and your party enjoyed your visit. We are constantly working to provide our guests with the ultimate experience and we are pleased that we were able to provide this for you.

We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Kind regards

Weis Restaurant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Weis Seafood Smorgasbord also viewed

Toowoomba, Queensland
Toowoomba, Queensland
 
Toowoomba, Queensland
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing