We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Retro-classic comfort and convenience”
Review of Buffalo Motor Inn

Buffalo Motor Inn
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Buffalo Motor Inn
Ranked #3 of 8 Glenelg B&B and Inns
Reviewed 28 January 2013

I stayed at the Buffalo for a second time in January 2013 and again had a marina view room. All my work colleagues stay at the Buffalo for its great location. While it is on Anzac Highway it is in fact on the last few inches of the quiet, so-called highway before it turns the corner towards Jetty Road and the beach. The Buffalo is still in the heart of Glenelg, situated within a mix of heritage residences, retro-classic buildings, and high-rise concrete monsters. All the same, the monsters are all rather posh and fairly desirable residential apartment blocks. The Buffalo Motor Inn comes in the "retro-classic" category, and I say that because I think it must have been cleaned up since the 2011 reviews, because it was very clean and tidy. In this area nothing is very far away from the beach, the marina, or the parks. The whole area is buzzing with families, people, joggers, walkers and cyclists, and people going to and from the beach. Right around the corner from the Buffalo are a hundred different kinds of restaurants for breakfasts (I favour the Ambient restaurant for a yummy breakfast) and dinners (the seafood places near the marina are excellent). Just a short walk takes you to Jetty Road and the tram into the city. The beach has a jetty, lawns and clean white sand and clean water. The Buffalo is right on the coastal walks, south and north along the coast. It is close to everything. Despite having a front room with marina view I found it to be a very quiet room. The staff were very friendly and helpful and the rooms are inexpensive. Basic yes, but still with a certain amount of retro-classic panache with two comfortable armchairs, a solid round wooden table and two chairs, and a large, clean and comfortable bed. The television has umpteen channels, all which worked. The bathroom was clean and well appointed. Despite the establishment being fully booked due to the Tour Down Under, with the curtains pulled I had a quiet sleep for the four nights of my stay. For the cost it is definitely worth it: you could pay four times the cost to stay at the big hotel on the beach. The Buffalo will remain our place of choice when in Adelaide on work trips.

Room Tip: Ask for a marina view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Linda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (79)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

58 - 64 of 79 reviews

Reviewed 8 January 2013

We have stayed at the Buffalo for several boys/footy/cricket trips.
It is close walking distence to the beach and some great pubs.
Easy to walk to the tram which drops you off at the door of the Adelaide Casino, Adelaide Oval.
Realy affordable accomidation, if you aren't after the ritz!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2012

Your typical affordable 3 star hotel, just basic amenities.
Walking distance to many cafes & shops.
Single bed for my teenage son was awful, no springs left, seemed just foam.
Free car parking was very handy.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ashley1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2012

We stayed in a very comfortable, well appointed room. It was at the back and was very quiet.
We found it to be well cleaned. The only disadvantage was having to step up into the bath. I had to be very careful because of 2 bad knees.
The location is ideal as it is close to the business centre and tram into the city. Excellent restaurants close by for breakfast through to dinner. We would stay again.
The staff were very pleasant and helpful.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lyn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2012 via mobile

The Buffalo is the perfect Motor Inn for the Traveller wanting a great location in the heart of glenelg.

Bianca in the office is very prompt and professional and a credit to the Business.

The Owners went out of their way to accommodate our every need and request.

The rooms are clean and well appointed!!

Well Done Team!!

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Haydenzam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2012

This motel is not 5 stars, but is located in a great position just minutes from Glenelg beach and restaurants and the tram. It is comfortable and warm inside with the essential amenities. I think these features and location for under $100 per night is great. It is priced competitively compared to most other hotels in this location.
The air con is a bit noisy so it is best to turn it off so you can sleep.
The wireless Internet is overpriced and should be avoided particularly since free wifi at McDonalds is just around the corner.

Room Tip: Avoid the expensive Internet on site
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Phil M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2012

very standard basic room 11. bathroom old style chipped broken edges of cupboards. painted tiles peeling. ??food marks on bathroom door. towels had marks on them. heater set at 15 degrees and told not to touch....it was freezing. rattled like a truck driving by very noisy. prices were good but not for the quality of room. good location tho.

Room Tip: quality costs!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank k p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glenelg hotels
0.1 mi away
Oaks Plaza Pier Apartment Hotel
0 mi away
Atlantic Tower Motor Inn
0.2 mi away
Ensenada Motor Inn and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Stamford Grand Adelaide
0.6 mi away
Seawall Apartments
Seawall Apartments
#1 of 7 in Glenelg
851 reviews
0.4 mi away
Glenelg Motel
Glenelg Motel
#2 of 8 in Glenelg
150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Buffalo Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buffalo Motor Inn

Address: 766 Anzac Hwy, Glenelg, South Australia 5045, Australia
Region: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Glenelg
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Glenelg
Price Range: £66 - £90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Buffalo Motor Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in seaside Glenelg overlooking picturesque Holdfast Shores Marina and Wigley Reserve. The closest motel to the beach, just a short walk to the many cafes, restaurants and hotels and cosmopolitan Jetty Road Shopping. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers and Agoda so you can book your Buffalo Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing