We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Birthday Dinner”

The Strand Cafe Restaurant
Reserve with
The Strand Cafe Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #13 of 162 Restaurants in Glenelg
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$26
Cuisines: Cafe, European, Australian, Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Brunch, After-hours, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Over the years, it has become an icon to the Glenelg locals. The Strand prides its self on maintaining a high quality and consistent level of hospitality. The Strand welcomes all customer. It is friendly and relaxed, which is evident with the large amount of regular clientele it attracts. A diverse menu offering breakfast, lunch and dinner seven days a week.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Birthday Dinner”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Efficient friendly service,good food and quite enough of it,reasonably priced, not for a quiet night out though,can be quite crowded and noisy so not the place for a quiet couples night out.I guess the crowds show the popularity.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank tercar510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    101
    87
    42
    14
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
67 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Always Great”
Reviewed 13 May 2014

My wife and I have been regulars at the Strand for many years. Only once have we had a poor experience and that was quickly rectified. The staff are great and cannot do enough for you and always have time for a chat even when busy.
Love the new look at the front with the outdoor decking.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PJW17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burnside, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“great service”
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Went to The Strand Restaurant again on saturday. Once again great food and service. I have never had a bad meal here.Always busy from opening until late, a must place to eat on Jetty Road Glenelg

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Susanne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, South Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Great meal”
Reviewed 24 April 2014

My husband and I eat there a fair bit. The food is great. There's a young waiter there who needs to be a bit more professional and grow up. I Couldn't decide between 2 tables last week and apologized, no big deal. He got quite grumpy about it and gave the worst service after that. Was sulking and never asked us what drinks wed like. Meal was great but he ruined it.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Bekki Boo Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Amazing Anniversary Meal”
Reviewed 15 April 2014 via mobile

We had been to the Strand once before, and decided that it was a good location for 30 people to meet for an anniversary dinner. From the moment we entered, the service was top class. I don't like mentioning names, but Hayley was one of the best waiting staff we have ever had! She looked after us throughout our meal and always had a smile on her face!
The food was fantastic, prices were good, but I'm happy to pay extra when everything was spot on.
Recommend highly!
To the Strand management; keep up the good work, and look after your brilliant staff. And thank you :)

Helpful?
Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Strand Cafe Restaurant also viewed

Glenelg, Greater Adelaide
Glenelg, Greater Adelaide
 
Glenelg, Greater Adelaide
Glenelg, Greater Adelaide
 

Been to The Strand Cafe Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing