We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value apartment in good location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Glenelg Gateway Apartments
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 30 November 2012

We stayed in the 1st floor apartment, a very spacious 1 br apartment which had everything we needed. Connie was very helpful in responding to my texts when I had trouble connecting to the free wifi. Good sized plasma tv. Location is great so close to Jetty road for shops and eating places. Tram to Glenelg about 5 mins walk and is free for Seniors between 9am to 3pm.

Room Tip: Rooms facing courtyard have a pleasant aspect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Panda055
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (82)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

73 - 79 of 82 reviews

Reviewed 31 October 2012

My husband and I stayed for a week and it was a most enjoyable stay.The groundfloor,1 bedroom apartment was more than adequate.The large shower room had the best shower ever! Connie,the owner was great,and also her cleaning lady was helpful in explaining to us how the trams work.There was a large screen television and free internet.The laundry was great too.The apartments are on a busy intersection but the noise is a distant hum,so no problem.It only takes 10mins to walk along Jetty Road to the seafront.There are 2 nearby supermarkets,Woolworths being 1minute away.The tram for Adelaide is just over the road and runs frequently.All in all a great stay and a big thankyou to Connie.

Room Tip: If you have heavy suitcases ask Connie for a groundfloor apartment.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank CYGAL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2012

My wife had a conference in Adelaide. We found this apartment in Glenelg which was about 1/2 block from the tram going into Adelaide (35 minute ride to the conference center in the CBD). Owner (Connie) was great to work with. She's not there every day.
Grocery store is a block away. The beach is about a 10 minute walk. Our apartment had one bedroom and one bath. No frills. The couch in the family room was a fold out so you could sleep a couple of extra people there.
If we go back to Adelaide we will stay at Glenelg Gateway again.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank GreenwoodMark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2012

We were in Adelaide for a wedding and we booked the house for 4 nights, it was the right place in the right location, as others have said, so close to everything and quite well appointed. We also we a bit disappointed in the fact that there was no tea, coffee or milk supplied, meaning we either had to bring with us or go and buy everything we needed, that being said the house was good, the bathrooms are seperate to the bedrooms, so no ensuites, the laundry is a coin in the slot outside the house, but just at the back door. Getting the car in the drive was a bit tricky as the house is on a busy road, but traffic wasn't that bad that we held anyone up, all in all a good time was had by all

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank buggsusa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2012

Stayed here late Feb '12 for three nights, all three days were over 38 degrees with hot nights also; luckily the air conditioning worked very well. Stayed in one of the front apts, minimal road noise, only thing heard was sub-woofers and the occasional large truck. Would definately stay again ... be aware that the internet works well but requires a data cable as it is not 'wi-fi' ... you can get one from Dick Smith just down the street as we did. Highly recommended

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank KLWNarara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2011

We were 4 senior ladies getting together for a 4 day break and this house was just what we wanted. The positon is wonderful, so close and within walking distance to the shopping centre, 20 mins by tram to city centre. It has 4 large bedrooms, 2 have a queen bed and 2 have 2 single beds. The rooms with the queen beds also have airconditioners and plenty of wardrobes. One main bedroom also has a large flat screen TV. There is aslo another airconditioner in the dining room that we were very greatfull to have as it was very cold when we were there. The 2 bathrooms are very modern and the house also has a very large modern kitchen. The home is very well maintained and clean. The kitchen is very well equiped but we were unable to get the gas cooker going. It could be helpfull to have some printed instructions above the cook top.
We only had a few minor negatives- that there was no soap, tea , coffee or sugar for when you first arrive to get started. We found this alittle disapointing as we had just flown in from interstate with no provisions with us. We would definately recomend this house for get togethers or even 2 families. They also have motel accommodation behind the house.
The rates are very reasonable for such comfort. Connie the lady who manages/owns the accomodation is very friendly and helpfull.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
10  Thank Coralie1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2011

We stayed here for 6 nights in May 2011. There are 8 apartments in the single building plus a large house at the front which is a separate building. All 8 apartments seem to have similar features. The apartment we used was upstairs at the rear of the building and had a adequate size balcony with a table & 2 chairs which got the afternoon sun. The inside consisted of 3 rooms, large lounge/kitchen/dining bench with 4 electric cooking hobs and a microwave oven, bedroom with queen sized bed shelving & wardrobe, and a very good size bathroom/toilet with a good shower. The advertised Internet connection worked well for us. The heating, if needed, also worked well. The location of the apartment was superb being only a very short walk to the tram station and a shopping centre containing supermarket, butcher, travel centre, Subway, greengrocer, and several other shops. This was important as being a non serviced apartment provisions need to be purchased. The main shopping street of Jetty Road is less than 1 minute walk away. Jetty Road has many restaurants, cafes, liquor shops, and may be probably another 200 shops. The Jetty Road shopping street could be 400 metres long but distance is no problem as there is a free tram that runs approximately every 15 minutes. The beach is 400 metres away which is an easy pleasant walk or one could use the free tram both ways.

The apartments address is Brighton Road which is a very busy traffic street, the apartments are set well back from the street and no traffic noise could be heard at all. We found it to be excellent for a peaceful sleep and also very quite during the daytime. Access to the Adelaide CDB for us was by the regular tram and this took 30-40 mins. A 1 day tram pass cost A$8.60 per adult and this could be used throughout the Adelaide Metro area (tram, buses, rail) including the Adelaide Hills. We found we had no need for a rental car, the public transport being more than adequate for us. Taxi to Adelaide Airport was A$21.00.

We found best features to be location to shops & restaurants, transport, and the apartment cost. In comparison to the very expensive apartment options close to the beach, these apartments have to be amongst the very best value in Glenelg. At about 40% of the cost of the modern high rises by the beach it is very hard to discard these apartments.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank AytonWellington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glenelg hotels
0.6 mi away
Oaks Plaza Pier Apartment Hotel
0.6 mi away
Seawall Apartments
Seawall Apartments
#1 of 7 in Glenelg
815 reviews
0.5 mi away
Stamford Grand Adelaide
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Ensenada Motor Inn and Suites
0.4 mi away
Atlantic Tower Motor Inn
0.5 mi away
Oaks Liberty Towers
Oaks Liberty Towers
#1 of 12 in Glenelg
349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glenelg Gateway Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glenelg Gateway Apartments

Address: 35 Brighton Rd, Glenelg, South Australia 5045, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Glenelg
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 Speciality Lodging in Glenelg
Price Range: £70 - £139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Glenelg Gateway Apartments 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Glenelg Gateway Apartments offers quality fully furnished and self contained accommodation at very affordable and competitive rates. The apartments are conveniently located in Glenelg and are just a few metres away from the Jetty Road shopping precinct. These apartments are a one minute’s walk to the city-bound tram stop, supermarket and all your shopping needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Glenelg Gateway Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing