We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Glenelg Gateway Apartments
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent location”
Reviewed 3 November 2013

Location is excellent, easy walk to beautiful Glenelg Beach, restaurants, tram etc. Comfortable, Clean, neat apartment. Great value for money! No frills accommodation (remember to take soap, shampoo etc). Re the on site parking, we would suggest that the car park has Apartment numbers marked on the car space, as we found during our stay that inconsiderate guests would take up 2 spaces. We were still able to find parking on the road, close by, so not a problem, just annoying. Would definitely recommend Glenelg Apartments and look forward to our next stay. Thank you Connie.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aimhigh1010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    42
    33
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
47
11
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Canberra
Level Contributor
79 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2013

We were in apartment 6, with was a masterpeice of 70s wood panels and brickwork, giving a rather retro and claustrophobic feel. The kitchen was well appointed, although only a small fridge and no oven, it did have a cooktop and microwave. It had plenty of benchspace.

It is very close to the main drag in Glenelg with many good restaurants and very close to a tram stop to take you into the city. Glenelg iteslf has a lovely modern seaside feel

All in all a good stay so long as you can get used to the bricks.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cpagia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2013

The apartments were spacious, comfortable, clean and well equipped. We were on the first floor which had a lovely balcony overlooking the pretty courtyard. There was laundry facilities on site which were reasonably priced. The price also included wifi, which had a decent connection and was very useful. The apartment was fully air conditioned. There is also a car park at the back of the apartments. Directions and instructions where text through to me on arrival in Adelaide.
The apartments where close to all the local amenities including shops, bars, restaurants and local transport links. It is a 15 minute walk to the beach or free on the tram which you can get over the road. It is also close to the Race Course, 2 stops on the tram. You can also get into the city using the tram, although if you are not local the tram tickets you will need to purchase using the machine on board.
The staff are friendly, but the office did not seem to be open much. However, there is a contact number.
I would have scored this higher, but the apartments are a little dated, and could do with a sprucing up and some maintenance, and I was not keen on the excess of frosted windows. However, the apartments are very good value and I would recommend them and return myself.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms on the courtyard side, otherwise you will be facing the car park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hellsbellsbarker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malua Bay, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2013

These apartments are close to everything, but also that includes a busy road so can get noisy. Also all beds are only a double. Some maintenance needs to be done of the place but overall good value for money and all you need. Bring more towels if you are staying more than a few days as they only change the linen and towels if you stay to weeks and that is not enough. We stayed for a week so towels are not a good enough quality for that much use and did not want to pay to wash their things. Also the bed and pillows have cheap mattress and pillow covers on them under the linen and they are noisy, slippery and uncomfortable when using, but unit otherwise clean and neat.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rianda26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2013

So close to shops, eating places, tram, buses and beach. Really easy to get to from the airport. We were attending a water polo championship at Marion over the Easter break and it was just a 5 mins drive away. The Aquatic Centre was huge and state of the art.
My husband and I had a 1 bedroom apartment on the first floor. Very quiet. Free Parking. Well equipped in the kitchen but we didn't cook. Just had breakfast and ate out every night. The marina area is great.
The apartment is clean but a bit dark in the living room. Nothing a lamp can't fix. The kitchen cupboards need revamping but didn't bother us. Water pressure good in the shower. Bring shower soap.
Before we got to apartment we got a sms to let us know where to find our key. Very efficient.

Room Tip: Any room is good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JKE255103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire uk
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 31 March 2013

We stayed at the Gateway Apartments in Feb 2013. We had a ground floor apartment which had a small private courtyard at the front with a table & 2 chairs. This area got the sun in the afternoon, which was really nice to sit and relax in after being out all day.The apartment was very clean with a well equipped kitchen, comfy bed, plenty of storage space & a lovely tiled bathroom with a walk-in shower and a hairdryer provided. There is an air-conditioning unit & a ceiling fan in the living area & a ceiling fan in the bedroom. What more could you ask !! Location was excellent. Just a 2 minute walk around the corner was a shopping mall with a post office, general shops & large supermarket. Cold or frozen foods didn't have time to defrost with just a short distance back to the apartment. At the back of the apartment building is another courtyard and a laundry room with a washer, a dryer & a large sink ( ideal for rinsing swimming things) & a washing line. The tram stop was also just around the corner. It runs from Glenelg to Adelaide city...an excellent service.The cost of the apartment was very reasonable compared to other apartments & accommodation in Glenelg.
We really enjoyed our stay and would highly recommend it. We'll definitely stay again when we're next in Australia.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vicand1027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2013

I stayed at Glenelg Gateway Apartments from November 30th - Dec 5th 2012. From the second I got there you got a feeling of friendliness :) Connie who runs the place literally could not do enough to make me comfortable and make things more convenient. For example, when I arrived due to a mix up by my company who booked the trip, they were not expecting me until 1am, I arrive at midday. Connie rearranged rooms and ensured my room was cleaned straight away so I didnt have to hang around. Also, when I was due to leave I was able to stay in the room until 5pm as my flight wasnt until the evening. I imagine this is not always the case (due to whether rooms are available) but I see this as going above and beyond expectations.
The apartment itself was clean, spacious and well equipt with everything you would need.
The location is excellent, it is at the top of Jetty Road right next to the tram stop which takes you in to the city within 20 minutes. Also, the beach is five minutes walk straight down Jetty rd where there are a number of places to shop, eat and drink. The beach was lovely and not overcrowded.
I would recommend this apartment to families, couples, friends, anyone really!!
Thanks Connie!

Room Tip: We stayed in the top apartment at the front, great to sit on the balcony with a drink ;)
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank aleroo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glenelg hotels
0.6 mi away
Seawall Apartments
Seawall Apartments
#1 of 7 in Glenelg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 711 reviews
0.5 mi away
Stamford Grand Adelaide
0.6 mi away
Oaks Plaza Pier Apartment Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Atlantic Tower Motor Inn
0.4 mi away
Ensenada Motor Inn and Suites
0.5 mi away
Oaks Liberty Towers
Oaks Liberty Towers
#1 of 12 in Glenelg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glenelg Gateway Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glenelg Gateway Apartments

Property: Glenelg Gateway Apartments
Address: 35 Brighton Rd, Glenelg, South Australia 5045, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Glenelg
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 Speciality Lodging in Glenelg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Glenelg Gateway Apartments 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Glenelg Gateway Apartments offers quality fully furnished and self contained accommodation at very affordable and competitive rates. The apartments are conveniently located in Glenelg and are just a few metres away from the Jetty Road shopping precinct. These apartments are a one minute’s walk to the city-bound tram stop, supermarket and all your shopping needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Glenelg Gateway Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing