We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it!”
Review of The Oyster Bar

The Oyster Bar
Ranked #8 of 161 Restaurants in Glenelg
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$29
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Loved it!”
Reviewed 29 June 2014

8 of us went out to Glenelg on tram to have lunch at Oyster Bar. We were really delighted with our meals, I had the mixed platter and especially loved the Darleyfellas. We started outside with plastic sides down but then had a smoker at table next to us so moved inside (not used to that in NZ) I recommend this restaurant

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tommo1938
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    79
    59
    17
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
332 reviews
235 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
Reviewed 10 June 2014 via mobile

Day trip to Glenelg.
Shared 2 dozen oysters and a bottle of really cold bottle of South Australian Riesling over looking the marina on a sunny May afternoon.
The service was excellent
The oysters were fresh, however were not plump and were small " ( too small to take from their mothers) " -
Lots of choices however we had natural .
I would take more notice of the oysters next time I ordered .

Helpful?
1 Thank Coroona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
191 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere & location”
Reviewed 9 June 2014

We spent a couple of hours here, warm as toast in the outdoor undercover area.
The views to the marina were fantastic & the passing parade of people interesting.
The food was great, the oysters in particular were delicious - we had the Kilpatrick & the mornay.
The prawns & spring rolls were tasty & the salt & pepper calamari was to die for!
The menfolk were able to watch the football on the outdoor tv screens which are mounted above the entry outside. Service was good, the drinks well put together & we had a ball.
I would highly recommend The Oyster Bar :)

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bubbles-in-Oz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Delightful Darleyfellas”
Reviewed 8 June 2014

We visit the "OB" regularly, so recently made it the place for a casual get-together for a friend's birthday - a great setting overlooking the Marina, with lots of atmosphere. There are three seating areas: indoors, plus two separate outdoor options (both of which are well heated and have those clear blinds to enclose against the weather), This place seems to be the heartbeat of the Marina - food and drinks run all day, great wine selection (plenty by the glass) beers, ciders, spirits, coffee, hot chocolate etc. The Oysters Darleyfella were definitely the hit of the day (mornay/spinach), followed closely by the duck spring rolls. But you don't need to be an oyster lover to enjoy the food - dips, share platters (spring rolls, arancini balls, olives, fetta, antipasto meats, stuffed bellpeppers, dukkah/olive oil/bread) succulent salt & pepper squid, barbecue prawns, salads, wedges and fries... even the six year old in our group enjoyed the afternoon (hmmm... I wonder whether the beautiful boats in the Marina also had a lot to do with that?). The staff and kitchen were kept busy, but we found service to be friendly and attentive. A couple of large but unobtrusive TV screens are inside - handy, as the boys needed a football update from time to time. Whether its a relaxing afternoon, casual dining, meeting spot with friends (or making new ones), drinks before dinner, people watching, or live entertainment on Sunday afternoon, Oyster Bar at Glenelg is thoroughly recommended. Watch out for the occasional visiting dolphins that follow the boats in!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Janet S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barossa Valley
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Love this place”
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Love this place so much, great staff, atmosphere, awesome oysters you must try the darly fella oysters, music on weekends. Have been going here for years, but recently took my son for his 9th birthday as a treat. The lady who served us during the day was devine. Made my son feel so special even made a special fruit punch drink for him for his birthday. Thank you again for always making us feel so special.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Getaways43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Oyster Bar also viewed

Glenelg, Greater Adelaide
Glenelg, Greater Adelaide
 
Glenelg, Greater Adelaide
Glenelg, Greater Adelaide
 

Been to The Oyster Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing