We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“If you like Chinese then visit here!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Lychie

Lychie
Ranked #31 of 155 Restaurants in Glenelg
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Child-friendly, View
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
173 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“If you like Chinese then visit here!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2013 via mobile

Only arrived in Adelaide this afternoon and on,t here for one night did not check trip advisor! However looked along the Marina front and was impressed with this restuarant. Has the special 6 course meal. Food excellent. Service spot on. Even got helpful hints of places to visit I Adelaide and surrounds. Good value and even had our favourite Jasmine Tea.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Nick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    40
    15
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Northern England
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent Chinese Restaurant With Attentive Staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2013

I went here for a meal with two friends mid-week in the evening. We were seated immediately and given ample time to chat, read the menu and decide what to eat. We started with Dim Sum, then had crispy duck and pancakes, and then 3 main meals.

All courses were piping hot, served when we wanted them, and we didn't feel rushed. Drinks were poured discretely so as not to interrupt our conversation, and we were given plenty of time between courses in order to digest our food and get ready for the next course.

Whilst the meal wasn't cheap, it was good value for the 3 of us, and was good value.

I will certainly eat here again when I am in Adelaide.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank scruffer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2013

Went for tea on Saturday and was very disappointed with our meal. We used a voucher which I have used at other restaurants and not been disappointed with our meal as I was at Lychie. The service was great, very helpful and attentive but the food was not that enjoyable.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ChrisF52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, South Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent, tasty food and great service...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2013

Bought a voucher meal deal for 4-people and expected pretty ordinary fare with reduced size servings. To our delight, the service was first rate and the food was just superb - and no short changing on the size of serves. The four of us each ordered something different and shared, so we could get a broad opinion of the food. We all rated this the best Asian restaurant in town and we've been to a few. I expect the idea of the discount vouchers is to get people to try these places at a bargain price, hopefully to have them return and pay the normal rate later. Well, it worked for us. We will be back! Time is too short to waste it at inferior restaurants. Lychie is just marvelous.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JulesFrank123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fantastic all over best Asian restaurant in Glenelg. Must try!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2013

As locals we eat down the Marina every weekend but for no reason seemed to have skipped this delightful place. Inside we were delighted to see no daggy decorations instead subtle asian decor influence with crisp white tablecloths that I just love in any good restaurant.
Staff were very friendly and attentive over dinner and food and wine delicious and reasonable priced. If you want cheap, greasy food, thick wine glasses and terrible Chinese decorations this place is not for you.
Mr N and I shared spring rolls and satay prawns for entree. Rolls were good size and prawns absolutely delicious. For mains we decided to share again the seafood sizzling plate and also the sizzling meat plate without pork as I am allergic and staff were happy to oblige.We had our mains with steamed rice which was plenty for us but if you had a larger appetite you might want to add a vet able dish but we didn't feel it necessarily. Both dishes were superb fresh, plentiful and well presented..Menu also catered for most people by including steaks and seafood dishes so can take the whole family or variety of friends with different tastes.
Wine by the bottle were same as other restaurants in the area but we tried the house wine as it came as a special with our dinner which was very easy drinking and actual enjoyed it. Not sure where it came from but I had a glass of white and Mr N chose the red.
Looking forward to returning again soon. Thanking the staff for a lovely evening.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lindsey-Nils
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Lychie also viewed

Glenelg, Greater Adelaide
Glenelg, Greater Adelaide
 
Glenelg, Greater Adelaide
Glenelg, Greater Adelaide
 

Been to Lychie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing