We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very dirty, indifferent owner/operator”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Comfort Inn Anzac Highway
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Glenelg
Wellington, Florida
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Very dirty, indifferent owner/operator”
Reviewed 9 March 2013

We stayed at this hotel for one night, due to missing our flight to Auckland. This was the dirtiest hotel we have ever stayed in. My baby's knees and hands were pitch black with filth. When we asked the owner of the hotel about it, he shrugged and went on about a non toxic chemical treatment they use on the carpets being the cause, and that they would switch to something else... We were disgusted. Avoid at all cost. Another couple also staying there had the same issue and left after one night of their child covered in soot. I only gave them Poor due to the great location.

Room Tip: Don't stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank IanCTD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    14
    35
    14
    3
    5
See reviews for
26
19
4
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
W
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2013

My advice to any traveller is to avoid this motel at all costs! It is a shabby dive of a motel and our experience was awful despite the staff’s best efforts.
The 1st room we were given (rm 31) was infested with ants in large numbers on all furniture and walls, including the bed. When I complained to office staff - they told me ants are common in Adelaide and are everywhere, they stated that they had no other rooms, and that they could not do anything until after their on-site restaurant dinner rush was finished. The office staff were none committal in regards to what and when they would/could do anything in regards to the ants in the room. If I had not have just driven a straight 8 hours from of our home to Adelaide I would have demanded a full refund and found accommodation elsewhere. Later the staff found that they suddenly had a room that was free, which they offered to us. This room (no 22) was ant free, but shabby, and the room's dark blue carpet colour/dye kept transferring onto the bottom of our feet whenever walked bare-footed on it. It also transferred a dark blue permanent stain onto any clothing that had the misfortune to fall onto the carpet.
On day 2 of our stay a motel staff member rented out a room (neighbouring ours) to one of their relative(s)/family friend(s) - who used the room to host a LOUD and boozy all day AND all night party for a large crowd of unruly, obnoxious, drunk "20'something's". When I complained to the motel staff in the office about the ridiculous noise levels and disturbance from the party nothing was done. I later witnessed the same staff member speaking with some of the room’s inhabitants in the motel parking lot about an incident which had occurred at the party and it was clear the staff member knew them all personally. In addition - please note that this hotel is also at least a sweaty 30-40 minute walk to the beach....so do not be seduced by their claim that the motel is a 500 meter walk to the beach.
So based on our 2 day/3 night experience staying at this motel I really would advise that everyone steer clear of this place and book elsewhere. The place really is an embarrassment to the "Comfort Inn Brand" which I have previously stayed in several locations worldwide with satisfaction...until now. This motel was a huge let down to our first trip to the area and I wish I had check further on its reputation before I booked.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank J M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Glenelg hotels

Level Contributor
173 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2013

Stayed here twice in December with the family. More than adequate for our needs, walking distance to Glenelg. Rooms are comfy and clean. Plenty of space for two addults and one child. Pool close handy and the restaurant on the one time we used it was fine. Recommended for famil stay close to beaches.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mamiab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2012

Second visit to this establishment - still good value. Adequate room, comfy and clean with space for two adults to move about easily. Light outside room at night was annoying and sunrise light spread into room - suggest darkening window above door to decrease light entering room when darkness preferred. That said, electrical lighting in room was also dim. Luckily time in room was minimal. Great location close to Glenelg, and walking distance to tram-stop, into Adelaide. Restaurant food was good, and plenty. Cheerful atmosphere and most visitors seem to be absent from about 9am.

Room Tip: Rooms near pool can be noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank statschap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2012

We had just driven from the Barossa Valley for a day in Adelaide before flying on to Singapore the next day.
We had no idea where to stay but had found the details of this and another motel on the net before we set off. Fortunately we decided not to take a room at the unfriendly Aviator lodge down the road and spent a night here instead. The room was a bit dated but clean and the bathroom clean and spacious. There was a handy laundry room and a good area with a washing line to dry the clothes. A small swimming pool with sun loungers and a BBQ which was all clean and tidy. There were not many other guests as I guess it was out of season and so we got a discount on the regular room rate. Good place for a night or two and in a very good location. The No 14 tram stop to the city is a short walk away and charming Glenelg its self is a few minutes by car. There are some great restaurants to choose from at the Marina area and a choice of shops in the town. A trip to Brighton and Hove was a short drive away and the ride to the airport to get our onwards flight was quick and easy.

Room Tip: Anzac Highway is busy so I would avoid a room nearby
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stephen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brè sopra Lugano, Ticino, Switzerland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2012

We arrived at the hotel late in the evening. Not so close to the airport as they said. Dirty room; poor service; very dirty floor. We were lucky to stay there only foe a few hours.
Better to choose another place!

Room Tip: Simply not to go there
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrea P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
274 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2012 via mobile

We arrived at the hotel around 10.30am and our rooms were all ready to be occupied.
We hired two rooms and they were adjoining so they were convenient on the second floor.
They were both very dated and are in desperate need for a makeover and an update.
The television was older than the ark....
It was suitable for a cheap weekend but if you are looking for something more upmarket, give it a miss.
It is walking distance to Glenelg's main shopping / restaurant strip.
The hotel staff were extre helpful.
Will stay again.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mork001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glenelg hotels
0.8 mi away
Stamford Grand Adelaide
0.6 mi away
Atlantic Tower Motor Inn
0.8 mi away
Oaks Plaza Pier Apartment Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Ensenada Motor Inn and Suites
1.0 mi away
Seawall Apartments
Seawall Apartments
#1 of 7 in Glenelg
728 reviews
0.6 mi away
Glenelg Motel
Glenelg Motel
#2 of 7 in Glenelg
138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn Anzac Highway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Anzac Highway

Property: Comfort Inn Anzac Highway
Address: 626 Anzac Hwy, Glenelg, South Australia 5045, Australia
Region: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Glenelg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Glenelg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Comfort Inn Anzac Highway 3.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Comfort Inn Anzac Highway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing