We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent 21st Celebration”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Stamford Grand Adelaide
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Glenelg
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
“Excellent 21st Celebration”
Reviewed 25 November 2013

I was planing on spending my 21st in queensland with a few friend, but it was around the time of the floods over there, so i ended up having a few nights at the grand, The room was great and we had an exellent view of the beach... which is alway something nice to wake up to..., we had dessert that night via room service and which was promt and tasted great, my friend and i stiil rave about the icecream, Breakfast was Wonderful... I ate way to much. A lot of time ws spent in the pool and spa, wespent time at the beach and shopping, I would recommend a stay a this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Montanna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,245 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    861
    785
    383
    133
    83
See reviews for
398
1,033
85
465
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (516)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 21 November 2013

Friendly and helpful staff throughout the Hotel. Beautiful room with views of the city and the bonus was a spa in the bathroom!! Wasn't expected!! Food in Promenade Restaurant top quality and delicious Aussie Burger had in the bar. Was useful to have valet parking as not a lot of parking available in the area. Great touristy area with heaps to see and do - beach and shopping. Gym and swimming pool with spa in the Hotel. Recommend stay at The Grand, Glenelg.

Room Tip: Stay and enjoy! All good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 757JulieH757
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
102 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2013

This was the venue of the recent almond industry conference - good choice - the location is excellent on Glenelg beach. As per my last stay, the staff were very helpful and informative - always a great start and gives a good initial impression. The room was well appointed and had a comfortable bed with a range of pillows. Would appear the good hotels are listening and reading reviews. I had no issue with my short stay and the government rate is very good.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the beach, you might get lucky
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank reichers59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bendigo, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
73 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2013

Some weeks ago my husband booked accommodation at the Stamford. We were disappointed with our room as it looked into a concrete wall. When we asked to be upgraded we were advised that all rooms were fully booked. Overlooking the sea would have been greatly appreciated as it was a beautiful setting.
Our room was obviously for disabled as we had curtains around the shower and water splashed out on the floor. There were also rails beside the toilet. The Housekeeper gave us extra towels as we used them to keep us from slipping on the wet floor.
We didn't spend much time in the room because of the above, and we found the air conditioner to be very loud. Suggestion to move the picture from behind the TV so it can be seen!
Staying in that area was great as there was a tram to the city and lovely walks along the beach and a choice of Restaurants.

Room Tip: Ask about the view from the room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nora7040
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Justin_Higgins, General Manager at Stamford Grand Adelaide, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
Dear Nora7040

Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay with us.

For your information you will be pleased to note that we are planning for a refurbishment of various areas of the hotel including our guest rooms and that we will also be upgrading our air conditioning units in our guest rooms in the near future.

Thank you again for your comments, they are appreciated, and we look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back some time soon.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sa
1 review
Reviewed 16 November 2013

This was our 3rd stay at The Grand. We had out wedding reception there 10 years ago. They did a great job. We decided to go back bad celebrate our anniversary. The hotel is nice but definately needs some upgrading. In the three visits this was our first time visiting the pool area. We went to have a spa. Hopped in, nice and warm, put on the bubbles then... Pigeons. Pigeons flying everywhere, pigeon nest on the floor and the sudden realisation the splash in the pool wasn't a person, it was a pigeon poo! Then noticed it around the spa. I suddenly didn't feel like enjoying much more time in there and out we hopped. For the price you pay to stay it shouldn't be like this. You pay to use pool areas etc without disgusting birds everywhere. The hotel could at least try to clean it daily. Nests etc on floor is not on. Hotel is in great location but a few things need improving.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel1006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Justin_Higgins, General Manager at Stamford Grand Adelaide, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
Dear Rachel1006

Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay with us.

Regrettably, the pigeon population within the entire council area is a problem and our pool deck is one of their preferred locations. We currently clean that area daily. We are working with the council on an eradication program.

Also, you will be pleased to note that we are planning for a refurbishment of various areas of the hotel including our guest rooms in the near future.

Thank you again for your comments, they are appreciated, and we look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back some time soon.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2013

Lovely room for a High Tea, but sadly lacking...no table cloths, no fine china (Cole cafeteria grade)! Staff great, food average. Also booked 4 nights accommodation months ahead on "wotif", selected twin share, paid appropriate room rate. Only to be given first night a kingsize bed room to share with my friend, next 2 nights we could move to a twin share, then last night...back to a kingsize bed room. Why then...give "wotif" the rooms/rates available if there is no guarantee if booking thru a third party such as "wotif" (receptions excuse). Luckily, (3 attempts) found a receptionist who could help at least with the 3 remaining nights. Would have liked to use spa & pool, but sadly dumping ground for birds pooping from overhead beams. Overall made the most our stay, lovely location on the beach.

Room Tip: ocean views are beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank martyjm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Justin_Higgins, General Manager at Stamford Grand Adelaide, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
Dear Martyjm

Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay with us.

I am very disappointed to read that you and your guests’ experience was not all that you expected. I would like to assure you I have addressed your concerns with my management team to prevent a recurrence.

Regrettably, the pigeon population within the entire council area is a problem and our pool deck is one of their preferred locations. We currently clean that area daily. We are working with the council on an eradication program.

Thank you again for your comments, they are appreciated, and we look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back some time soon.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 14 November 2013

Nice looking hotel with comfortable rooms, but the services for gthe business traveller are poor. Wifi expensive and poor quality. After 34 hr of talking to consultants and the reception staff I gave up trying to connect my VPN which would not work... went to McDonnalds instead!. TV system was out of the 1990's. The meeting rooms were noisy and had poor temperatire regulation. It has seen better days.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Justin_Higgins, General Manager at Stamford Grand Adelaide, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
Dear Andy S

Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay with us.

I have taken on board your comments regarding free WiFi for guests, I have also passed on your comments regarding noisy conference rooms to my management team. Please be assured that steps are being taken to prevent a recurrence.

Thank you again for your comments, they are appreciated, and we look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back some time soon.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glenelg
0.2 mi away
Oaks Plaza Pier Apartment Hotel
0.3 mi away
Seawall Apartments
Seawall Apartments
#1 of 7 in Glenelg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 711 reviews
0.3 mi away
Atlantic Tower Motor Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Ensenada Motor Inn and Suites
6.4 mi away
Stamford Plaza Adelaide
Stamford Plaza Adelaide
#13 of 57 in Adelaide
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,083 reviews
6.3 mi away
The Playford - MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stamford Grand Adelaide? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stamford Grand Adelaide

Property: Stamford Grand Adelaide
Address: Grand Hotel 2 Jetty Rd, Glenelg, South Australia 5045, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Glenelg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Glenelg
#2 Luxury Hotel in Glenelg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Stamford Grand Adelaide 5*
Number of rooms: 220
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stamford Grand Adelaide is one of the best luxury accommodations in Glenelg Adelaide, located on the absolute beachfront. Stamford Grand Adelaide Hotel is an ideal base for you to discover all that Glenelg and Adelaide have to offer. Our Glenelg accommodation is perfect for those who are looking for a beachside location that is close to Adelaide's special events, yet out of the city! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Stamford Grand Adelaide reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stamford Grand Adelaide Glenelg
Stamford Grand Adelaide Hotel Glenelg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing