We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Last holiday meal in Glenelg”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Stamford Grand Adelaide
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Glenelg
Rangiora, New Zealand
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Last holiday meal in Glenelg”
Reviewed 3 August 2014

First impressions are of The Grand Budapest Hotel! Rather tired but still an impressive interior and seating.We had a couple of Bloody Marys,exceptional,then retired to the dining room. Great service by the staff and the Baby Barra was perfect. Overall the meal was very good,wine selection equally as good and a very memorable final night in Glenelg.(we did not stay at the hotel but rented an appartment in Glenelg)

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Justin_Higgins, General Manager at Stamford Grand Adelaide, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Dear Stan B

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback. We pride ourselves on our stunning, absolute beachfront position and I am delighted to learn that your dining experience with us was enjoyable.

We hope to have you return to Stamford Grand and experience our accommodation facilities in the near future

Thank you again for your feedback
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,252 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    866
    786
    384
    133
    83
See reviews for
398
1,039
85
465
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (516)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Launceston, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

We saw an ad in a regional newspaper for the winter special and after a quick phone call to check availability for that night, decided to detour on our way back to Melbourne for a night in Adelaide. On arrival, the concierge was extremely helpful with secure storage of our bicycles (so that our vehicle would fit in the parking area). We decided to upgrade to an ocean view room and were delighted with the suite we were given on the 9th floor. The room was spacious and comfortable and it was bonus for our family of 4 to have the extra sitting area overlooking the Glenelg pier. The hotel is central to many places to eat, but after a short walk around to look at options for dinner, we enjoyed the hamburgers offered in the Grand Bar. As our children are both under 12, they were able to order a free kid's meal with each adult meal in the Bar, as well as free breakfast the next morning (2 adult buffet breakfasts were included in our room rate). The inclusion of these meals made the overnight stop extremely affordable and we were very pleased with our decision to stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BFamilyTas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Justin_Higgins, General Manager at Stamford Grand Adelaide, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Dear BFamily Tas

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback.

I am pleased to read you were able to take advantage of our winter accommodation special in combination with our Kids eat for free dining options. This has been well received by families and we will continue to promote this package.

Thank you again for your comments, they are appreciated, and we look forward to welcoming you back some time soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Dated. The hotel was neat and clean, but just seemed a little dated (even for Stamford's Grand brand).

Location was nice, plenty of options around for dining. In-room dining was acceptable.

Staff were pleasant and friendly.

Room Tip: Get a room on an upper level with a beach view - fantastic sunsets across the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlanCarver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Justin_Higgins, General Manager at Stamford Grand Adelaide, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Dear AlanCarver

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback. We pride ourselves on our stunning, absolute beachfront position and I am delighted to learn that your stay with us was enjoyable.

You will be pleased to note that we are planning for a refurbishment of various areas of the hotel including our guest rooms in the near future.

Thank you again for your comments, they are appreciated, and we look forward to welcoming you back some time soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level Contributor
338 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 294 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014

My husband and I had a corner sea view room on the 12th floor. although the four night stay was comfortable, the over- all condition of the hotel is showing its age. The furniture is somewhat dated , there is a lot of painting needed. The best feature of the hotel is its location, to the beach front and to the near by shops . I love the foyer and the grand staircase .

Room Tip: Ask for room overlooking the beach or Moseley Square .
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank susy1Brisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Justin_Higgins, General Manager at Stamford Grand Adelaide, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Dear Susy1Brisbane

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback. We pride ourselves on our stunning, absolute beachfront position and I am delighted to learn that your stay with us was enjoyable.

You will be pleased to note that we are planning for a refurbishment with stage one of this process now complete we are underway on stage two.

Thank you again for your comments, they are appreciated, and we look forward to welcoming you back some time soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
61 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

I stayed in this hotel one night with my family in July 2014. Hotels has this Grand , old appearance and situated facing the lovely Glenelg beach. You can walk across to the beach and to the pier and watch planes descending to the Adelaide airport from your room if you get a seaview room.

Receptionist was good and it was a smooth check in. Rooms and carpets look a bit old and tired. Shower over bath may not be the best soecially if you are old and got bad knees etc. No issues with cleanliness,

We did not eat from the hotel since a short walk leads to the square with a lot of eating out options, Car parking could cost you 20-25 AUD per day.

Overall it was a nice stay, mostly contributed by the Glenelg beach.

Room Tip: Magnificient sea views for a little bit extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amu2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Justin_Higgins, General Manager at Stamford Grand Adelaide, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Dear amu2

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback. We pride ourselves on our stunning, absolute beachfront position and I am delighted to learn that your stay with us was enjoyable.

You will be pleased to note that we are planning for a refurbishment of various areas of the hotel including our guest rooms in the near future.

Thank you again for your comments, they are appreciated, and we look forward to welcoming you back some time soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
87 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

It seems petty to criticise a good hotel for its light switches, but despite previous alerts nothing has happened.
Maybe it's just the rooms we are allotted, but we have found that all lights, apart from the vestibule light, are operated by switches on one side of the bed. And you cannot have one reading light on and the other off. My wife wants to read, I want to sleep? Sorry, I have to have my reading light on.
I daresay the management will respond with the usual "We are constantly upgrading (renovating etc) our rooms" but after years of encountering this one problem that no longer impresses.
Would we stay there again? Yes -- an easy run into the city, Jetty Road is fun, the beach is right there. But we do wish they would rewire their lights.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Swaggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Justin_Higgins, General Manager at Stamford Grand Adelaide, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Dear Swaggie

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback.

I appreciate your comments and have taken these on board and are in the process of reviewing what our options are.

Thank you again for your comments, they are appreciated, and we look forward to welcoming you back some time soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Virginia
Level Contributor
120 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

After reading some reviews I was a little apprehensive about booking this hotel, but did so anyway because of the location for our business needs. I am so very happy that we booked the Stamford! Our room was clean, nicely appointed, and large ( ocean view w/ balcony). The view was spectacular. Every staff member we encountered was friendly and helpful. The location wa great for leisurely beach walks, restaurants, and shopping.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JAR59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Justin_Higgins, General Manager at Stamford Grand Adelaide, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Dear JAR59

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback. We pride ourselves on our stunning, absolute beachfront position and I am delighted to learn that your stay with us was enjoyable.

We look forward to your next stay

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glenelg
0.2 mi away
Oaks Plaza Pier Apartment Hotel
0.3 mi away
Seawall Apartments
Seawall Apartments
#1 of 7 in Glenelg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 711 reviews
0.3 mi away
Atlantic Tower Motor Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Ensenada Motor Inn and Suites
6.4 mi away
Stamford Plaza Adelaide
Stamford Plaza Adelaide
#13 of 57 in Adelaide
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,086 reviews
6.3 mi away
The Playford - MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stamford Grand Adelaide? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stamford Grand Adelaide

Property: Stamford Grand Adelaide
Address: Grand Hotel 2 Jetty Rd, Glenelg, South Australia 5045, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Glenelg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Glenelg
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Glenelg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Stamford Grand Adelaide 5*
Number of rooms: 220
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stamford Grand Adelaide is one of the best luxury accommodations in Glenelg Adelaide, located on the absolute beachfront. Stamford Grand Adelaide Hotel is an ideal base for you to discover all that Glenelg and Adelaide have to offer. Our Glenelg accommodation is perfect for those who are looking for a beachside location that is close to Adelaide's special events, yet out of the city! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, TravelUp, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Stamford Grand Adelaide reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stamford Grand Adelaide Glenelg
Stamford Grand Adelaide Hotel Glenelg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing