We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Business trip to Adelaide” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Stamford Grand Adelaide

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Stamford Grand Adelaide
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Glenelg
Buderim, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Business trip to Adelaide”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014

Staff and Location are the high points of this hotel, low points are cost of parking and the ridiculous cost of in house WiFi. As a business traveller they need to look at bundling these 2 items into their offerings , not rose petals and chocolates.
Silly that you can book with a thrid party cheaper than directly with the hotel.
Have been spending 1 to 2 weeks per month there but may move on if the parking and wifi costs do not improve .

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gil E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Justin_Higgins, General Manager at Stamford Grand Adelaide, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Dear Gil E

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback. We pride ourselves on our stunning, absolute beachfront position and I am delighted to learn that your stay with us was enjoyable.

I have taken on board your comments regarding WiFi and parking for guests, this is an area that is currently under review as we are actively working to improve our operation and product in order to satisfy our guests.

Gil E, thank you again for your feedback and I trust that we may look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,044 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    776
    705
    357
    127
    79
See reviews for
358
925
80
430
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (500)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

We enjoyed this hotel because of it's position. Get a room facing the ocean - lovely sunsets. The staff were pleasant and efficient and the bar off the main lobby (can't remember the name) was very comfortable and well furnished. Unfortunately I agree with some other reviews that the rooms need an update - there is quite a bit of rust around and some older fittings in bathrooms. No furniture on the balcony was a real disappointment - even in the cold weather the opportunity to rug up and look out at the ocean would have been nice. And, finally the cost of Wi-Fi was just silly. This should definitely be free.

Room Tip: Definitely get a room ocean side - the sunsets are beautiful and there were dolphins on one day.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KarinMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Justin_Higgins, General Manager at Stamford Grand Adelaide, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Dear KarinMelbourne

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback. We pride ourselves on our stunning, absolute beachfront position and I am delighted to learn that your stay with us was enjoyable.

I have taken on board your comments regarding free WiFi for guests, this is an area that is currently under review as we are actively working to improve our operation and product in order to satisfy our guests.

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

POSITIVES - Room was quite big. Breakfast was great lots of choice. Very quiet. Staff were great, good customer service.

NEGATIVES - The balcony is pathetic no furniture so nowhere to sit, very, very small. Pillows are extremely flat not comfortable at all. Asked for feather ones but it seems they don't have any as we were not accomodated. If you want hot food sold luke warm order the toasted ham sandwich (only said ham sandwich didn't mention toasted on menu) from the grand bar, disgusting, even the hot chips were luke warm. YUCK. Broken tiles in the bathroom.

Room Tip: Stay at the Playford in the city, a bit more expensive but much better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank speedymary6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Justin_Higgins, General Manager at Stamford Grand Adelaide, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Dear Speedymary6

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback.

We apologise for the inconsistent service received your concerns raised have been taken on board and addressed with my Food & Beverage Director.

Thank you again for your comments, they are appreciated, and we look forward to welcoming you back some time soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rangiora, New Zealand
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

First impressions are of The Grand Budapest Hotel! Rather tired but still an impressive interior and seating.We had a couple of Bloody Marys,exceptional,then retired to the dining room. Great service by the staff and the Baby Barra was perfect. Overall the meal was very good,wine selection equally as good and a very memorable final night in Glenelg.(we did not stay at the hotel but rented an appartment in Glenelg)

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Justin_Higgins, General Manager at Stamford Grand Adelaide, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Dear Stan B

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback. We pride ourselves on our stunning, absolute beachfront position and I am delighted to learn that your dining experience with us was enjoyable.

We hope to have you return to Stamford Grand and experience our accommodation facilities in the near future

Thank you again for your feedback
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Launceston, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

We saw an ad in a regional newspaper for the winter special and after a quick phone call to check availability for that night, decided to detour on our way back to Melbourne for a night in Adelaide. On arrival, the concierge was extremely helpful with secure storage of our bicycles (so that our vehicle would fit in the parking area). We decided to upgrade to an ocean view room and were delighted with the suite we were given on the 9th floor. The room was spacious and comfortable and it was bonus for our family of 4 to have the extra sitting area overlooking the Glenelg pier. The hotel is central to many places to eat, but after a short walk around to look at options for dinner, we enjoyed the hamburgers offered in the Grand Bar. As our children are both under 12, they were able to order a free kid's meal with each adult meal in the Bar, as well as free breakfast the next morning (2 adult buffet breakfasts were included in our room rate). The inclusion of these meals made the overnight stop extremely affordable and we were very pleased with our decision to stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BFamilyTas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Justin_Higgins, General Manager at Stamford Grand Adelaide, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Dear BFamily Tas

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback.

I am pleased to read you were able to take advantage of our winter accommodation special in combination with our Kids eat for free dining options. This has been well received by families and we will continue to promote this package.

Thank you again for your comments, they are appreciated, and we look forward to welcoming you back some time soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

Dated. The hotel was neat and clean, but just seemed a little dated (even for Stamford's Grand brand).

Location was nice, plenty of options around for dining. In-room dining was acceptable.

Staff were pleasant and friendly.

Room Tip: Get a room on an upper level with a beach view - fantastic sunsets across the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AlanCarver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Justin_Higgins, General Manager at Stamford Grand Adelaide, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Dear AlanCarver

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback. We pride ourselves on our stunning, absolute beachfront position and I am delighted to learn that your stay with us was enjoyable.

You will be pleased to note that we are planning for a refurbishment of various areas of the hotel including our guest rooms in the near future.

Thank you again for your comments, they are appreciated, and we look forward to welcoming you back some time soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level Contributor
325 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 282 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014

My husband and I had a corner sea view room on the 12th floor. although the four night stay was comfortable, the over- all condition of the hotel is showing its age. The furniture is somewhat dated , there is a lot of painting needed. The best feature of the hotel is its location, to the beach front and to the near by shops . I love the foyer and the grand staircase .

Room Tip: Ask for room overlooking the beach or Moseley Square .
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank susy1Brisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Justin_Higgins, General Manager at Stamford Grand Adelaide, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Dear Susy1Brisbane

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback. We pride ourselves on our stunning, absolute beachfront position and I am delighted to learn that your stay with us was enjoyable.

You will be pleased to note that we are planning for a refurbishment with stage one of this process now complete we are underway on stage two.

Thank you again for your comments, they are appreciated, and we look forward to welcoming you back some time soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glenelg
0.2 mi away
Oaks Plaza Pier Apartment Hotel
0.3 mi away
Seawall Apartments
Seawall Apartments
#1 of 7 in Glenelg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 671 reviews
0.3 mi away
Atlantic Tower Motor Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Ensenada Motor Inn and Suites
6.4 mi away
Stamford Plaza Adelaide
Stamford Plaza Adelaide
#13 of 58 in Adelaide
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,930 reviews
6.3 mi away
The Playford - MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stamford Grand Adelaide? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stamford Grand Adelaide

Property: Stamford Grand Adelaide
Address: Grand Hotel 2 Jetty Rd, Glenelg, South Australia 5045, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Glenelg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Glenelg
#2 Luxury Hotel in Glenelg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Stamford Grand Adelaide 5*
Number of rooms: 220
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stamford Grand Adelaide is one of the best luxury accommodations in Glenelg Adelaide, located on the absolute beachfront. Stamford Grand Adelaide Hotel is an ideal base for you to discover all that Glenelg and Adelaide have to offer. Our Glenelg accommodation is perfect for those who are looking for a beachside location that is close to Adelaide's special events, yet out of the city! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Prestigia, Agoda, Odigeo and TravelUp so you can book your Stamford Grand Adelaide reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stamford Grand Adelaide Glenelg
Stamford Grand Adelaide Hotel Glenelg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing