We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff; avoid the breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Stamford Grand Adelaide
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Glenelg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 August 2014

Best part of this hotel is the friendly and helpful concierge Jared. Also, terrific view from the beach side units. However, rooms are in need of refurbishment. And, the restaurant is terribly mediocre and overpriced. $31 per person for a perfectly dismal buffet breakfast. Better to grab a bite at one of the many local cafes.

Room Tip: Upgrade to seaside is worth the extra cost
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Susan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,816)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2,212 - 2,218 of 2,816 reviews

Reviewed 24 August 2014

You need to ensue that when you book a room that it actually comes with a beach view, which is magnificent! Otherwise you will get a view of a parking lot and some of the city horizon!
Overall a great old building, rooms are very tired and old. Food was average and the service during our event dinner was slow and disjointed.
However the staff in general where quite good.

Room Tip: Rooms on the beach side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank johnsQ9418RK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2014 via mobile

Fabulous hotel, right on beach, large room, snuggly bed and pillow, magnificent view. It ticks all the boxes. This was the quietest room, usually there are all sorts of noises that keep me awake at a hotel but all I heard was the gentle lapping of the waves from the beach below. Best hotel ever!!!

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Lissy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2014

I had read recent reviews which pointed out the tired furnishings/fittings/facilities but was prepared to contend with that in exchange for beachfront location and competitive room rate. Stayed 3 nites incl. last Sat/Sun. The hotel was very busy but what it lacked in up to date facilities was more than made up for by very friendly/helpful/prompt staff attention. Enjoyed the stay very much. Full buffet breakfast was very good so include if possible along with self parking if needed. Recommend an ocean view room with balcony although can't understand why no balcony furniture provided so guests can sit & enjoy a drink etc. watching the sunset. We can be sure that when a refurbishment does take place the room rate will soar so enjoy it while you can !!!

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Gunna046
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Justin_Higgins, General Manager at Stamford Grand Adelaide, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2014

Dear Gunna046

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback. We pride ourselves on our stunning, absolute beachfront position and I am delighted to learn that your stay with us was enjoyable.

We are always delighted to hear that our staff are upholding our exceptional service standards.

Gunna046, thank you again for your feedback and I trust that we may look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you to the Stamford Grand Adelaide in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Stayed in last weekend and it's my second time.
It's roughly a 15-20 minute taxi ride from the city and probably a 10 minute ride from the airport.
The hotel itself is located in a nice area full of shops/restaurants and next to a tram which goes directly to the city and takes 35-45 minutes. Staff a very helpful and very quick to point you in the right direction, the gym is below average and could do with an update but is fine for people who want to use basic weights. Pool area is nice but could do with a little love once and a while, Sauna wasn't working nor was the spa. Besides that I cant complain about accommodation, stay Friday and Saturday night with a friend and cost us basically $300. If your in to sports,bars, shopping etc....your better off staying in the city because it's a bit of a drainer staying at Glenelg and travelling back and forth everyday..

Room Tip: Twin Double bed room is perfect for 2-4 people.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank justin p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Justin_Higgins, General Manager at Stamford Grand Adelaide, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2014

Dear justin p

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback. We pride ourselves on our stunning, absolute beachfront position and I am delighted to learn that your stay with us was enjoyable.

I appreciate your comments regarding an upgrade on our gym facilities and this is something we are in the process of actioning.

justin p, thank you again for your feedback and I trust that we may look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you to the Stamford Grand Adelaide in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014

We stayed overnight on a winter email special deal. Our rooms were ocean facing with a spectacular view. The room was big with a king size bed (that wasn't two singles pushed together thankgoodness !!). The check in was easy with staff very friendly. Our room was modern and clean. maybe some rooms are awaiting refurbishment judging by some other review ? We were very happy with our stay and we will definitely be back. room 1102 was very good :-)

Room Tip: ask for room 1102. Close to the lift but not noisy with a beautiful view of the ocean.. No balcony...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Vanessaaussie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Justin_Higgins, General Manager at Stamford Grand Adelaide, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2014

Dear Vanessaaussie

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback. We pride ourselves on our stunning, absolute beachfront position and I am delighted to learn that your stay with us was enjoyable.

Here at the Stamford Grand Adelaide, we pride ourselves on providing exceptional customer service so I was delighted to read that you rated us so highly.

Vanessaaussie thank you again for your feedback and I trust that we may look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Stayed in this hotel for my birthday . Had z lovely room , clean and cool . Ordered tapas on the cocktail lounge with friends but 1.5 hours later it still hasn't arrived so we had to cancel our order . Apparently the chef was busy doing prep.?
Dinner was nice but there were no labels on the dishes on the buffet so you had no idea what you were eating . Desserts ran out and were not replaced . I proceeded to come down with gastro and was unable to use the breakfast voucher included with our package , however no alternative was offered and despite requests we were not given a voucher to use for breakfast later or any discount . Staff were lacking and we had to continuously ask for water , dishes to be cleared and drinks.
Could have been so much better and way overpriced as the service was crap.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Justin_Higgins, General Manager at Stamford Grand Adelaide, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2014

Dear Linda B

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback.

Here at the Stamford Grand Adelaide, we pride ourselves on providing exceptional customer service so I am very disappointed to hear that this was not your experience in this instance.

Customer service training is always a high priority here and, as it happens, we have just rolled out an updated program that every member of our staff will be attending over the next month.

I have passed on your feedback regarding food service to my Food & Beverage Manager and Executive Chef to action immediately.

I regret that this situation has damaged our valued relationship but do hope that we may look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back to the Stamford Grand Adelaide in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glenelg
0.2 mi away
Oaks Plaza Pier Apartment Hotel
0.3 mi away
Seawall Apartments
Seawall Apartments
#1 of 7 in Glenelg
817 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ensenada Motor Inn and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Atlantic Tower Motor Inn
6.1 mi away
Hilton Adelaide
Hilton Adelaide
#18 of 56 in Adelaide
2,430 reviews
6.3 mi away
The Playford - MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stamford Grand Adelaide? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stamford Grand Adelaide

Address: Grand Hotel 2 Jetty Rd, Glenelg, South Australia 5045, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Glenelg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Glenelg
#2 Luxury Hotel in Glenelg
Price Range: £86 - £240 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Stamford Grand Adelaide 5*
Number of rooms: 220
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stamford Grand Adelaide is one of the best luxury accommodations in Glenelg Adelaide, located on the absolute beachfront. Stamford Grand Adelaide Hotel is an ideal base for you to discover all that Glenelg and Adelaide have to offer. Our Glenelg accommodation is perfect for those who are looking for a beachside location that is close to Adelaide's special events, yet out of the city! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Stamford Grand Adelaide reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stamford Grand Adelaide Glenelg
Stamford Grand Adelaide Hotel Glenelg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing