We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Below average”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ensenada Motor Inn and Suites
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Glenelg
Reviewed 17 January 2014

The good: Comfortable beds and very close to the beach and where the action is in Glenelg.

The bad: Very old fashioned and in dire need for a makeover, so unless you like the grandma’s kind of style you should probably look elsewhere. Strict 10am check-out time.

And the awful: Very noisy rooms facing the busy road right outside. A group of pigeons camped right outside the building, never resting and causing sleepless nights due to the lack of sound insulation. Extremely slow Internet connection, both wired and wireless. Was asked to call the service provider myself, they couldn’t care less and although promised to call me back, they never did of course. Was told this was a free call, but still charged for it at check-out.

Lesson learned: Stay somewhere else next time.

Room Tip: Away from the busy and noise road in front.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SoloWorldTraveler_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlenelgManager, General Manager at Ensenada Motor Inn and Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 19 January 2014

Dear SoloWorldTraveler,
Thank you for your review. All feedback helps us improve our product and service. You noted our great location, close to everything and where the action is. Unfortunately, with such a central location comes crowds of people attracted to the shops and beach. This does create some pedestrian and vehicle noise however we have had all our rooms double-glazed for sound proofing. They are quite effective when the windows are closed. The local council conduct a eradication program annually to control pigeon numbers in the area. It wouldn't matter where you stay in Adelaide, pigeons camp everywhere. Décor is subjective and I'm disappointed you didn't like ours. The rooms were fully renovated in 2010 with all new furnishings and décor. I apologise for the slow internet but unfortunately internet in Australia just isn't as good as available in Europe. January is the busiest month of the year in Glenelg and we do have a 10 a.m. checkout time. This then enables guests arriving to be able to check-in on time.
Regards,
Rob McBride - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (241)
There are newer reviews for Ensenada Motor Inn and Suites
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

142 - 148 of 241 reviews

Reviewed 4 January 2014 via mobile

Great stay, value for money. Comfortable clean rooms. Perfect location . Very pleasant helpful staff. Close to airport 15 minutes in taxi. Great breakfasts. Feels safe. Bit of street noise in front rooms but got used to that after first night.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sfairweather
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2013

We got what we were looking for. A decent value for money room

You drive in for free parking in the hotel courtyard, as others have said the spaces are tight, but they were acceptable

The rooms are small, but adequate. We left early so did not take their breakfast. I probably would not want to stay a week here, but for a one night stay close to the airport, I was quite satisfied

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank moraira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2013 via mobile

You are on a budget? You have good location, with car park available, security, just a stroll (not even 5mins) to the beach, shops, pubs, restaurants, tram is right there, if you want to go the extra with view to the ocean and beach then maybe look at the Stamford or the Oaks Hotel.
But overall it is a very budget like place.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank TATAMATA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2013

Clean, secured parking, good location, all facilities within 5 minutes walk, beach 5 minutes away.
Public transport (tram to city) 1 minute away. Stocked bar / fridge in room should you arrive late. Very affordable and value for money.

Room Tip: Any room will do, however if you have heavy bags ask for the ground rooms
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Neels B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2013

The location is great, within walking distance to shops, restaurants and pier. The hotel has a small amount of parking but the bays are very tight and really not big enough, although they have signs up on the walls (park within the lines) it still only gives you cms of space to get out. The stairs to get inside could be awkard for elderly as there is no lift to get to the rooms or reception. The rooms themselves are very small, so small that when you open your door to your room it hits the bed. The bathrooms even smaller, if your larger you would not cope well. Although clean the hotel seemed more like a B&B with rooms of a hall, so could hear noise and the water temperature changed when showering. We had no soap in our room and asked for soap and were told it was in the dispenser, however the dispensers on the wall both stated "Shampoo". The breakfast delivered to your room and very basic, scrambled eggs was sloppy and cold toast. A lovely gesture that they clean your car windscreen over night. One negative is that the pillows provided are very high and hard and the other 2 in the cupboard are the same, perhaps you could offer different types as I hardly got any sleep for 2 nights. Good location but would say it was a great hotel, very basic.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frequentoztravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlenelgManager, General Manager at Ensenada Motor Inn and Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2013

Dear Frequent Traveller,
Thank you for your review. Here at the Best Western Ensenada Motor Inn we value feedback as it helps us improve our performance and/or our property. Our car park is also secured by a sliding security gate operated by a PIN number, giving our guests total peace of mind and our parking is FREE as well. Unfortunately, our property was built before elevators became mandatory, but is only a two storey building. So as not to catch anyone unaware, we highlight "no elevator access" on our website homepage. In an improvement to keep up with the "environmentally friendly" policy, we have placed 3 dispensers in each room; Hand Wash, Body Wash & Shampoo - all clearly marked. Every room has all 3 dispensers. Our pillows are very high and rightly so, all bedding was brand NEW this year. We have a pillow menu in the information compendium in each room. I wish you had called us at Reception so we could have assisted you in having a more restful night. Thank you for noting our great location; just metres to the beach, shops, restaurants, tram stop and night clubs.
Kind Regards,
Rob McBride - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2013

We stayed one night en route to Adelaide Airport & the Inn perfectly met our needs. Located within walking distance of Glenelg & its bars / restaurants / beach with own secure parking, drive to airport took 10-15 mins. The Inn has on site laundry facilities.

Our room was clean & tidy, equipped with tea coffee facilities etc, no dining room but a good breakfast was served on time to our room. Staff friendly, when we went back to our car in the morning they had even cleaned the windscreen!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BobLiz15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glenelg hotels
0.2 mi away
Oaks Plaza Pier Apartment Hotel
0.1 mi away
Stamford Grand Adelaide
0.2 mi away
Atlantic Tower Motor Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Seawall Apartments
Seawall Apartments
#1 of 7 in Glenelg
767 reviews
0.2 mi away
Oaks Liberty Towers
Oaks Liberty Towers
#1 of 12 in Glenelg
314 reviews
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Haven Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ensenada Motor Inn and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ensenada Motor Inn and Suites

Address: 13 Colley Tce, Glenelg, South Australia 5045, Australia (Formerly Best Western Adelaide)
Region: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Glenelg
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Glenelg
Price Range: £58 - £127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ensenada Motor Inn and Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ensenada Motor Inn & Suites has a selection of accommodation including Executive & Deluxe Motel Rooms, Self-contained Suites and two bedroom Holiday Apartments. •FREE Wi-Fi available in all motel rooms, suites and holiday apartments. •FREE secure parking available onsite. •Holiday Apartments are located nearby at 16 & 29 Colley Terrace. We are ideally situated opposite picturesque Colley Reserve, only a one minute walk to the golden sands of Glenelg Beach and adjacent to Moseley Square, famous for its cafes, restaurants and tram service to the Adelaide City CBD. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Agoda, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ensenada Motor Inn and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Glenelg
Glenelg Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing