We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A touch of Thailand in Glenelg”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Sabai Cafe

Sabai Cafe
Ranked #21 of 155 Restaurants in Glenelg
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe, Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A touch of Thailand in Glenelg”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

If you are looking for real Thai food,in a clean intimate resturant,you cannot go past this family owned and managed resturant, tucked away in South Glenelg.
Ask about their intimate dinning room if you have a small group.

The owners Peter and Yai deliver top class food and service at a reasonable price,make sure you book as news travels fast.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank john t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    12
    5
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
167 reviews
118 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Local star”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

We have tended to miss the delights of Glenelg South for the bright lights of Jetty Road or the CBD. I am delighted to have belatedly 'found' a great local café and restaurant with a buzzing atmosphere and very good Thai food. On a Thursday t was full and we are glad to have reserved even at 6pm. Nice décor, friendly, efficient staff and a really good Thai menu. I wouldn't go quite as far as some other reviews over how authentically Thai it is or that is as good as in Thailand, but it is good value, very nice flavoured food, and some free range and quality ingredients too. I really look forward to trying the takeaway menu during those winter nights when you don't fancy cooking after work and a Thai curry is just what you need. A decent wine choice (eg Jeanneret Riesling $28) and also this is a good daytime café/coffee spot. I will definitely be back and recommend this as possibly the best in the local area and possibly the best Thai in the Bay area.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank michael p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, South Australia, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Never fails you.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

From the friendliness of the staff, the stunning food and the relaxed atmosphere Sabai continues to be a great place to meet and eat. A walk to the beach afterwards and your time is complete. Highly recommend it to everyone. Seriously it has never failed us in over 3 years.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MRC1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
72 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Real Thai food cooked by Real Thai people”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2014

For Thai person like me I try to find a REAL Thai restaurant which is quite hard to find in Adelaide. Most will be done by Chinese or Vietnamese which really didn't cook anything that close to call Thai food.

We found this place and we are very impress with the food and service here. The owner is Thai and the Chef is also Thai so yes the food is real Thai. Very delicious and clean.

Highly recommend!!!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank YourThaiGuide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Thai food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

We have eaten here four times and have never been disappointed. The food is so fresh and tasty and there are several great options for vegetarians - I'd particularly recommend the mushroom and tofu dish.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Wiggy2370
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sabai Cafe also viewed

Glenelg, Greater Adelaide
Glenelg, Greater Adelaide
 
Glenelg, Greater Adelaide
Glenelg, Greater Adelaide
 
Glenelg, Greater Adelaide
Glenelg, Greater Adelaide
 

Been to Sabai Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing