We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“3.5 Stars - Good”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Oaks Plaza Pier Apartment Hotel
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Glenelg
Brisbane, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
533 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 563 helpful votes
“3.5 Stars - Good”
Reviewed 28 February 2013

Stopped here recently for two nights during a long weekend in Adelaide. Booked here as the reviews were OK and the price was pretty reasonable. Some friends recommended we stop in Glenelg rather than the city and it was a good call. We spent two nights here and one in the city.
Check-in was OK, friendly enough but nothing to write home about.
Our 1 bed room was a decent size and was clean and tidy. You could just see the beach when you were on the balcony and looked to the right, it was nice to be able to hear the waves when the sliding doors were open.
Location is great, right on the beachfront and an easy walk to either Jetty Road or the Marina where there are plenty of places to eat and drink.
There is the Tram on Jetty Rd where you can easily get to/from Adelaide, there is a ticket machine on board if you need to buy a ticket. We got a taxi from the airport, I think it was about $20.
Happy with our stay here I could give it 3.5 stars then I would as I’d say it is ‘good’ and would stop again, although I may be tempted to try somewhere else just to compare.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yorkie_Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OaksPlazaPier, Manager at Oaks Plaza Pier Apartment Hotel, responded to this review, 6 March 2013
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at Oaks Plaza Pier. We are pleased to read that you choose to stay with us for the long weekend and decided to stay in Glenelg. We are also glad to know that you found our staff friendly and liked the 1 bedroom apartment to be clean and tidy and enjoyed the location right on the beachfront within walking distance to Jetty road or Marina. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon to the property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

905 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    245
    372
    156
    80
    52
See reviews for
192
347
36
183
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (291)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2013

We stayed at the Oaks with the family and loved it. We were in a 2bdrm apartment facing the water. Beautiful views, just from one bedroom. The rooms were clean and newly appointed. Fixtures were nice and the beds comfotable. Everything overall was new and clean. We had a little balcony to enjoy the ambience.
If I had to comment on anything, the pool was quite cold and left my baby shivering. Also breakfast downstairs in the Blu Restaurant was not value for money - it was a very small serving for the $ paid. Aside from that, fabulous.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jfay82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OaksPlazaPier, Manager at Oaks Plaza Pier Apartment Hotel, responded to this review, 6 March 2013
Many thanks for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at Oaks Plaza Pier. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed the stay with your family in one of our 2 bedroom ocean view apartments. We are also pleased that you found your unit clean and liked the amenities within the apartment. We thank you for your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrnambool, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2013

Just spent a couple of nights at this hotel, great location right on the beach at Glenelg, rooms were moden and comfortable, car parking available and although I didnt eat at the hotel, restaurants seem busy.
Plenty of restaurants and cafes close by and the rate of the room was good so I will certainly be staying again.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DJR1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OaksPlazaPier, Manager at Oaks Plaza Pier Apartment Hotel, responded to this review, 6 March 2013
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at Oaks Plaza Pier. It is wonderful to read you enjoyed a couple of nights at our Hotel and you were pleased with your unit being modern and comfortable. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2013

We stayed for 2 nights mid week in a 1 bedroom apartment, to celebrate my special birthday. We were lucky enough to be given an apartment overlooking the beach, and as it was such beautiful weather, we were able to sit out on the balcony and enjoy the scenery. The apartment was very comfortable, clean and well fitted out. Location is excellent, being next to Holdfast Shores for food and entertainment, and only a short walk to Jetty Rd for excellent shopping and plenty more cafes and restaurants to choose from. My only criticism is the lack of warmth and friendliness from the reception staff, in particular, the men.

Room Tip: Ask for an apartment overlooking the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank instyle11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OaksPlazaPier, Manager at Oaks Plaza Pier Apartment Hotel, responded to this review, 18 February 2013
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at Oaks Plaza Pier. We are pleased that you enjoyed your unit and choose us to celebrate your birthday. It is wonderful to read that you were upgraded to one of our ocean view units and enjoyed our close proximity to shops and beaches. We thank you for your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2013

Booked this hotel on their website for $139 a night. I really didn't expect much at that price, although its been given a four star rating as Aussie hotels (especially those in tourist spots) aren't really up to par with overseas hotels. In any event I came with low expectations and ready to put up with less than average but was very pleasantly surprised! We stayed in apartment 427 which although did not have an ocean view, at that price you can't complain. It was very clean, and came with everything you would need - kitchen, washer and dryer, large bathroom a king size bed (very clean linens and super comfortable) and bonus, a sofa bed! (even though when I emailed and enquired about the possibility of one the answer was no). The room was serviced the next morning with fresh toweling, clean linens and a tidy up. Now this I really wasn't expecting at all at the price we paid, and honestly, it impressed me. Well done to staff and management. Location right on the beach is perfect, and a mere three minute walk from restaurants at the marina one way and to jetty road the other way makes it ideal. The only gripe I would have is that the parking lot under the building is not the hotels but rather a public lot which could have you worried about your car overnight and the check in staff working on the night of 4th February could crack a smile if he likes (admittedly we did arrive well past 10:00 pm but there is 24 hour reception). Overall, very impressed. I will return.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Seashellseashore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OaksPlazaPier, Manager at Oaks Plaza Pier Apartment Hotel, responded to this review, 11 February 2013
Many thanks for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at Oaks Plaza Pier. We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay in one of our serviced apartments. I am very glad to know that you had a pleasant stay and we were able to go beyond your expectation as our guest. It is also nice to read that you found your unit clean with our standard room amenities.
We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gol gol, australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2013

right on the beach between the marina and the jetty, great spot. really nice rooms, very clean.
Only gripe, not enough secure car parking. Paid $20 a day for parking and couldn't get a park in the under ground secure park, tried 2 or 3 times each day, but it was a long weekend!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sunnurs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OaksPlazaPier, Manager at Oaks Plaza Pier Apartment Hotel, responded to this review, 11 February 2013
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at Oaks Plaza Pier. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay and found your unit nice and clean. It is also nice to read you enjoyed our close proximity to the marina and the beach. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ross-on-Wye, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2013

We stayed at this hotel at the end of our 5 week tour of NZ and Auz and used it as a base to visit familly in the area. Modern and a little souless but it made up for this in the size and comfort of the rooms and the sheer umber of restauarant and bars in the vicinity. We were on the fith floor and the view from our huge balcony and room were superb especially the sunsets. The rooms are very well appointed including full size fridge, cooker, microwavw, dish washer and very importantly to us a washer / dryer which came in handy for doing our own laundry

Room Tip: Get a room facing the beech and as higher floor as possible, if you have car/ hire car pre-book your...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MVWokingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OaksPlazaPier, Manager at Oaks Plaza Pier Apartment Hotel, responded to this review, 4 February 2013
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at Oaks Plaza Pier. We are pleased that you enjoyed your unit being modern and comfortable and the views from the balcony of the sun setting which is simply quite magical at times. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glenelg
0.2 mi away
Stamford Grand Adelaide
0.5 mi away
Seawall Apartments
Seawall Apartments
#1 of 7 in Glenelg
740 reviews
0.2 mi away
Atlantic Tower Motor Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Ensenada Motor Inn and Suites
6.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Adelaide
Crowne Plaza Adelaide
#6 of 57 in Adelaide
1,648 reviews
6.2 mi away
The Playford - MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oaks Plaza Pier Apartment Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oaks Plaza Pier Apartment Hotel

Property: Oaks Plaza Pier Apartment Hotel
Address: 16 Holdfast Promenade, Glenelg, South Australia 5045, Australia
Region: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Glenelg
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Glenelg
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Glenelg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Oaks Plaza Pier Apartment Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 192
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The sensational ocean views and resort facilities of Oaks Plaza Pier, make this property an ideal choice for corporate and leisure travellers seeking fabulous Glenelg accommodation. Plaza Pier has undergone a full room refurbishment which was completed in September 2011. Enjoying an absolute beach frontage location, Oaks Plaza Pier allows you to really experience Glenelg. Luxurious 1 and 2 bedroom apartments feature wide balconies overlooking the beach or park, full kitchen and laundry facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Oaks Plaza Pier Apartment Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Oaks Plaza Pier Apartment

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing