We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disgusting Service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Oaks Plaza Pier Apartment Hotel
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Glenelg
Reviewed 4 November 2013

I have been staying at this hotel/apartments since they opened and they have really gone downhill. I unfortunately stay here often as I love the location of Glenelg and there isn't much of a choice of hotels in this area.

The service is absolutely disgusting. The staff at the front desk are never happy and never treat you well or care about your stay. We paid extra for a 1 bedroom ocean view room one night only to be placed in a room at the side of the building with a view of the car park and only if you stood on the corner of the balcony and looked in an awkward direction could you see the ocean. Upon complaining we were told the rooms were at capacity and there would be nothing they could do as it is still an 'ocean view' (compared to previous stays where we have had the same room with a pure ocean front view).

The rooms are completely outdated and need a revamp. The double/queen bed is just 2 beds pushed together which makes for a very uncomfortable sleep let alone the fact that it feels like you're sleeping on a rock.

If you stay, don't expect anything more than an angry ***** to frown at you while swiping hundreds of well earned dollars from your credit card.

Room Tip: Make sure you request a full front ocean view so you avoid a room facing the car park for the same p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Camm8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OaksPlazaPier, Manager at Oaks Plaza Pier Apartment Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2013

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay at Oaks Plaza Pier. We do appreciate you highlighting the areas of concern and regret the issues you dealt as it did not align with your expectation as our valued guest. It is so disappointing to read comments such as yours and we would like to discuss this further. If you wish, please contact our Customer Feedback Team on customerfeedback@theoaksgroup.com.au.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,094)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

763 - 769 of 1,094 reviews

Reviewed 2 November 2013

This was my first trip to Adelaide and I was there on business. The hotel is approx 15 minutes from the airport and approx 20 minutes from the city. Taxi cabs were always available at the front of the hotel. My room on the fifth floor was comfortable, clean and well laid out. It was wonderful to have a room with an ocean view and to be so close to the lovely white sand and water. The bars and restaurants of Glenelg are only a short walk away. I had breakfast at the hotel and once again, the view really makes this hotel. It was too cold and windy to sit outside when i was there, but a table by the window is still good. You can't beat having a coffee and some breakfast while overlooking the beach. I did not experience the poor service mentioned by other reviewers and I would stay here again if I ever returned to Adelaide.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kiwibrent1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OaksPlazaPier, Manager at Oaks Plaza Pier Apartment Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2013

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay at Oaks Plaza Pier. We are pleased to know that you enjoyed your first trip to Adelaide while on business and liked your ocean view apartment. It is nice to know that you found your unit comfortable, clean and well laid out. We once again thank you for your feeback and look forward to welcome you back to the property.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2013

I stayed here for 9 nights in a two bedroom ocean view apartment and was very happy. The staff were extremely helpful, the cleaning staff were lovely and friendly and the apartment was spacious, fabulous view and very clean. All the comforts of home were in my apartment and I was very happy. The only suggestion that I have to management is that they provide a compendium with samples of the menus from the local restaurants, nearby supermarkets, chemists, details regarding room services and perhaps other services that their customers my require, ie doctors, emergency numbers etc. Other than the lack of this helpful guide I was very impressed.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
Thank sunshine300773
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OaksPlazaPier, Manager at Oaks Plaza Pier Apartment Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2013

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay at Oaks Plaza Pier. We are pleased to know that you had a wonderful stay in a 2 bedroom ocean view apartment and enjoyed our great location and service. We thank you on the positive feedback on staff and it is nice to know that you found the apartment being spacious with fabulous views and found all the comforts of home in the apartment We look forward to welcome you back to the property.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2013

Staff are overworked and tend to forget or take ages to respond to an issue. In my room, the door to the outside balcony had a catch that did not work, so door could not be secured, nor was there a key. VERY UNSAFE if you have small children. Same with furniture on balcony, easily climbed on by a toddler/small child with 40m fall on other side of rail. Most other high rise hotels have their balcony doors locked and disabled so that there is no outside access - you have to specifically request access to balcony. Parking fee is an absolute rip off. Swipe door credit card thing "forgets" so you then have to go back down to reception, wait in line and get it recoded. The rooms are individually owned by "investors", Oaks only rents them. So it is all very disconnected when it comes to any problems. If there is a problem, it won't be fixed whilst you are staying as they have to get investor's permission.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OaksPlazaPier, Manager at Oaks Plaza Pier Apartment Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2013

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay at Oaks Plaza Pier. We do appreciate you highlighting the areas of concern and regret the issues you dealt as it did not align with your expectation as our valued guest. Due to the unavailability of parts we unfortunately were not able to fix the issue on the day. We did understand your concern raised and hence offered an alternative apartment which was accepted by you for your remianing stay. The lock was fixed the following day and the issue was resolved for any future guest. We once again thank you for your feedback and look forward to welcome you back to the property.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2013

Disappointed with the staff during my stay. Would I recommend and stay again? No and that is due to staff attitude at reception and breakfast restaurant. Breakfast good once it arrived but attitude of cashier in restaurant was poor. The rooms were spotless and no complaints with rooms at all. Lovely views. Please ask all your receptionists to put on a smile - in fact tell them we the guests are paying their salary! A number of people were commenting on the reception staff and how poor they were.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tabgus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OaksPlazaPier, Manager at Oaks Plaza Pier Apartment Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2013

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay at Oaks Plaza Pier. We do appreciate you highlighting the areas of concern and regret the issues you dealt as it did not align with your expectation as our valued guest. It is so disappointing to read comments such as yours and we would like to discuss this further. If you wish, please contact our Customer Feedback Team on customerfeedback@theoaksgroup.com.au.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013

Stayed at this hotel for a 4 day weekend upgraded to apartment with park view and it was beautiful. Room was spotless as was the rest of the hotel. Location is amazing really central to Glenelg main street and Pier restuarants and right on the beach.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joanne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OaksPlazaPier, Manager at Oaks Plaza Pier Apartment Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2013

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay at Oaks Plaza Pier. We are pleased to know that you had a wonderful weekend at our property and we were able to upgrade you to an park view apartment. We appreciate your feedback and glad to know that you found your apartment spotless. We look forward to welcome you back to the property.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2013 via mobile

To Celebrate a milestone birthday, I decided to make a weekend of it and relax in between festivities at the Oaks Plaza.
Great decision!!! With a 'shorts' holiday voucher and a reasonable contribution, I booked a 2 night, 1br, oceanfront apartment package, with a complimentary breakfast in Cafe Blu. Use of all facilities, however, public underground parking at your cost ( $18 per day), unless organized prior to check in with hotel. The room was a decent size, not overly decorated, but clean, tidy, provision of mod cons, great size fridge to store the bubbly, so life was good. I highly suggest paying the little extra and booking an oceanfront apartment, the view itself was stunning, a decent size balcony to sit and chill and take in the sunsets, however, very little privacy, so clothing appropriate !!! Noise level from beach and below restaurant's acceptable keeping in mind this is a hub of activity through summer. I suggest if you are a light sleeper, ask for a higher floor. Pool, spa, fitness centre located on 2nd floor, which was a great way to start the day, pity no views, but well maintained and private. Staff that we did encounter were professional, not overly friendly, but considering you are self sufficient, you really don't need assistance too often,(did ask for a shower cap though and was curtly told no). Cafe Blu delivered a tasty, hot breakfast, a bit if a wait, however, like minded guests were piling in after a Sunday sleep in, so suggestion to management would be to serve brekky till 11 am, rather than 10am. Location is the winner here, a hop, skip and jump and you are in the throng of amazing restaurants and cafes at Holdfast Marina (see my review for Zucca Restaurant if you love amazing Greek cuisine), and a leisurely 5 min walk to Jetty Rd, with again, a selection of retailers and cafes to accommodate most tastes. I do think Jetty Rd requires a bit of a spruce up, it is very fragmented and 'messy' a few shops closed, some in need of a refurb, but still retains that beachy vibe, so just my opinion. If you require a girly catch up to celebrate an occassion, put 'High Tea' at the Stamford Grand on the agenda to round off a great weekend. All in all, good accommodation, great food, and some unforgettable sunsets. Highly recommend.







Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Jayne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OaksPlazaPier, Manager at Oaks Plaza Pier Apartment Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2013

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay at Oaks Plaza Pier. We are pleased to know that you decided to stay with us for the weekend to celebrate your birthday and relax at the property. It is also nice to know that you liked your 1 bedroom ocean view apartment and enjoyed the facilities within the property. It is certainly a wonderful experience to relax in your own balcony overlooking the beach and as you have mentioned enjoy the unforgettable sunsets. We once again thank you for your feeback and look forward to welcome you back to the property.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glenelg
0.2 mi away
Stamford Grand Adelaide
0.5 mi away
Seawall Apartments
Seawall Apartments
#1 of 7 in Glenelg
827 reviews
0.2 mi away
Atlantic Tower Motor Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Ensenada Motor Inn and Suites
6 mi away
Hilton Adelaide
Hilton Adelaide
#18 of 55 in Adelaide
2,466 reviews
6.2 mi away
The Playford - MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oaks Plaza Pier Apartment Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oaks Plaza Pier Apartment Hotel

Address: 16 Holdfast Promenade, Glenelg, South Australia 5045, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Glenelg
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Glenelg
#3 Luxury Hotel in Glenelg
Price Range: £105 - £224 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Oaks Plaza Pier Apartment Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 192
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The sensational ocean views and resort facilities of Oaks Plaza Pier, make this property an ideal choice for corporate and leisure travellers seeking fabulous Glenelg accommodation. Plaza Pier has undergone a full room refurbishment which was completed in September 2011. Enjoying an absolute beach frontage location, Oaks Plaza Pier allows you to really experience Glenelg. Luxurious 1 and 2 bedroom apartments feature wide balconies overlooking the beach or park, full kitchen and laundry facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Oaks Hotels and Resorts, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Oaks Plaza Pier Apartment Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Oaks Plaza Pier Apartment

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing