We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great time away”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Oaks Plaza Pier Apartment Hotel
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Glenelg
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Great time away”
Reviewed 6 November 2013

We stayed at Oaks Plaza Pier for 3 nights. We had a great stay, the reception staff were excellent and we thought the rooms were well suited.

We were given a 2 bedroom rather than the 1 bedroom we booked, which was on the top floor. We booked a park view room which was nice especially at night as you can see out to the city and airport lights lit up. Initially I was annoyed with myself for not booking a ocean view room but was later impressed with my booking as the beach had a lot of sand moving machines, tractors etc doing maintenance which would have spoiled the view/a waste of the extra cost for the ocean view.

We found the room to be nice and quiet, well equiped with a full kitchen, dvd player, surround sound, nice bathrooms, dishwasher, washer/dryer, big balcony and good airconditioning (as it was hot during our stay!) We used the pool and spa a few times which was great also.

Our only fault was that the walls had makeup marks on them in a few places and a lamp was heavily stained.

The hotel has 3 restaurants/cafes and a bar also, great for easy dining. I would recommend staying at Oaks Plaza Pier to others, it was a great stay in lovely Glenelg.

Room Tip: Park views are nice, but if you want a ocean view I'd suggest contacting Oaks directly to make s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WeLoveMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OaksPlazaPier, Manager at Oaks Plaza Pier Apartment Hotel, responded to this review, 8 November 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay at Oaks Plaza Pier. We are pleased to know that you had a great stay and the reception staff were excellent and you liked your apartment. We are also glad to know you aprreciated the upgrage and enjoyed the views especially at night as you can see the city and the airport lights lit up. We look forward to welcome you again to the property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

905 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    245
    372
    156
    80
    52
See reviews for
192
347
36
183
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (291)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Darwin, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2013 via mobile

We thoroughly enjoyed a four night stay at the Oaks Plaza Pier, in a one bedroom ocean view apartment. Check in went without any problems, the staff most courteous and professional and the room was without fault. Even slept in thanks to the comfy bed, double glazed windows and thick curtains. Housekeeping was timely and excellent. Recommended stay for seeing Adelaide and surrounds with on site car park, self contained and and food nearby. Tram just a five minute stroll at most. Thank you.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank RossnAnne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OaksPlazaPier, Manager at Oaks Plaza Pier Apartment Hotel, responded to this review, 8 November 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay at Oaks Plaza Pier. We are delighted to know that you thoroughly enjoyed your four night stay at our property in a one bedroom ocean view apartment. It is also nice to know that you found the staff most courteous and professional and were able to sleep in and relax on your holiday. We look forward to welcome you again to the property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2013

Real hotels have reception staff that smile. Real hotels realise their guests pay their wages and treat them with respect. The reception staff at this "hotel" are probably the worst in Australia.
Service does not exist, they are just there to take your money. I stayed here for 5 days on business and went to Glenelg for a change.Never again. Every communication with the reception staff was painfull. Surly and unhelpful with requests you are just an inconvenience to them. I extended my stay by one day to meet with a client and informed reception of that and advised my company would pay the extra night. I emailed my company and my secretary rang back saying she had talked with reception and all was taken care of. Why was I not surprised when at check out time the rude disinterested guy at reception demanded from me the extra night accommodation payment. Gobsmacked I told him this had been arranged the day before. He pulled out the file and said their was nothing on it about who was to pay no one from the company had rung. Gave him the email and phone number of my secretary and told him to contact her and confirm what had been done the day before. Also advised him on two separate occasions the day before the reception had been advised as to what was to happen. Clearly they were incompetent.
Location is good but service and facilities are nowhere near 4 star. Avoid if you want a pleasant experience.

Room Tip: Go to another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gazza5912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OaksPlazaPier, Manager at Oaks Plaza Pier Apartment Hotel, responded to this review, 8 November 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay at Oaks Plaza Pier. We do appreciate you highlighting the areas of concern and regret the issues you dealt as it did not align with your expectation as our valued guest. It is so disappointing to read comments such as yours and we would like to discuss this further. If you wish, please contact our Customer Feedback Team on customerfeedback@theoaksgroup.com.au.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Glenelg hotels

Adelaide, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2013

I have been staying at this hotel/apartments since they opened and they have really gone downhill. I unfortunately stay here often as I love the location of Glenelg and there isn't much of a choice of hotels in this area.

The service is absolutely disgusting. The staff at the front desk are never happy and never treat you well or care about your stay. We paid extra for a 1 bedroom ocean view room one night only to be placed in a room at the side of the building with a view of the car park and only if you stood on the corner of the balcony and looked in an awkward direction could you see the ocean. Upon complaining we were told the rooms were at capacity and there would be nothing they could do as it is still an 'ocean view' (compared to previous stays where we have had the same room with a pure ocean front view).

The rooms are completely outdated and need a revamp. The double/queen bed is just 2 beds pushed together which makes for a very uncomfortable sleep let alone the fact that it feels like you're sleeping on a rock.

If you stay, don't expect anything more than an angry ***** to frown at you while swiping hundreds of well earned dollars from your credit card.

Room Tip: Make sure you request a full front ocean view so you avoid a room facing the car park for the same p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Camm8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OaksPlazaPier, Manager at Oaks Plaza Pier Apartment Hotel, responded to this review, 6 November 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay at Oaks Plaza Pier. We do appreciate you highlighting the areas of concern and regret the issues you dealt as it did not align with your expectation as our valued guest. It is so disappointing to read comments such as yours and we would like to discuss this further. If you wish, please contact our Customer Feedback Team on customerfeedback@theoaksgroup.com.au.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2013

This was my first trip to Adelaide and I was there on business. The hotel is approx 15 minutes from the airport and approx 20 minutes from the city. Taxi cabs were always available at the front of the hotel. My room on the fifth floor was comfortable, clean and well laid out. It was wonderful to have a room with an ocean view and to be so close to the lovely white sand and water. The bars and restaurants of Glenelg are only a short walk away. I had breakfast at the hotel and once again, the view really makes this hotel. It was too cold and windy to sit outside when i was there, but a table by the window is still good. You can't beat having a coffee and some breakfast while overlooking the beach. I did not experience the poor service mentioned by other reviewers and I would stay here again if I ever returned to Adelaide.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kiwibrent1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OaksPlazaPier, Manager at Oaks Plaza Pier Apartment Hotel, responded to this review, 5 November 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay at Oaks Plaza Pier. We are pleased to know that you enjoyed your first trip to Adelaide while on business and liked your ocean view apartment. It is nice to know that you found your unit comfortable, clean and well laid out. We once again thank you for your feeback and look forward to welcome you back to the property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Millicent, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for 9 nights in a two bedroom ocean view apartment and was very happy. The staff were extremely helpful, the cleaning staff were lovely and friendly and the apartment was spacious, fabulous view and very clean. All the comforts of home were in my apartment and I was very happy. The only suggestion that I have to management is that they provide a compendium with samples of the menus from the local restaurants, nearby supermarkets, chemists, details regarding room services and perhaps other services that their customers my require, ie doctors, emergency numbers etc. Other than the lack of this helpful guide I was very impressed.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank sunshine300773
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OaksPlazaPier, Manager at Oaks Plaza Pier Apartment Hotel, responded to this review, 1 November 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay at Oaks Plaza Pier. We are pleased to know that you had a wonderful stay in a 2 bedroom ocean view apartment and enjoyed our great location and service. We thank you on the positive feedback on staff and it is nice to know that you found the apartment being spacious with fabulous views and found all the comforts of home in the apartment We look forward to welcome you back to the property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 30 October 2013

Staff are overworked and tend to forget or take ages to respond to an issue. In my room, the door to the outside balcony had a catch that did not work, so door could not be secured, nor was there a key. VERY UNSAFE if you have small children. Same with furniture on balcony, easily climbed on by a toddler/small child with 40m fall on other side of rail. Most other high rise hotels have their balcony doors locked and disabled so that there is no outside access - you have to specifically request access to balcony. Parking fee is an absolute rip off. Swipe door credit card thing "forgets" so you then have to go back down to reception, wait in line and get it recoded. The rooms are individually owned by "investors", Oaks only rents them. So it is all very disconnected when it comes to any problems. If there is a problem, it won't be fixed whilst you are staying as they have to get investor's permission.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OaksPlazaPier, Manager at Oaks Plaza Pier Apartment Hotel, responded to this review, 1 November 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay at Oaks Plaza Pier. We do appreciate you highlighting the areas of concern and regret the issues you dealt as it did not align with your expectation as our valued guest. Due to the unavailability of parts we unfortunately were not able to fix the issue on the day. We did understand your concern raised and hence offered an alternative apartment which was accepted by you for your remianing stay. The lock was fixed the following day and the issue was resolved for any future guest. We once again thank you for your feedback and look forward to welcome you back to the property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glenelg
0.2 mi away
Stamford Grand Adelaide
0.5 mi away
Seawall Apartments
Seawall Apartments
#1 of 7 in Glenelg
740 reviews
0.2 mi away
Atlantic Tower Motor Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Ensenada Motor Inn and Suites
6.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Adelaide
Crowne Plaza Adelaide
#6 of 57 in Adelaide
1,648 reviews
6.2 mi away
The Playford - MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oaks Plaza Pier Apartment Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oaks Plaza Pier Apartment Hotel

Property: Oaks Plaza Pier Apartment Hotel
Address: 16 Holdfast Promenade, Glenelg, South Australia 5045, Australia
Region: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Glenelg
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Glenelg
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Glenelg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Oaks Plaza Pier Apartment Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 192
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The sensational ocean views and resort facilities of Oaks Plaza Pier, make this property an ideal choice for corporate and leisure travellers seeking fabulous Glenelg accommodation. Plaza Pier has undergone a full room refurbishment which was completed in September 2011. Enjoying an absolute beach frontage location, Oaks Plaza Pier allows you to really experience Glenelg. Luxurious 1 and 2 bedroom apartments feature wide balconies overlooking the beach or park, full kitchen and laundry facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Oaks Plaza Pier Apartment Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Oaks Plaza Pier Apartment

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing