We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location and facilities good, but unfortunately communication lets them down!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Oaks Plaza Pier Apartment Hotel
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Glenelg
Reviewed 19 January 2014

We arrived at the Oaks at the beginning of Adelaide's heatwave. Our apartment (605) was an interconnecting one with two sections off a mini foyer. The main room had a tiny bedroom with glass doors, a bathroom, a kitchen and living area and a balcony. The second room was a twin room with its own bathroom. There was an air-conditioning unit in each area, unfortunately the air con in the main room wasn't working from the moment we moved it. It took two days of us contacting reception, having various people look at it, and being informed that technicians were working on it before we were finally informed that it was a broken compressor. The issue we had was not that the air con was broken despite the heat (we kept the doors open between our two rooms to try and get cool from the other room - not very successfully, and not ideal for our son in that room), it was the lack of the communication we experienced. On the afternoon after our second night we finally talked to a duty manager who was arranging to move us into another room. Again, the communication between staff appeared to be non-existent. We had to ring twice over a couple of hours to check if the new room was ready, to be told not quite, then housekeeping turned up twice to try and clean our current room. So I had to ring reception again to check if it was ready as house keeping thought it was, but no one had told us. The duty manager came to help us shift our stuff for the next three days. He was lovely and helpful, but needs to train his staff to keep their guests informed. We were told by front desk staff that they would ring us to let us know, but at no time were we rung to keep us up to date on what was happening with them trying to fix our air conditioner, or to sort out our situation until we went to reception or chased up ourselves.
The new room (506) was a two-bedroom apartment (again one bedroom with glass sliding doors) with one bathroom, a larger kitchen/ living area and a lovely air-conditioner.
While the rooms are nicely furnished and comfortable, I'm not fussed about the frosted glass doors to the bedrooms, it doesn't keep out the light for sleeping and if one person wants to stay up late and watch TV you might as well be in the same room, there is no sound/light protection for the sleeper.
The pool and gym was great to use and the location of the hotel is fantastic. Unfortunately this is the third occasion we have stayed at an Oaks property and been underwhelmed by the customer service, not sure we'll risk a 4th visit.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kerry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OaksPlazaPier, Manager at Oaks Plaza Pier Apartment Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2014

I would like to take this time to thank you for reviewing Oaks Plaza Pier, it is dissapointing to read that we were unable to communicate with you efficently in regards to the issues you had during your stay. It is good to read that you found the duty manager lovely and helpful. This feedback has been brought up with the front desk team as here at Oaks Plaza Pier we strive for 100% customer satisfaction. I do hope you consider coming back to Oaks Plaza Pier in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (920)
There are newer reviews for Oaks Plaza Pier Apartment Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

567 - 573 of 920 reviews

Reviewed 18 January 2014

Christmas in Adelaide with family- needed a parents retreat for Christmas Eve! Got a good deal on Wotif- We scored a beach front room. Perfect weather- perfect views.
Did Jetty Road shopping/food thing but spent more time sitting enjoying the world go by on our balcony! All within easy walking distance!
All hotel amenities were perfect for a short stay.
Clean and high quality fittings.
We couldn't believe how quiet such a large hotel it was during a busy period!
Great restaurants along the marina- within 2 minutes walk!
Then shopping along Jetty Road- brilliant location!

Room Tip: Ask for a beachfront room- view stretches right along the coast! Top location if you want access to...
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KtownKarrathaWA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OaksPlazaPier, Manager at Oaks Plaza Pier Apartment Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2014

It is so pleasing for us at Oaks Plaza Pier to read such tremendous feedback. We are glad to know that you had a wonderful Christmas with your family in Glenelg. It is also nice to know that enjoyed your beachfront apartment along with perfect weather and views. We look forward to welcome you back soon to the property.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2014

$400 per night. No in house movies. No kids entertainment. Very family unfriendly. Made me use my own internet connection to look up the foxtel guide to find what was on for the kids. There wasn'nt anything because they don't have the kids movie channel. Told me Ihad to walk up the street and hire a DVD from the local shop

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank --5ol--
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OaksPlazaPier, Front Office Manager at Oaks Plaza Pier Apartment Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2014

It is regretful to read such feedback about Oaks Plaza Pier. As I discussed with you, over the phone, we spoke with the members of staff in question about this incident.

As we are serviced apartments we do not provide all the amenities that a full service hotel offers such as Pay per view movies.

As discussed we are happy to honor the arrangement we came to when we spoke on the phone and look forward to seeing you back at Oaks Plaza Pier in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2014

After 10 days in SA on holidays, this was the last 2 nights of our trip. Booked here because of the beach location & proximity to the airport. We had booked a studio room, & to our delight was given a free upgrade to a gorgeous one bedroom apartment, with everything we could need including a laundry, full size fridge, comfortable lounge room & kitchenette. We enjoyed dinner in the Thai restaurant downstairs, and live music in the Pier One Bar on Sunday afternoon. 5 minutes walk from the hotel you can catch the tram that goes into the city every 15-20 minutes. There's an abundance of bars, pubs, restaurants & a large theme park within close proximity.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Ljh62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OaksPlazaPier, Front Office Manager at Oaks Plaza Pier Apartment Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2014

We are so glad to hear how much you enjoyed your stay at Oaks Plaza Pier and what Glenelg has to offer. We do hope to see you back at Oaks PLaza Pier in the not too distant future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2014

Twice now I have run into their inflexible we have rules attitude and both time they could have been so much more cooperative. As hotels go the hotel it is fine and fairly new but the experiences are somewhat soured by a lack of service and an unhelpful attitude.. There are so many more places to stay in Glenelg with better service and facilities.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Graham D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OaksPlazaPier, Front Office Manager at Oaks Plaza Pier Apartment Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2014

It is sad to hear you have had a negative experience with Oaks Plaza Pier. It is good to read you found the hotel to a good standard, however as with all businesses we do have certain policies and procedures we do need to adhere to. We do hope you will stay with us again at Oaks Plaza Pier.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2014 via mobile

We booked mum in for a weekend for her birthday with my sister as her carer. Mum is in a nursing home and Glenelg beach holds many happy memories for her. It was wonderful. The room was beautiful. The views were breathtaking. The room service was great. And the family gathering for a meal downstairs was fantastic. Mum was over the moon with everything. We all were. It was very special. Thank you to everyone who works there for a dream weekend.

Stayed: January 2014
2  Thank Kombigrub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OaksPlazaPier, Front Office Manager at Oaks Plaza Pier Apartment Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2014

It is so pleasing for us at Oaks Plaza Pier to read such tremendous feedback. We are glad your Mum had a wonderful experience and birthday and this feedback has been conveyed to staff. We look forward to seeing you again for any of your families occasions at Oaks Plaza Pier in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2013 via mobile

Our apartment was wonderfully clean, modern and had perfect views over the beach. We couldn't fault the room at all. The location is fantastic. Only a short walk to the tram and trendy cafe area. And a short walk in the opposite direction to a Mecca of restaurants on the water.
The only fault would have to be the staff on front desk. As an ex-hospitality worker, I ask, who trained these people!? No personality and very unwilling to go out of their way to help. We felt like more of an inconvenience, and they were hardly busy!
The restaurant manager in the Asian restaurant was great. Friendly and funny. Maybe he needs to train the front desk people.

Stayed: September 2013
2  Thank FreqFlyers23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OaksPlazaPier, Front Office Manager at Oaks Plaza Pier Apartment Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2014

I would like to take this time to thank you for reviewing Oaks Plaza, and it is good to read that you found the location and views fantastic. It is disappointing to read that you had some issues with your interaction with our front desk staff. This feedback has been brought up with the front desk team as here at Oaks Plaza Pier we strive for 100% customer satisfaction. I do hope you consider coming back to Oaks Plaza Pier in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glenelg
0.2 mi away
Stamford Grand Adelaide
0.5 mi away
Seawall Apartments
Seawall Apartments
#1 of 7 in Glenelg
767 reviews
0.2 mi away
Atlantic Tower Motor Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Ensenada Motor Inn and Suites
6.7 mi away
Majestic Roof Garden Hotel
6.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Adelaide
Crowne Plaza Adelaide
#6 of 57 in Adelaide
1,679 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oaks Plaza Pier Apartment Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oaks Plaza Pier Apartment Hotel

Address: 16 Holdfast Promenade, Glenelg, South Australia 5045, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Glenelg
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Glenelg
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Glenelg
Price Range: £80 - £243 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Oaks Plaza Pier Apartment Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 192
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The sensational ocean views and resort facilities of Oaks Plaza Pier, make this property an ideal choice for corporate and leisure travellers seeking fabulous Glenelg accommodation. Plaza Pier has undergone a full room refurbishment which was completed in September 2011. Enjoying an absolute beach frontage location, Oaks Plaza Pier allows you to really experience Glenelg. Luxurious 1 and 2 bedroom apartments feature wide balconies overlooking the beach or park, full kitchen and laundry facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Oaks Plaza Pier Apartment Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Oaks Plaza Pier Apartment

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing