We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not a 3 star hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Atlantic Tower Motor Inn
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Glenelg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 March 2014

Just returned from a three night stay with another couple. Sadly, the reviews previously read did not live up to expectations. The hotel is in a very tired and run down state - desperately in need of major refurbishment - starting at the dead plants out the front. The rooms whilst clean and adequate were definitely 1970's style - although the bathroom had been recently renovated. Upon asking if there were chairs on the balcony we were told "you can take the ones out of your room if you want". The interior hallways were very grubby and marked. The bed could definitely be replaced - like sleeping on a board, and the bedspread was definitely from Grandma's era. The breakfast was plentiful, and the $10 extra cooked option was excellent value - however the dining room staff could certainly do with some hospitality training!
Be aware, that when you check in they take a swipe of your credit card with $1.00 on it - and then when they check you out they seem to conveniently forget to refund that dollar. Whilst is is only a dollar, if that happens every time someone checks in and out - that would be a very tidy sum over the course of a year! We will be returning to Glenelg when the Rolling Stones reschedule - and will NOT be choosing to stay here again. Congratulations to Tash on her warm and friendly manner - sadly the rest of the staff did not live up to her lovely disposition.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaggieMae57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AtlanticTowerGlenelg, General Manager at Atlantic Tower Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2014

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay.

You are correct – we are not a 3 star motel. We are a 3.5 star motel rated by AAA Tourism annually (in fact, the month prior to your stay). We apologise however that we clearly did not meet your expectations.

While I feel your reference to needing a ‘major refurbishment’ is rather ‘enthusiastic’; we do however have more improvements planned in the short and medium term future. As you would have noticed – our focus has substantially on been on renovating the rooms themselves – with some of the public areas being the next in line for attention.

Regarding your bed and bedding, this area is particularly subjective due to personal preferences so I feel we will have to agree to disagree on the recently replaced (and regularly audited) mattresses and bedding. You will be happy to know however the next batch of bedding we are due to replace this winter has a more contemporary look to match the quality of the room renovations.

The balconies are approximately 1 metre deep and 4 metres wide. While you may feel there should be permanent chairs on the balcony – we prefer the open space and believe the variety of easily movable seating immediately next to the balcony fulfils the needs of most.

From your Tripadvisor profile I can see you are well travelled, which surprises me that you are not familiar with the credit card authorisation that was performed upon your arrival. We use a process that is common place in many hotels around the world whereby we apply a $1.00 pre-authorisation to your card. Your credit card provider then reduces your credit limit for the $1.00 for 8 to 10 days, unless we request to use that authorisation for a transaction – say, for example, to pay the balance of accommodation if a guest departs without first settling their account in person. I suggest that no matter how closely you look at your monthly credit card statement following your stay that you won’t find the $1.00 transaction… because it is an authorisation, not a transaction.

Thank you also for the kind words about Tash, we will pass on this to her.

I will conclude on this note (not just for you MaggieMae, but for all travellers) – if there is something you are not satisfied with during your stay, our objective here each and every day is to do whatever we reasonably can to ensure you have a lovely stay. If that means changing your bedspread to a style you prefer or moving a spare chair or two onto the balcony for you… all you have to do is say the word!

Kind Regards,
James Brown
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (251)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

208 - 214 of 251 reviews

Reviewed 6 March 2014

We traveled back to Adelaide for a short (five day ) break after 24 years away fro this city. The room and facilities were very good, clean comfortable, spacious for the two of us and we have no complaints. The reception staff were always helpful and made us feel at home. As noted by the other reviewers that location is fantastic and parking was hassle free. The continental breakfast bar was perfect for us and a great way to start each morning. We will be back for sure to enjoy more of what Glenelg and the Atlantic Tower Motor Inn has to offer.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tony D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AtlanticTowerGlenelg, General Manager at Atlantic Tower Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2014

Thank you for sharing your opinions on Tripadvisor – we’re glad you enjoyed your stay.

It’s lovely to hear that our staff at the Atlantic Tower are providing great service and that you found the breakfast convenient.

We look forward to your next stay.

Best Regards,
James Brown
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2014

I have used this hotel twice after my arrival from a long flight to Adelaide and the evening before going back. I would do so again, because it is close to the airport, but also close to the waterfront, so you can have stroll on the nearby beach or a nice dinner in the harbour. Internet (WiFi) is free and available in the rooms. Continental breakfast is included, there is a 10 AUD surcharge for a hot breakfast. To my opinion the hotel would need some refurbishment. The relation of room quality and price is out of balance.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fritz_3100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AtlanticTowerGlenelg, General Manager at Atlantic Tower Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2014

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Atlantic Tower – it is a great encouragement to us that we are your preferred accommodation in Glenelg.

It sounds like you are enjoying the benefits of the substantial upgrade to our Wifi internet we undertook last year where we have aimed to ensure a high quality signal to all rooms – whether you’re sitting on your bed, at your table, or on your balcony.

I’d be glad to hear specifically what areas of refurbishment you are referring to – so if you have a brief moment during your next stay, please ask for me personally and I’d appreciate anything you have to contribute about your experiences here.

Best Regards,
James Brown
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2014

Affordable comfortable and relaxing accommodation with reliable and friendly long term staff in a pleasant location. You just want to keep going back each time. Wonderful pub across the road and bakery right next door and close to all that Glenelg has to offer. Free parking and easy vehicle access.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Territorytraveller69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AtlanticTowerGlenelg, General Manager at Atlantic Tower Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2014

We are glad to hear you had a relaxing stay.

Our staff are a real asset to us. They are commitment and passionate about providing the same level of hospitality that they expect when they travel.

We are also very fortunate with the huge choice of eateries there are in the area – with some enjoyable walking paths to help burn off the meal afterwards!

We look forward to your next trip to Glenelg.

Kind Regards,
James Brown
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2014

Nice location close to lovely beach & bars.
Room was clean & tidy, just need to replace the windows - lots of noise from the main road.
Lots of noisy bikers cruising the area.
Basic breakfast - no in room safe.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AmberReading
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AtlanticTowerGlenelg, General Manager at Atlantic Tower Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We are happy to hear you were satisfied with the room and the value for money we offer.

One of the downsides about being located in this bustling area is we occasionally get some noise from traffic (loud motorbikes are the most notable offenders) at popular times of the week. For anyone who might be a light sleeper we have a number of rooms that have great views over the hills or south coast that are away from possible noise.

We look forward to seeing you on your next stay.

Best Regards.
James Brown
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2013 via mobile

Really good location and secure parking for only $10 a day,bed was comfortable & the size of room was good,beautiful views but only bad thing I can say is that the cleaner didn't wipe and clean the sink or refill the soap in shower so by third day we had no soap.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nitromel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craig L, Manager at Atlantic Tower Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2014

Thank you for taking the time to leave some feedback. The secure garaged parking is a great alternative to our free off street parking for that little extra peace of mind during your stay. I’m sorry to hear about the soap not being replaced or sink not being wiped. This will be followed up with housekeeping.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2013

I was on floor 2 (to save $), so the view was a bit limited of course. Overall though it was a nice stay for 4 nights. Room was nice and comfortable and the shower room had a good powerful fan to blow away the steam. A real plus was the continental breakfast (as part of the room rate) up on floor 9, with a great view and friendly staff. Just a short walk to heaps of little eating places around Glenelg. Internet was free for basic emails. I only maxed out once and for $2 got all the internet I needed for the day.

I was staying for a conference in central Adelaide and used the Glenelg tram to get there. Takes about 40 minutes but being able to stay near the sea and relax in the evenings really made it worth it. If you have a conference, consider this option.

Room Tip: You will get a better view as you go higher up, but presumably expect to pay a bit more.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Briefstay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craig L, Manager at Atlantic Tower Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2013

Thank you for taking the time to submit a review. I’m glad you enjoyed your stay. I personally think it’s a lot nicer to stay in Glenelg than in the city. Not only do you have the beach, but a large variety of shops, restaurants, cafes, bars, and transport all within walking distance. Unfortunately the views are somewhat limited in some of our 1st floor rooms compared to our rooms on the 9th-11th floor with private balconies. Hopefully next time you stay, you’ll have the opportunity to give one of these rooms a try.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glenelg hotels
0.3 mi away
Stamford Grand Adelaide
0.2 mi away
Oaks Plaza Pier Apartment Hotel
0.2 mi away
Ensenada Motor Inn and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Seawall Apartments
Seawall Apartments
#1 of 7 in Glenelg
806 reviews
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Haven Marina
0.6 mi away
Comfort Inn Anzac Highway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atlantic Tower Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlantic Tower Motor Inn

Address: 760 Anzac Hwy, Glenelg, South Australia 5045, Australia
Region: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Glenelg
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Glenelg
Price Range: £67 - £109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Atlantic Tower Motor Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Atlantic Tower Motor Inn we offer a broad range of accommodation catering from corporate guests to romantic getaways. With 36 rooms including private balconies up on the 9th, 10th and 11th floor, the views are spectacular in any direction. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Southall Travel, Ctrip TA, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Atlantic Tower Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atlantic Tower Motor Hotel Glenelg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing