We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Glenelg Beachside Apartments
Nearby Hotels
Oaks Plaza Pier Apartment Hotel(Glenelg)(Great Value!)
US$140
US$110
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Atlantic Tower Motor Inn(Glenelg)(Great Value!)
US$96
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$106
US$80
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Stamford Grand Adelaide(Glenelg)(Great Value!)
US$148
US$91
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Ensenada Motor Inn and Suites(Glenelg)(Great Value!)
US$84
US$71
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Comfort Inn Anzac Highway(Glenelg)(Great Value!)
US$119
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Seawall Apartments(Glenelg)(Great Value!)
US$176
US$149
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$100
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$100
US$93
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (12)
Filter reviews
12 results
Traveller rating
1
5
3
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
1
5
3
2
1
See what travellers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 12 reviews
Reviewed 18 December 2012

Unit 15 What wonderful experience the unit was ready when promised it is spacious clean and quiet with excellent views to the beach. The manager was so helpful all the furnishings, appliances, crockery and cutlery were clean. It was far better than we expected and made our holiday a time to remember. It is so close to the central part of Glenelg you could not have wished for a better location. Tea Coffee sugar and milk were supplied for our arrival that was something I did not expect from this type of accommodation.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Joseph S S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2012

Great block of units with everything at your fingertips. Close to Glenelg Beach, trams, shopping, restaurants and everything you could every want or need. Apartments are well catered for with a view of the ocean from Unit 9. Disappointing aspect was its cleanliness. Definetely need a new cleaner who is a little more particular. You need to be aware that you also have to pay for parking your car under the building. (A little disappointing given you have paid for accommodation).

Room Tip: Unit 9 has a great view of the ocean.
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank sunshinecoastgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
martinmack, Manager at Glenelg Beachside Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 28 December 2012

Cleaners have been spoken to and will check all apartments more thoroughly, have lifted there efforts .
All other accomodation places in the vicinity, charge more than we do for secure , under building parking with an allocated parking space and remote control access .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2012

Good location but very shabby apartments.. Nothing like advertised on website.
Very unclean and dated.
Not a good experience overall.
Very expensive compared to others.
Friends went through an agent who rent out privately owned units and stayed at Oaks Plaza (gorgeous, with a heated indoor pool) for approx $1000 cheaper than here.
Definately would not stay here again and would not recommend it.
Manager also hits you up for $20 a day parking and tells you it is common practice. none of our friends staying elsewhere were charged.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank travelj71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
martinmack, Manager at Glenelg Beachside Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 14 December 2012

Proven wrong ! writer is part of the same previous group.
The writer of this response forgets to inform the reader that they were part of a group of under 14 year old girls, who foolishly left a lasagna cooking in the oven, then they left the apartment and went next door , when smoke, from the burning lasagna went all the way down the passageway, it triggerred the smoke alarm, as it should, for the safety of all residents.
The fire alarm was attended to, by a trained technician who charged us $470 . this was deducted from the credit card previously given to us, by the manager of the group to cover damage.
That was when they said " they did not do it " but were proven wrong by the technicians report, and then they finally admitted that they had done it ! and paid the bill.
While it was under dispute, I drove a half an hour to meet them and give them a cash refund , because they said they had run out of money. After I handed over the cash they became very abusive and argumentative and wanted to complain about the slightest little thing they could think of , in order to try and get out of paying the $470 ( an invoice from the technician ) which i had already refunded to them in cash to help them out, because they said they had no food.
The stairs to the rooftop are not rickety , and there has never been mould or anything like that, on the table or the whole area. They did not even know about the roof top, until they got there .
They did not let us know they were unhappy about anything at all, while they were there, just after they left , then they started complaining, in an attempt to get out of paying the technicians authorised invoice, which they finally admitted was correct , they were wrong and paid the bill after quite some time.
I would not have them back to our apartments under any circumstances .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2012

We had a 2 bedroom apartment with a view of the city, we were with our two adult sons, it had a decking with a table and chairs and we enjoyed sitting out watching the lights at night (extra for a beach view but we were on a budget) and it was Easter rates. The apartment is very spacious and well furnished with comfortable lounge suite, table and chairs, huge bathroom incorporating laundry which was great as we had a graduation with everyone getting ready to go. also master bedroom well furnished and ensuite clean and nice. well equiped kitchen with dishwashing powder, detergent, washing powder provided (for a couple of washes). Bedrooms a bit a part if for couples and there was a sofa bed if you had more than 4 people. It was opposite the fun park (which is on the beach) so restaurants and the beach were an easy walk as is the park etc. These apartments were the most reasonably priced on the beach and we would certainly stay there again, Martin was very helpful answering questions and security was good, it is in a well lit main area of glenelg and very close to the tram into Adelaide city

Room Tip: would be worth the extra to have a beachview on a higher floor.
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Judy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2012

We stayed in Apartment 12 for 3 nights in November 2011, the final stop after 10 days driving from Alice Springs.

Our friends who live in Oz actually booked the apartment, I didn't look at it on TA until we were just about to leave the UK and I was wondering what we'd find on arrival as some reviews were less than glowing.

Once we'd met our friends in the city centre we drove back out to Glenelg (20 mins or so) and they commented that they'd found the aprtment easily but not the front door which was on the side street rather than the front! There is under ground parking which was appreciated as the temperatures were well into the 30's for a couple of days.

The lift was quick and worked and we found apartment 12 to be spacious enough for 4 of us with one e-suite room and a reasonable sized bathroom. We had no complaints about the cleanliness, all appliances worked as far as we were aware though the air con was on all the time and made the air a bit dry. The soft furnishings were not luxury but they were perfectly adequate.

Beds were comfortable, the bedroom space was good as was the livingroom space, the kitchen was ok, a bit small but then we didn't actually cook anything while we there, just made the odd hot drink and used the fridge to store beer and wine.

The apartment has a sea view but its not uninterupted as there is a pool complex and other buildings on the other side of the road. There were chairs on the balcony and its a good spot to sit and sip your wine and watch the world go by at the weekend as its quite a lively neighbourhood! You are within walking distance of the beach, shops, bars and restaurants, which is why we didn't cook anything.

To get back into the city you can use the tram, the stop is a 5 minute walk .... out the apartment, left onto the main road and keep going.

We found Adelaide to be a friendly city and easy to navigate around. As with many Australian places we still had to eat earlier than we would have liked as a lot of reasturants closed up by 9.30pm.

Room Tip: Apartment 12 has nice views but it is on the main road so you do get some noise
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank PorkpieUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews