We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Standard, slightly tired motel in easy reach of Glenelg and Adelaide Airport”
Review of Glenelg Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Glenelg Motel
Ranked #2 of 8 Glenelg B&B and Inns
Manchester, UK
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Standard, slightly tired motel in easy reach of Glenelg and Adelaide Airport”
Reviewed 16 March 2012

Glenelg Motel is located on a main suburban road in Glenelg, about 10 mins walk from the town centre, and about 10 mins drive from Adelaide Airport. The motel site is set back from the road, so there is no problem with road noise, but is near the airport flight path, so does suffer from occasional aircraft noise from departing jets, which can be obtrusive in the early morning.
The property consists of several older single-storey motel blocks with free off-road parking immediately outside each room. The property also offers a small swimming pool and a breakfast room, neither of which we used.
We had quite a spacious 'deluxe' room with a queen bed and single bed, sofa and coffee table, desk/dressing table and two chairs. The ensuite was of average size with a shower. Decor and furnishings were perfectly serviceable, if a bit tired. There was in-room WIFI Internet available for a fee, but we found the range of time and usage options both expensive and confusing. In-room WIFI should be a standard free feature these days, as it is in many similar motels. One drawback of the room was the absence of iron and ironing board provided in the room - one of the very few cases we have met. We did find the room walls very thin, so we could hear conversations and TV in the neighbouring rooms. The room was clean and regularly serviced.
The front desk staff were friendly and helpful and gave us maps and local information to help with our stay.
Overall, we found the Glenelg Motel a reasonably comfortable location for a short stay, without really standing out from the crowd.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CheshireBrit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    49
    70
    14
    2
    5
See reviews for
31
68
14
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2012

Rather disappointed in general - rooms outdated and cleaning should be improved. On the plus side, the location is not too bad and the rooms are quite large.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gogo6gogo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2012

We stayed here for our first 4 nights in Adelaide before moving into to city.

It’s located a 10 minute stroll away from Jetty Road in Glenelg, is clean, has spacious rooms and good service. It is a little dated but is very well maintained and comfortable.

The a/c unit was very noisy and is really my only complaint about the stay. But it did do the job and probably wouldn’t bother a heavier sleeper.

Overall this is a great value for money place to stay in an expensive part of Adelaide!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mrs_S_26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2012

This motel is fairly inexpensive, and it is located within walking distance of the restaurants and stores of Glenelg North. The rooms are fairly large and seemed clean. There is free parking, but they do charge for wifi. The motel serves breakfast in their lounge for a fee also. It is a basic motel, but for the price, it is fine.

Room Tip: I don't have a tip to share, sorry. Be sure to check in before 9PM.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Norb W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
203 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2012

Another pleasant stay at this motel. We visit Adelaide frequently and at less than $100 per night what is there to complain about! A pleasant walk to Jetty road, bus stop for the airport nearby, clean, spacious, and usually quiet.The managers are friendly and helpful, nothing is too much trouble. We often leave our luggage whilst we go off for the day before catching the bus again to the airport. Good value for money and this time our room had a new flat screen TV and new beds.

Room Tip: Roms down the back ae usssaly ver quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank judykbee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2011

The Glenelg is a traditional, basic, 1 story motel facility with a pool and locked gates at night for secure overnight parking. We had a car and chose the Glenelg for its convenient parking and location. Its very close to the airport and yet convenient to Adelaide and a short walk to the center of Glenelg, a small beach resort town. The rooms were clean and spacious with a comfortable bed. The staff was terrific. We stayed before and after an overnight visit to Kangaroo Island and they allowed us to leave the bulk of our luggage in a secure place while we were gone overnight.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tboy2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Booleroo Centre, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2011

Stayed one night before a 6.10am flight. Close (10 min) to the airport and Jetty road. Found the room to be basic but clean and comfortable. The staff are very friendly and at $95 it was Fair value.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank notafussytraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glenelg hotels
0.5 mi away
Oaks Plaza Pier Apartment Hotel
0.7 mi away
Stamford Grand Adelaide
0.4 mi away
Atlantic Tower Motor Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Seawall Apartments
Seawall Apartments
#1 of 7 in Glenelg
751 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ensenada Motor Inn and Suites
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Haven Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glenelg Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glenelg Motel

Property: Glenelg Motel
Address: 41 Tapleys Hill Rd, Glenelg, South Australia 5045, Australia
Region: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Glenelg
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Glenelg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Glenelg Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
39 Clean Affordable Units With Friendly Staff And Close Proximity To Jetty Road,restaurants, Shopping Centres, Major Hospitals, Morphettville Race Course, Airport & Golf Courses ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Ebookers so you can book your Glenelg Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing