We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean and convenient”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Glenelg Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Glenelg Motel
Ranked #2 of 7 Glenelg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Beijing, China
Level Contributor
56 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Clean and convenient”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2012

Solo trip to watch my daughter at the Uni Games. Budget motel in a great location. Convenient to the airport and all the restaurants and bars on Jetty Road and the beach.
Marina is less than 5 min walk away and then a very pleasant walk along the beach.
Leonie (Manager) was friendly and helpful.
Enjoyed the stay and would stay again.

Room Tip: Room with spa is nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    45
    70
    14
    2
    5
See reviews for
29
66
14
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Stratford, New Zealand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2012

Had a wonderful time in Glenelg. The motel was 10 minutes from the Airport. Unfortunately you heard every plane arriving and leaving and if someone coughed next door. But apart from that the room's were clean and breakfast was delicious and within our budget. Have promised to return. we booked through booking.com, but when we needed to stay an extra day, we emailed and all was confirmed within 20 minutes. Now that's service! A lovely stroll saw us in the middle of Glenelg along with the Tram to the city. Glenelg Motel is in a very good location along with the beach just one block away.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2012

Very popular hotel, appeared to be full on a Friday night in May. We paid $95 for a room with a queen bed and two singles. The room was certainly large enough for a family, without treading on each other. Very clean bathroom, quite large with seperate shower, no bath. Only complaint was TV was placed on very high wardrobe, too high to attend to if something went wrong. We were offered breakfast for $14 in the restaurant, but didn't require. Don't think of sleeping in, the lady bangs on all the doors at 10.15am sharp, I guess they need to get the rooms done for another lot of guests.Within walking distance to local Glenelg, if you are up to it. Need a car for anywhere further. Woolworths and large shopping precinct within a ten minute walk. No deli or shop really close by, so gather some supplies before you go. No mini bar or snacks for sale in room. Adelaide water isn't the best, so take bottled water. Very handy for a night's stay in Adelaide, not nice enough for a 'special' night, but certainly served us well.

Room Tip: Use the hotel's website or rooms available for the same price on Wotif or LastMinute.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Capel, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2012

My wife and children stayed in the family room in April. It had a queen bed and four singles in the one room with a dividing wall between two of the singles. The value for two adults and three kids was very reasonable at $185 for the night. The location makes it very good for access to Glenelg and surrounds.

Breakfast was rather overrated for the price. It cost $12 for continental (toast, cereal etc.) and $14 for cooked (the standard sausage, hash brown etc.) with no discount for children (we had a four year old who ate one weet-bix and a cup of OJ and it cost $12).

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Twistie V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, UK
Level Contributor
55 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2012

Glenelg Motel is located on a main suburban road in Glenelg, about 10 mins walk from the town centre, and about 10 mins drive from Adelaide Airport. The motel site is set back from the road, so there is no problem with road noise, but is near the airport flight path, so does suffer from occasional aircraft noise from departing jets, which can be obtrusive in the early morning.
The property consists of several older single-storey motel blocks with free off-road parking immediately outside each room. The property also offers a small swimming pool and a breakfast room, neither of which we used.
We had quite a spacious 'deluxe' room with a queen bed and single bed, sofa and coffee table, desk/dressing table and two chairs. The ensuite was of average size with a shower. Decor and furnishings were perfectly serviceable, if a bit tired. There was in-room WIFI Internet available for a fee, but we found the range of time and usage options both expensive and confusing. In-room WIFI should be a standard free feature these days, as it is in many similar motels. One drawback of the room was the absence of iron and ironing board provided in the room - one of the very few cases we have met. We did find the room walls very thin, so we could hear conversations and TV in the neighbouring rooms. The room was clean and regularly serviced.
The front desk staff were friendly and helpful and gave us maps and local information to help with our stay.
Overall, we found the Glenelg Motel a reasonably comfortable location for a short stay, without really standing out from the crowd.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CheshireBrit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
76 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2012

Rather disappointed in general - rooms outdated and cleaning should be improved. On the plus side, the location is not too bad and the rooms are quite large.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gogo6gogo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2012

We stayed here for our first 4 nights in Adelaide before moving into to city.

It’s located a 10 minute stroll away from Jetty Road in Glenelg, is clean, has spacious rooms and good service. It is a little dated but is very well maintained and comfortable.

The a/c unit was very noisy and is really my only complaint about the stay. But it did do the job and probably wouldn’t bother a heavier sleeper.

Overall this is a great value for money place to stay in an expensive part of Adelaide!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mrs_S_26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glenelg hotels
0.7 mi away
Stamford Grand Adelaide
0.4 mi away
Atlantic Tower Motor Inn
0.5 mi away
Oaks Plaza Pier Apartment Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Ensenada Motor Inn and Suites
1.0 mi away
Seawall Apartments
Seawall Apartments
#1 of 7 in Glenelg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 694 reviews
0.6 mi away
Adelaide International Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glenelg Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glenelg Motel

Property: Glenelg Motel
Address: 41 Tapleys Hill Rd, Glenelg, South Australia 5045, Australia
Region: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Glenelg
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Glenelg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Glenelg Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
39 clean affordable units with friendly staff and close proximity to jetty road,restaurants, shopping centres, major hospitals, morphettville race course, airport & golf courses ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Glenelg Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing