We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bland and uncaring, this place should be considered only if everywhere else is booked out.”
Review of Glenelg Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Glenelg Motel
Ranked #2 of 8 Glenelg B&B and Inns
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Bland and uncaring, this place should be considered only if everywhere else is booked out.”
Reviewed 10 February 2013

I asked for an extra bed (any size) in our room as I have a back injury and I sleep in a separate bed than my partner at home. Until now, every hotel has granted me this request. Not only did they refuse to accommodate the request, no one bothered to call me to notify me before we checked in. Other arrangements could have been made. The room included chocolate, and they were half melted because again, no one bothered to turn the air conditioning on and it was over 30 degrees that day. I could go on about the disgusting service we received at breakfast, but it was actually very tasty. The best part of our stay was that morning meal.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank josephine o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    49
    70
    14
    2
    5
See reviews for
31
68
14
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
150 reviews
122 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2013

My large room had everything I needed and provided me with two good nights sleep. The layout of the motel meant that although it is on a reasonably busy road traffic noise was not a problem. The front desk was friendly and efficient.

Other reviewers have mentioned that the motel is convenient for the airport. It certainly is but the slight cost of this is that one can hear aircraft in some circumstances, but not loudly enough to be a nuisance or to put me off returning to this motel.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wakeupjames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Broken Hill, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2013

I thought I'd try something closer to the beach, but this wasn't what I expected. It was a bed for the night, that's all. Windows didn't have a flyscreen on them, so couldn't be opened, which in hindsight, was probably just as well, because the green rubbish bin next to the door, was on the nose...middle of summer and prawn shells, I expect!! Aircon was pretty noisy. and the cupboards weren't fitted to the wall. I dropped clothes down behind them acidentally and spent a time fishing them out. The room was clean. Girls on the desk were nice. You get what you pay for, although I would've thought $95 for one person no breakfast, is not exactly cheap. I wouldn't go back again.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheCally_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2013 via mobile

Cheap accommodation, room slept 6, we could only get one night via booking.com so we had too be on. Front desk was friendly. Rooms are nest and clean. TV is far to high for comfortable viewing, if you arrive past 9pm to check in you cannot access the front desk, seems a bit strange when we all know travel plans sometimes go awry outside of our control. There are plenty of comparable motels closer to glenelg jetty and foreshore.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paulBou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beijing
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2013

Only ten minutes by car from the Airport and a ten minute walk to the beach and shops, this is a great little place to stay. It's clean and quiet and although it could do with modernising, the room was spacious and had everything we required, especially when you consider how inexpensive it is compared with the newer motels closer to the beach.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MaryBear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2013

We have just returned from a 3 night stay at the Glenelg Motel & there is a reason that it is a lot cheaper than a lot of other properties in Glenelg. Although the rooms were clean enough, the motel is tired and needs an update. The major annoyance for us was that the windows couldn't be opened, even though the rooms are all on the ground floor. This meant that we had to use the air conditioner at night to get some air flow in the room, and believe me, it was the noisest air conditioner ever! The motel really needs to invest in some new split system air conditioners - or have windows that can be opened. We found the staff 'welcome' when we arrived as being rather disinterested, although the staff member when we left was pleasant and helpful. Overall, I guess you get what you pay for.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RubyMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide
Level 3 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 December 2012

Had the greatest stay I have had and for the size of room it was real value for money, breakfast was delicious great cook great choice, only downside was no choice of skim milk & t.v was to high in room and unable to see from bed as was at an awkward position on wardrobe

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glenelg hotels
0.5 mi away
Oaks Plaza Pier Apartment Hotel
0.7 mi away
Stamford Grand Adelaide
0.4 mi away
Atlantic Tower Motor Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Seawall Apartments
Seawall Apartments
#1 of 7 in Glenelg
752 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ensenada Motor Inn and Suites
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Haven Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glenelg Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glenelg Motel

Property: Glenelg Motel
Address: 41 Tapleys Hill Rd, Glenelg, South Australia 5045, Australia
Region: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Glenelg
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Glenelg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Glenelg Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
39 Clean Affordable Units With Friendly Staff And Close Proximity To Jetty Road,restaurants, Shopping Centres, Major Hospitals, Morphettville Race Course, Airport & Golf Courses ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Evoline ltd and Ebookers so you can book your Glenelg Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing