We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely character and great location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Seawall Apartments

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Seawall Apartments
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Glenelg
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Mildura, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely character and great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2011

My husband & I (and 2 kids aged 5 & 3) stayed in an Olive Crt 2br apmt when we came to Adelaide for The Wiggles concert.
Positives: Excellent service from staff, spacious character filled apartment, free parking at rear with access from back door, comfy high beds with nice linen, a lovely quiet location (couldn't get much closer to the beach), separate kitchen, enclosed room to put prams etc
Negatives: The bathrooms. It was advertised as a 2 bathroom apartment which could be misleading for some people. This had 2 bathrooms but only 1 toilet. The ensuite contained a shower over a small spa (with no toilet or handbasin). The second bathroom was a long walk down the corridor and this contained a shower and the only toilet. The reason we wanted the 2nd toilet was because of convenience with nighttime toilet training for our 3yr old. I think more people would care for a 2nd toilet rather than the little spa. I have a bath every night with the kids at home but wouldn't use that bath. Anyhow, I must point out that there are lots of different room types at Seawall and maybe there are 2 toilets in others.
The second problem with the ensuite bathroom is that there was no curtain on the bathroom window and no door to close it off. Street lighting shone right into the bedroom and we were awake at 3am thinking the sun was up. Maybe a curtain could be put up.
Overall, we would stay there again if the curtain problem was fixed. We also stayed at Glenelg Beachside apartments and preferred Seawall as it was more spacious & had more character.

Room Tip: Just check if there is an ensuite toilet if it is an issue for you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank linda b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelliers, Owner at Seawall Apartments, responded to this review, 21 October 2011
Dear linda b, Thank you for your review of our Olive Court 3 bedroom apartment. I am glad you
enjoyed our unique character and sensational location.
You are absolutely right, we do have many different kinds of apartments, several with 2 bathrooms. As your booking came to us through a third party booking site I am afraid that we were unaware that you required 2 bathrooms. May I suggest you contact us directly next time and we can ensure you get exactly what you need!
I am sorry the light from the spa room kept you awake - we will install a blind to block out the street lighting. Thank you for letting us know!
We look forward to welcoming you and your family back to Seawall Apartments soon,
Kind regards,
Rachael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

676 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    499
    129
    41
    4
    3
See reviews for
231
239
33
58
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (190)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Gold Coast
Level Contributor
49 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2011

We stayed in the Seawall apartments for my Mum's 70th birthday. We stayed in the boathouse for two nights. The apartment was spotless and the view from the main bedroom was breathtaking. The apartment was close to shopping and restaurants. The people at reception were very helpful and friendly. I can highly recommend this apartment for a perfect getaway.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AntCate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelliers, Owner at Seawall Apartments, responded to this review, 14 October 2011
Thank you so much for your delightful review of the Boat House AntCate.
We have just completed a refurbishment of The Boat House and you were one of the first guests to stay here after the improvements. I'm so glad you liked it.
Its wonderful to get such positive feedback for our friendly service and cleanliness - you made our day!
We look forward to welcoming you back -maybe for the 71st birthday celebrations?!
Kind regards,
Rachael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yarra Glen, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2011

My husband and I had planned to stay for just one night but when we arrived to see the view we immediately decided to stay for 2 nights, which was no hassel for the staff at all! Great rooms fantastic beds! and i was lucky enough to see Dolphins swim past early in the morning. Being that this was our belated honeymoon 6 years in the making it was just amazing.

We both wanted to thank Rachel for everything it was amazing and we hope to be back next year with the family.

Regards,
Andy and Elissa Matthews

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elimat79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelliers, Owner at Seawall Apartments, responded to this review, 4 October 2011
Thank you very much for sharing your thoughts on your recent stay. I am so glad you had a relaxing and romantic "belated honeymoon" in the Seafront Studio.
The dolphins are pretty special - I see them most morning when I walk on the beach front and most afternoons from my desk !
We get a lot of compliments for our comfy beds, they are from a local supplier we have been using for 20+ years.
I will pass on your kind appraisal of our cleanliness and service to the rest of the team.
We look forward to welcoming you both back to Seawall soon,
Best wishes,
Rachael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, South Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2011

Outstanding location and wonderful accommodation. Very impressed overall. Great place to stay as a family. Definitely return again!

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob-Danielle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2011

My partner and I went to the Seawell apartments for our 2 year anniversary. Although the general experience was satisfactory there were a few things that niggled myself. We stayed in the crows nest, firstly, there was no ventilation at all in the crows nest. The bathroom was unbearable, as the fan could not cope with just a simple shower, thus creating a hot, humid and foggy environment. I couldn't sit in the spa that long because of this heat. Secondly, when I went to cook breakfast the smell of bacon lingered for 24 hours after. The only way we could get some fresh air into the apartment was by opening the front door (not very safe). There was not really a table to sit down and eat your meals, unless you count the table at the opening, however, that was extremely low and awkward.
The pan to cook breakfast, it would of been lovely for it to be non-stick.
Saying this, everything is clean. I only dealt with the receptionist and she seemed nice. Shame about the ventilation, otherwise this would of been a nice stay.

Room Tip: Tip: Don't stay in the crows nest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Danielle P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelliers, Owner at Seawall Apartments, responded to this review, 10 September 2011
Thank you for your review Danielle.
I am so sorry to hear that your stay with us did not meet your expectations, particularly on the occasion of your anniversary.
The Crow's Nest is a relatively new apartment of which we are very proud and hence take your concerns very seriously.
After your stay and review we took the room off-line for 2 weeks and have tried to address the issues you raised.
I stayed overnight in the room myself to try to understand your concerns and agree with you that the bathroom was too hot! We have added an extra opening window, improved the exhaust fan and removed the heat lamps - this has made an enormous difference when the spa is in use.
We have also installed 3 new full size opening windows in each area of the apartment so that should definitely fix the ventilation issue!
Finally we installed an exhaust fan in the kitchen area to prevent cooking smells lingering.

I am glad you found the cleanliness to a high standard and staff friendly; I have passed on your compliments to our team.

Thank you for your feedback, it is only though such constructive criticism that we are able to improve our services.
Yours sincerely, Rachael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
38 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2011

We stayed for two nights in The Stables, which was huge for the two of us (it has two double bedrooms and two bathrooms). The kitchen was clean and well equipped.

The downstairs bathroom setup was not the most comfortable (tiny toilet and sink plus huge shower/spa right in the bedroom) - but given the building shape, it's probably the best they could do. Upstairs there was a second bedroom and toilet plus shower, which weren't much larger.

Although our apartment was at the back of the block, there's a large open communual area at the front overlooking the espanade - plenty of room to sit and enjoy the view.

The apartments are a convenient five minute walk to Jetty Road and the staff were happy to help with anything. I'd be happy to stay here again.

Room Tip: The Stables has two bedrooms and two bathrooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank scoobyshunnybuns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2011

We were visiting for a wedding and needed somewhere to stay in Glenelg. We were pleasantly suprised as it was just as the photos and description on their website described. Nice and clean in a quiet location. We stayed in The Stables 2 bedroom villa which was at the back of the property. Nice to be so close to the beach but not the hustle of Jetty Road, but only a 5 minute walk to Jetty Road for food and shopping.

Hope to visit again when next in Adelaide!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lee L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glenelg
0.3 mi away
Stamford Grand Adelaide
0.5 mi away
Oaks Plaza Pier Apartment Hotel
0.6 mi away
Atlantic Tower Motor Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Ensenada Motor Inn and Suites
6.5 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Adelaide Treasury
6.6 mi away
Mayfair Hotel
Mayfair Hotel
#1 of 58 in Adelaide
4.5 of 5 bubbles 811 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seawall Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seawall Apartments

Property: Seawall Apartments
Address: 21 - 25 South Esplanade | rear access Oldham Street, Glenelg, South Australia 5045, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Glenelg
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Glenelg
#1 Luxury Hotel in Glenelg
#1 Green Hotel in Glenelg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Seawall Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Seawall Apartments are unique heritage listed apartments, located on a traffic free promenade, right on the beach at Glenelg. Our small private hotel is just 500m from Jetty Road with its many restaurants, shops and the tram to the city. We have a range of apartments to suit, from studio apartments for a couple, to 4 bedroom apartments accommodating up to 8 people. All apartments have a large spa baths, fully equipped kitchens/kitchenettes, are air conditioned with flat screen TVs, DVD player and Ipod docking stations. We have FREE WIFI internet access in all of the apartments. Our off street car parking is complementary to our guests. Seawall Apartments has several spacious, open decked areas with shady seating and BBQs. This is just the spot to watch the sunset over the ocean or take in a little dolphin spotting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Seawall Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seawall Apartments Hotel Glenelg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing