We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Historic soccer semi-final at Seawall”
Review of Seawall Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Seawall Apartments
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Glenelg
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 7 August 2014

We had a very special stay (3 nights) at beautiful Seawall Apartments. First, we were facing a winterstorm there shaking doors and windows and bringing in a little cold air and letting us fear if our Kangaroo Island ferry would run (it did the next day). Second, we saw the historic 7-1 defeat over Brasil in the soccer World Cup semi-final (in HD on a large flatscreen with a good picture) letting us Germans cheer for days. So, it will be in our memory forever. Nice place to stay, helpful staff, perfectly situated at Glenelg seaside close to everything you need there in your holidays. Apt. 8 maybe a little too small for a longer stay.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Christian V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RachaelOsborne, Manager at Seawall Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

How was Mario Goetze!!!!!!
So glad you will remember us fondly as being the location for the historic win!!
Thanks for writing such a lovely review Christian V - hope to see you again next time you are Down Under,
All the best,
Rachael

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (786)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

493 - 499 of 786 reviews

Reviewed 7 August 2014

Having stayed here on many locations I can honestly say that the apartments are homely, clean and well presented. Being on the beach is a welcome change and within in very short walk you have all the restaurants and nightlife of Glenelg. Not having a restaurant is no problem at all but you need to consider what you'll do for breakfast, bring it along or chose one of the cafe's down the street.
If your staying here with friends or business colleges it would be perfect and something a little different.

Room Tip: Consider buying some drinks or snacks before you arrive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Adrian v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RachaelOsborne, Manager at Seawall Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Dear Buzzwald,
Great little review and that's a great tip if you are coming in later to stock up with some snacks- and drinks for that matter!

We have lots of 'extras' on our website that you can pre-order - breakfast provisions, an Aussie BBQ pack, nibbles packs, beer and Champagne - all manner of life's essentials!

And you can always contact us directly if you want something specific - we have had all sorts of requests over the years - 30 pink oriental lilies; rose petals strewn throughout the apartment; a gluten free birthday cake; a couples massages at midnight for proposal! You name it - I'm pretty sure we can make it happen!!

We look forward to seeing you again soon,
Rachael

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Our return to Adelaide was great because of the convenient location of Seawall Apartments. We lived in Glenelg and being so close to Jetty Rd was great. The Broadway cafe was also convenient for a coffee or breakfast. Free parking and laundry was appreciated and the workers from cleaners to office staff very friendly. Each apartment is different with its own theme. We stayed in the Chapel with a spiral staircase and bedroom at the top. Don't get this apartment if you can't manage stairs. The kitchen had everything to prepare simple meals and we had 2 large screen tv's. King bed was comfortable and so was the lounge. Apartments are serviced every other day and the bathroom could have been more thoroughly cleaned on several occasions (we were there 2 weeks). The price during the week is reasonable but prices go up on weekends. We were there over 2 weekends and it would have been nice if our rate was consistent since we were there long term and not just for a weekend. You can't beat the sound and smell of the ocean!

Room Tip: Do your research. All apartments are different. All have access to outdoor eating and barbecues.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Patricia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RachaelOsborne, Manager at Seawall Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Thank you Patrica H for taking the time to write about your recent stay.
The Chapel is one of our most popular apartment for romantic couples - but you are quite right - that spiral staircase is not for everyone!
We are always here on site so I urge all of our guest to please let us know at the time if there are ever any issues you would like addressed immediately - more towels, a missed bit of shower screen or a rate issue - we are very accommodating and happy to help in anyway we can!
We would love to see you back again,
Kind regards,
Rachael

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

We were in Adelaide for a wedding on the weekend. We stayed in the city for the first two nights and were very unimpressed. We headed to Seawall on sunday to continue our stay for our 10 year anniversary! WELL... let me say...The Service, The Rooms, The Location...WOW WOW WOW WOW!!!! Very very impressive. The aroma as you walk through the doors after you are greated with such happy smily faces was amazing. The Spa, the king size bed, the feel of the room was just Cozy and comfortable. The local shops, the restaraunts were at hands reach. Lets say, there was more happeing in Glenlg than the CBD!!!! I really loved this place. When we got back to sydney on Wednesday all my family and friends that also stayed in the city for the wedding were also very unimpressed...Well have i made them envy me now!!!!! If we didnt have four kids waiting for us back home, i think we would have loved to stay permanently!!!! To all the Team at Seawall Apartments, you guys are doing an amazing job! Thank you for making our Trip to adelaide, one now to remember forever!!!! Truely appreciate it!!!!

Room Tip: The landing. Peaceful serenity with a view of what awaits outside!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marlain c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RachaelOsborne, Manager at Seawall Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Darling Marlain - Thank you so much for your wonderful, heartfelt review - I cant tell you how happy it made all of us here!
It means the world to know that our friendly service and lovingly created rooms made you go WOW WOW WOW and WOW!!!

I guess your envious family will know where to stay next time they find themselves in our little town ;)

Thanks also for the pat on the back for the team here- we all love our job and making our guests this happy is our highest hope,

Well done team - Jayne, Sophie, Liz and the housekeepers, Sam and Dave - you are awesome!!!

Best wishes,
Rachael

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

A last minute decision to go away mid week had me look to Seawall Apartments. My wife and some friends of hers stayed there last year and thoroughly enjoyed themselves so we knew we would have a great time. We got a great price for 2 nights and then, upon arrival, we learned that we got a free upgrade to The Beach House on top of that! Not to mention we also got a special July getaway package including drinks and nibbles.

The Beach House is absolute beach front, has 3 bedrooms, huge living area, full kitchen, a spa and 2 more bathrooms. It was warm and welcoming on what was a couple days of miserable weather. It was only the 4 of us staying but it would comfortably accommodate 8.

Reception was friendly and generous, location is spectacular and convenient, and the accommodation is unrivaled in Glenelg.

We will most certainly stay here again, hopefully when the weather is kinder :). Thank you!

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank reidy123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RachaelOsborne, Manager at Seawall Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Great review reidy123 - Thank you!
It was lovely to have you and the family here for a quick, surprise, school holiday escape.
We would love to have you back again when the weather cheers up! I do love the beach in winter though - spectacular sunsets and amazing beach combing with the kids to be done!
I'm glad you were able to enjoy the upgrade to the huge Beach House and thanks for mentioning the awesome specials we offer in winter -
Take care- Rachael, Jayne and Soph

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

We stayed at the Boathouse for my sisters 50th.Girls weekend away. The Boathouse is a four bedroom, two rooms with single beds, two with queen or king very big beds, two bathroom apartment. Showers and beds fantastic. Plenty of room in the big lounge, dinning area. Kitchen a bit small if more than one person in there. We stayed during winter and the heating is great. Really good weekend. Staff extremely friendly.
Great stay.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RachaelOsborne, Manager at Seawall Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Thanks so much Karen H for posting such a fabulous review of your recent stay.
We seem to be having a run on 50th's at the moment - almost every weekend there is another awesome bunch of women staying with us celebrating in style - we just love it!
the Boat house is a great room for a get-together - lots of room for everyone and the ever important multiple bathrooms ;)
Hopefully you can make it a new tradition - you looked like you were having so much fun - perhaps next year you need to bring a few more girls and take The Beach House next door as well!!
All the best and Happy Birthday,
Rachael, Jayne and Sophie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014

What a great family apartment. Great views of ocean through huge windows. One bedroom has two single beds and the other has a full size. This was a classic old house with high ceilings, nicely updated. Large living room with hardwood floors. Fully equipped kitchen. There is a (free) laundry room on site, get there early though. Staff was very helpful with tips on local shops and restaurants. We were there in winter, rooms equipped with heaters. Glenelg is a great seaside destination.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steven T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RachaelOsborne, Manager at Seawall Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Hi Steven T and thanks for your lovely review - it was great to meet you and see that the family were able to relax and enjoy our winter warm sea side apartments.
We hope to welcome you back on a sunny day soon,
Kind regards,
Rachael

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glenelg
0.3 mi away
Stamford Grand Adelaide
0.5 mi away
Oaks Plaza Pier Apartment Hotel
0.6 mi away
Atlantic Tower Motor Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Ensenada Motor Inn and Suites
7.0 mi away
Majestic Roof Garden Hotel
6.6 mi away
Mayfair Hotel
Mayfair Hotel
#1 of 56 in Adelaide
1,169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seawall Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seawall Apartments

Address: 21 - 25 South Esplanade | rear access Oldham Street, Glenelg, South Australia 5045, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Glenelg
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Glenelg
#1 Luxury Hotel in Glenelg
#1 Green Hotel in Glenelg
Price Range: £110 - £275 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Seawall Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Seawall Apartments provides boutique contemporary accommodation in original stately buildings with a touch of vintage charm on the Esplanade at Glenelg in Adelaide, South Australia. The family run hotel is located only 500m from Jetty Road, Glenelg, comprising a vast array of restaurants, boutiques, food stores and family friendly activities. There is also direct access to the city via tram. With 22 apartments available on the property, there is always something to suit. From 1 bedroom studio apartments to large 4 bedroom apartments, catering up to eight people. All apartments offer spa baths, self contained cooking facilities, air-conditioning and flat screen TV’s. The property also offers free Wifi and off-street parking, complementary to all guests. Seawall provides a home away from home, offering easy access to safe and clean Glenelg beach, open decked areas and barbecues. A convenient and quiet offering for the business or holiday traveller wanting a different hotel experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Seawall Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seawall Apartments Hotel Glenelg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing